Amy B. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
The 10 Best Questions for Living with Fibromyalgia: The Script You Need to Take Control of Your Health
Review Date: 5/9/2010


I didn't expect much when I got this book from the library. I was pleasantly surprised when I read the book, however. Each chapter centers around 10 best questions for each problem and at the end of each chapter the author includes a magic section. Some of the topics covered include: explaining fibromyalgia to your children, finding a good doctor, getting better sleep, and financial health after a fibromyalgia diagnosis. The author even included a humorous chapter near the end of the book. I highly recommend this book, but remember that the book poses questions, not answers.


Amazing Grace for Those Who Suffer: 10 Life-Changing Stories of Hope and Healing (The Amazing Grace Series)
Review Date: 5/9/2010


I didn't find this book inspirational at all. In fact it gave me nightmares. I realize that everyone has their own choices and that the Catholic Church believes that birth control is murder, but the book concentrated so much on women who had miscarriage after miscarriage instead of using birth control until they found whatever was wrong was disturbing. I'd say at least half of the stories, if not more, were about multiple miscarriages. I was also a bit disturbed that in one story after a couple's son dies they immediately try to have a replacement baby because they feel God wants that and if they hadn't used birth control their son would still be alive. I don't follow the line of reasoning. I do not recommend this book to anyone, even a die hard Catholic.


An Emergence of Green
An Emergence of Green
Author: Katherine V. Forrest
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book, though a bit dated, is beautiful as it tells of the budding romance between two women as they discover their sexuality and their love for one another. I highly recommend this book.


Awakening the Virgin
Awakening the Virgin
Author: Nicole Foster (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book has some very sexy stories in it, but at the same time most of the stories are almost the same, just with different characters and settings. I think I could pick out only three or four stories that are worth reading.


Babyji
Babyji
Author: Abha Dawesar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/7/2013


I loved this book! It's about a lesbian teenager growing up in India. I learned a lot about India and this was a wonderful coming-of-age book!


Bad Dog : 278 Outspoken, Indecent, and Overdressed Dogs
Review Date: 2/7/2013


This is one of the cutest books I've ever read! I loved it. It has funny pictures of dogs with funny captions on each page.


Bad Girl
Bad Girl
Author: Maya Reynolds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 2/7/2013


This book wasn't that sexy. It all seemed very contrived, and very unrealistic. It was full of the girl's self-doubt, which really cut down on the sexy factor. An evil man kidnaps her, and I'm not sure if that is supposed to be erotic and sexy or scary, but I thought it was pretty unclear. I don't recommend it.


Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid: The Book of Scary Urban Legends
Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid: The Book of Scary Urban Legends
Author: Jan Harold Brunvand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/17/2009


This book is pretty cute, but not scary. I don't think it was meant to be scary. I found it rather dry, though, as it discussed the roots of different urban legends. I have another book, "Urban Legends : 666 Absolutely True Stories That Happened to a Friend...of a Friend of a Friend," by Thomas J. Craughwell that I like much better. It just lists the urban legend in its various forms and is more interesting than this book. The book I mentioned also has a lot of the same urban legends that "Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid" does. I'd recommend getting the other book.


The Blood Countess
The Blood Countess
Author: Andrei Codrescu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wow, this book was really good, yet the ending lacked something. The book goes seamlessly back and forth between the past Countess Bathory and present day Count Bathory. I really loved how Codrescu got inside the characters minds. The part about the notorious Blood Countess went into depth from her childhood, and how she became the psychopathic sadist who gained sexual pleasure from causing pain. I didn't feel he did as well with the story of the modern day Count, though. The ending should have lasted another 100 pages, rather than one chapter. The book built up to a climax then just stopped, which I found to be a major mistake. It built up to the Countess' murder of hundreds of women then just mentioned a few things in just the last chapter. I was quite disappointed in that, as I found the book to be excellent until the weak ending. I should put in a warning, though, as this book is not for young readers or for those who get offended easily.


Brothel: Mustang Ranch and Its Women
Brothel: Mustang Ranch and Its Women
Author: Alexa Albert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/7/2013


If you are looking for a porn or erotic book, this isn't it. This is a sociological study on the legal prostitutes
at Mustang Ranch. It is very interesting, especially for those interesting in sociology. I highly recommend this book!


Burned Alive : A Survivor of an "Honor Killing" Speaks Out
Burned Alive : A Survivor of an "Honor Killing" Speaks Out
Author: Souad
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/9/2010


This is one of the most emotional books I've ever read. Nothing has made me appreciate where I was born than this book. Souad, whose name has been changed for her protection, is so brave, and through it all kept her faith in Allah. She is brave even when she doesn't want to be. She has worked so hard to make it to the place she is now in life. Warning: this book is not for the faint of heart. I am still having nightmares from it.


The Chocolate Cat Caper (Chocoholic, Bk 1)
The Chocolate Cat Caper (Chocoholic, Bk 1)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 5/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The Chocolate Cat Caper was an okay book, but there were things I didn't understand. For instance the main character, Lee, has a speech impediment but it doesn't tell what it is or much about it, just that she says the wrong words. In fact I don't even know if it is a speech impediment. Personally I was interested in the cat, I thought perhaps she loved cats. Being a cat person I was dismayed when she didn't care for the cat, who was the "baby" of the murdered lady. The book didn't seem to flow, and the plot was choppy. The characters were flat and the book was very predicable. I don't think I'll read anymore of the Chocoholic Mysteries series. I get the book three stars, though because I could almost connect with Lee as a character and it is about chocolate. I loved learning how chocolate was made.


The Craft of Research, Third Edition (Chicago Guides to Writing, Editing, and Publishing)
Review Date: 2/7/2013


This is a great book, and can be used as either a good book for reference, or a text book. I first bought the book for reference, then I took a class that, to my surprise, used that exact book. I got a lot of information and learned a lot from this book.


Curious Wine
Curious Wine
Author: Katherine V. Forrest
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/7/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is THE lesbian novel all women who are just getting started into reading lesbian/bi woman books should read. Its a bit old, but it's the standard, and a great introduction to one of my favorite types of literature. It's sexy, has a great plot, and has two women discovering themselves and their love for each other. Awesome book.


The Dancing Girls of Lahore: Selling Love and Saving Dreams in Pakistan's Pleasure District (P.S.)
Review Date: 5/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was educational and moving. I loved it and could barely put it down. The book tells the story of the pleasure district of Lahore, Pakistan. The author becomes friends with Maha and her daughters over a period of years. Maha, a former prostitute, survives the only way she can. When she is no longer young enough and thin enough to earn money her daughters support the family. While it is unthinkable for me, in the Midwest, to see a mom pimping her daughters out, it is a way of life for Maha and her family. It isn't a choice, it's just the way things are. The author also makes friends with different transvestite prostitutes as well. This book shows the human spirit, the good and the bad, in Lahore.


Deja Demon: The Days and Nights of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 4)
Review Date: 5/9/2010


The next installment of the Kate Conner Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series is all that I expected from Julie Kenner. I can't help but love Kate and her family as she juggles demon hunting, training her daughter to be a demon hunter while hiding it from her wife, being a wife, demon hunting, and an ex husband who is on the scene in a most unusual way. I don't want to give too much away...definitely go out and read this book, but start at the beginning of the series.


Demon Ex Machina: Tales of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 5)
Review Date: 5/9/2010


The fourth and final book of the Demon Hunting Soccer Mom exceeded my expectations. I don't know why the name of the series seems to change slightly book to book, but it is all part of the same series. Kate Conner is very real and is easy to identify with. The book jacket to an earlier book suggests Kate Conner is like Buffy becoming a soccer mom if she kept her past a secret. I think Julie Kenner's series is better. I loved this series, it is one of the best I've ever read.


Demons are Forever: Confessions of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 3)
Review Date: 5/9/2010


Demons Are Forever is a book in the Kate Conner Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series. The book is imaginative and fun to read. Most women, especially mommies, can identify with the main character, Kate Conner, as she tries to balance Mommy duties and wife duties with demon hunting. Keeping the secret from her family takes a toll on her. I won't give anything away, you have to read this book!


Diary of a Manhattan Call Girl
Diary of a Manhattan Call Girl
Author: Tracy Quan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 5/9/2010


This book is as brainless as "Sex and the City." I certainly wish that I didn't get the book from paperbackswap, I could have checked it out from the library. The novel is written by a former call girl. The main character, Nancy, has a finace that knows nothing of her being a call girl. I find that repulsive. She sleeps with loads of men for money while at the same time pretends to be true to her fiance. I am not speaking against the occupation of a call girl so much as to her keeping it a secret from her fiance.


Diary of a Married Call Girl (Nancy Chan)
Diary of a Married Call Girl (Nancy Chan)
Author: Tracy Quan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/7/2013


I couldn't stand the woman the book was about in the first book, and I could stand her even less in the second book. In fact, I'm not sure why I even bothered to read it. I gave this book 1 1/2 stars because the character is one of the most unlikable characters I've read in a long, long time. She gets a rush from cheating on her husband, and sees nothing wrong with it. That's just one reason why she is so unlikable.


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: