Peggy H. (PeggyJ) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Heaven Sent Husband (Love Inspired)
Heaven Sent Husband (Love Inspired)
Author: Gilbert Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 4/3/2007


A great book!


Hi Honey, I'm Home (Palisades Pure Romance)
Hi Honey, I'm Home (Palisades Pure Romance)
Author: Linda Windsor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 2/20/2007


Absolutely love this book! A great story!


How Do I Love Thee: Three Stories
How Do I Love Thee: Three Stories
Author: Lurlene McDaniel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Gr 6-9-The tone of these three love stories is set with a quotation from the Song of Solomon describing the strength of love in life, and in death; this is further accentuated in the prologue that contains Elizabeth Barrett Browning's "How Do I Love Thee" to explain the effects of unconditional love. In the first selection, high school senior Brett, a leukemia survivor, meets Shayla, who has a sun allergy. They fall in love, and the drama peaks when her skin becomes badly burned after she falls asleep in a boat and she dies. In "Bobby's Girl," Dana is dating Bobby but once had a secret fling with his brother, who has terminal brain cancer, and he wants her back. In "Laura's Heart," a high school junior hospitalized because of heart damage falls for the night intern, and, in spite of parental objections, they see one another. In a melodramatic turn, he is shot and killed, but his heart is salvageable. An element of love poetry is worked into each story. Characters are highly sensitive and emotional, and have intense personalities. Moods range from complete happiness to total devastation. There's a level of realism here; but there is also a strong dose of drama, which will attract established fans of this author. This short-story format will give new readers a taste of McDaniel's style.


Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography
Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 2/23/2007


A very interesting book and well written book, though not really the type I usually read.


Lost Patrol: Legends of the West Trilogy (Legends of the West)
Lost Patrol: Legends of the West Trilogy (Legends of the West)
Author: Morgan Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/5/2007


When lieutenant Boyd Locklin arrives at the wagon train he is supposed to escort through appalaichan territory, what he finds is a massacre. Later, Locklin withstands yet another Indian attack to find a pretty young woman-the massacres sole survivor- by his side.


My Brother's Keeper: Virginia's Civil War Diary, Book One (My America)
Review Date: 2/24/2007


My daughter loved this book, though she somehow ended up with three copies.


The Nanny Diaries
The Nanny Diaries
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1401
Review Date: 4/3/2007


Great book!!!!!!


One Last Wish: Three Novels
One Last Wish: Three Novels
Author: Lurlene Mcdaniel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/5/2007


You don't know me, but I know about you.... I can't make you live longer, I can stop you form hurting. But I can give you one wish, as someone did for me.
Three letters. Three last wishes.
In Mother, Help Me Live, Sarah discovers that her birth mother, whom she's never known, is the one person who may have the bone marrow she needs to survive. When Sarah journeys to find her mother, she learns the real meaning of family.
Let Him Live tells the story of Megan's friendship with Donovan, who is hoping to receive a liver transplant. Megan helps make Donovan's wish for his mother and little brother come true, along the way, Megan comes to understand true giving.
In Sixteen and Dying, when Anne finds out that a blood transfusion she had seven years ago has made her future uncertain, being given one wish helps her face her pain. She chooses to spend the summer with her father on a ranch out westand there she meets someone who will change her life.


Protected Hearts (Love Inspired, No 299)
Protected Hearts (Love Inspired, No 299)
Author: Bonnie K. Winn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 4/3/2007


A great book!


Survivor
Survivor
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 330
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Same book but different cover.


Sweet Accord (Love Inspired, No 197)
Sweet Accord (Love Inspired, No 197)
Author: Felicia Mason
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/5/2007


Light,melodic tones.That was a worship service.Not guitar music! At least Haley Cartwright believed that, and she was willing to do anything to prevent the new choir director from changing things.No matter that the man stirred up more that just Haleys anger and made her yearn for things she had long given up...

Matt Brandon had come to the small Oregon town to start over.He never expected to face an adversary like HAley. And though she protested she wanted him out of town, he saw how much his music touched her. Could he use his music to work through her fears and show her the blessings of love?


True Honor (Uncommon Heroes, Bk 3)
True Honor (Uncommon Heroes, Bk 3)
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Great book!


1 to 12 of 12