Lana K. (mazeydazey) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 141 - Page:
The Darkest Hour (KGI, Bk 1)
The Darkest Hour (KGI, Bk 1)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 6/28/2011


I love the KGI books by Maya Banks. The Darketst Hour is the first in the series. Ethan and his brothers are HOT!! The book has a great story line and the family camaraderie and dynamics are wonderful. So if you like a book about dodging bullets, drug cartels and unrequited love, this is the book for you!


The Daughter
The Daughter
Author: Jasmine Cresswell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/12/2010


Another good book by Jasmine Cresswell. It was a light read but had some good twists and turns. We should all have a Sean McLeod in our lives. Recommend to others.


Dead on the Dance Floor (O'Casey Brothers, Bk 1)
Dead on the Dance Floor (O'Casey Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 8/4/2009


I liked this book and with all the dance craze going around now with Dancing with the Stars I found it to be even more enjoyable. The book kept me guessing on "whodunit". A little spice, along with the thrill. Definitely receommend to others if you like a fast-paced, light read.


Dearly Depotted  (Flower Shop, Bk 3)
Dearly Depotted (Flower Shop, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Collins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 2/24/2010


3rd in the Series and another fun read by Kate Collins. As usual Abby is hot on the trail to solve another murder. If you like this series and I do, you will like this book as well. Recommend read for the Flower Shop series!


Die for Me: A Novel of the Valentine Killer (For Me, Bk 1)
Die for Me: A Novel of the Valentine Killer (For Me, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/17/2013


A good romantic suspense; just the right amount of romance with a great amount of suspense. Lots of twists and turns that keep you guessing. Valentine was the perfect creepy villain and I may never look at roses the same way again. If you want a book that grabs you by the seat of your pants, this one is for you.


The Dress Shop of Dreams: A Novel
The Dress Shop of Dreams: A Novel
Author: Menna van Praag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/4/2015


This was an enchanting, mystical book that I enjoyed. It reminded me a little of Cecilia Ahern's writing. The characters are easily relatable and I like how Ms. Van Praag intertwined them into the storyline. At first you think they are all separate but then through the story they come together. There is mystery, magic, love and some sadness. A very nice light read that took me on a little trip from real life. I look forward to reading more from this author.


The End of Your Life Book Club
The End of Your Life Book Club
Author: Will Schwalbe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/20/2013
Helpful Score: 6


You would think this book would have been sad but for me it was not. The book was a celebration of Mary Ann's life and a celebration of love between a son and his mother. I believe the world is a better place for having Mary Ann Schwalbe. She lived as she died, gracefully. To have had such a privileged life she showed us how to be a giving soul. I wish I had known her and I thank Will for sharing her with me.

There were many books that Will and Mary Ann read and talked about that I was not familiar with but just as many that I have either read or have to read. I even added a couple to my WL. This is a book I will not soon forget.


The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 10/27/2010


Let me start off by saying, I love the Jack Reacher series and I really liked this book. Having said that I only gave it 3 stars because I found the book to be disconcerting. This book should have been Book 1. I like to read books in order. Finally when I got to Page 75, I could stand it no more. I went to Lee Child's website to see if I read the book out of order but no it actually is Book 8! I also looked at all the PBS reviews and noted others mentioning it should have been Book 1. Confusing I know, suffice it to say this book gives you Jack's history and helps you understand why he is the way he is. Once I got it squared away in my mind I really did enjoy the book and if you are a Reacher/Child fan, I think you will too!


Entwined with You (Crossfire, Bk 3)
Entwined with You (Crossfire, Bk 3)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 10/1/2013


I enjoyed the book. I love Gideon and Eva but the 3rd book was too long in coming and the ending!!! OMGosh, what a disappointment! It just leaves you hanging. Very aggravated that the ol' switch and bait was used. You tell us we are buying a trilogy and then at the end of Book 3, it turns into a 5 book series. I believe things could have been tied up very neatly by the end of Book 3 and folks wouldn't be milked for another two books. I know, I know I don't have to buy Books 4 & 5 but I will. I must know what happens but this will be the one and only time I will do this for any author. If you say 3 books -- make it 3 books. I'm giving it 4 stars because I liked the book but I am giving Sylvia Day 1 star for her deception. This may be the harshest review I have ever written but if we the fans don't stand up and be heard, other authors may start doing the same.


Exclusively Yours (Kowalski Family, Bk 1)
Exclusively Yours (Kowalski Family, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon Stacey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 5/8/2012


Cute little romance. I personally didn't mind Keri picking her career over love... a lot of us did that back in the late 70s and 80s. Regrets??? Some but we all made choices and had to live with them so did Keri. I like the Kowalski family and can't wait to see what Kevin is up to in Book 2. So wile away some time with this huge loveable family. It's fiction, it's sweet and Shannon Stacey did a good job!


Faking It
Faking It
Author: Elisa Lorello
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/6/2014


I don't know what to say about this book except I loved it. It made my heart hurt. At times I had to put it down as I felt so emotional. What's up with that?? I'm normally not like that but for some reason this book got to me. I was so invested in the situation and the characters. I didn't want the book to end. It didn't end the way I wanted but I loved it anyway. Kudos to Elisa Lorello. I just checked and there are actually two more books with the same characters and I am on my way to place an order.


Faking It
Faking It
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 519
Review Date: 8/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. These days I am into light, fun beach reads and this one had it all. Kept me laughing until the end. Ms. Crusie has an unusual style of writing which takes a little getting used to but I definitely recommend staying with it, you won't be disappointed. I have enjoyed all her books and was very happy with this one as well.


A Fall of Marigolds
A Fall of Marigolds
Author: Susan Meissner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/1/2016
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book very much and it is written similiarly to those of Sarah Jio where the past connects to the present. You switch back and forth between the two time periods and two different characters but are tied together by a piece of fabric - a silk scarf of Marigolds. This book has it all, unconditional love, strength to go on, and historical insights of Manhattan. I enjoyed it and definitely recommend to others.


Fast Women
Fast Women
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 3/9/2010


Another fun read by Jennifer Crusie! If you like a laugh-out loud love story then you will like this book. Definitely recommend.


The Finishing Touches
The Finishing Touches
Author: Hester Browne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/4/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I loved the Little Lady Agency books that Hester Browne wrote which is why I purchased this book and I'm glad I did. It had a good story and some funny parts. I am partial to british authors as I enjoy their terminology and use of the English language. I love how the book brings an old English finishing school into the 21st century --- out with white gloves and how to curtsy to the queen and in with managing mortgages and do it yourself manicures. Betsy pulls the school from the brink of bankruptcy and gets back her life and her friends in the process. Worth the read!


The First Husband
The First Husband
Author: Laura Dave
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/30/2015


I liked this book. It is a work of fiction so take it as that. Annie was sweet and you just found yourself pulling for her thru the whole book. Griffin was a great character and I loved his thought process. And Nick, Nick was Nick.

For me the book was cleverly written with relatable characters but not totally predictable. It had a lot of great quotes and made you think about love, life and what is really important in a cool kind of way. It's kind of hard to explain. Don't get me wrong this is not a deep book or anything just fun light reading but one that makes you think without knowing you are doing it.


The Fixer Upper
The Fixer Upper
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 5/17/2010


I love all of Mary Kay Andrew's books and this one does not disappoint. Sassy Dempsey is just what the little town of Guthrie needs!


Forged in Steele (KGI, Bk 7)
Forged in Steele (KGI, Bk 7)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 7/19/2013


When I first started reading this, I thought "Oh no, this can't be happening! Steele is the ice man, man of steel, not some sugary, sappy love-struck guy!" I mean he went from ice man to sappy in 0 - 60. I love the KGI series but was pretty sure this book was going to be my least favorite. As I continued reading and about a third into it I realized Maren and Steele were perfect for each other and maybe it was okay that she felled the mighty oak so quickly! It ended up being a good story and I am happy I read it. It kind of reminded me of a movie line, "He saved her and she saved him right back." If you have enjoyed the KGI/Kelly series I think you will like this book.


Getting Rowdy (Love Undercover, Bk 3)
Getting Rowdy (Love Undercover, Bk 3)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/28/2013


I don't care if this book is predictable. I think most romances are but I am okay with that. I read so much technical stuff at work that I like light, fluff happily ever after (HEA) books. If you want something indepth without "hot" guys, a heroine that needs saving yet able to save herself, and a HEA, then I suggest you read Nonfiction. I didn't read this book for quite a while because I enjoyed looking at the cover while the book sat on my nightstand. I have enjoyed all of the Love Undercover books but Getting Rowdy is my favorite. So don't look for indepth here but the storyline was good and Rowdy is hot!!!


The Girl Most Likely To ...
The Girl Most Likely To ...
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 5/12/2010


Fun, light read with a twist at the end! Recommend to all romance readers.


21 to 40 of 141 - Page: