Danny J. (DanJohnson) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 64 - Page:
American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 968
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Gaiman is at the top of his game. an excellent book!


Anansi Boys
Anansi Boys
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 508
Review Date: 12/26/2006


A thoroughly entertaining book. I look forward to seeing how it translates to film.


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 359
Review Date: 11/14/2012


Though I like the book, it's not my favorite from Grisham. It struck me as the first part of a cliffhanger. The ending left me thinking that there's more to come.


Black Friday
Black Friday
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 359
Review Date: 5/10/2007


A nonstop thrill ride!


Black House
Black House
Author: Stephen King, Peter Straub
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 11/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Jack Sawyer returns to "the Territories" as two of the best writers of horror fiction team up once again for this excellent follow-up to "The Talisman".


Bliss to You: Trixie's Guide to a Happy Life
Bliss to You: Trixie's Guide to a Happy Life
Author: Trixie Koontz, Dean R Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/11/2011


This little book has a lot of heart. There is a great deal to be learned from a good dog. Loved it!


Born Country: How Faith, Family, and Music Brought Me Home
Born Country: How Faith, Family, and Music Brought Me Home
Author: Randy Owen, Allen Rucker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have a pretty decent collection of musical biographies, and the Alabama front man's life story is as interesting as any of them. I always enjoy finding out what exactly inspired my favorite artists to dedicate themselves to their musical craft, and what their inspirations were for the songs that they wrote. A must read for any Alabama fan!


Brain Droppings
Brain Droppings
Author: George Carlin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 3/24/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I may not always agree with the things that Carlin says, but I always laugh at the he says it! This book is hilarious, but it's not for the easily offended. If you are put off by crude language, don't even bother cracking open the cover, but if you can handle it, this book will have you laughing almost from start to finish!


Building and Detailing Scale Model Stock Cars
Building and Detailing Scale Model Stock Cars
Author: Bill Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/19/2010


Mr. Coulter is a master model builder, and the tips he gives stock car modelers in this book will help a beginning to intermediate builder eventually achieve the results that he has.


The Chamber
The Chamber
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 920
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Grisham is at the top of his game here, and his is a very good game!


Chariots of the Gods?
Chariots of the Gods?
Author: Erich von Daniken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2007


Although some of the references in the book are a bit dated (such as the "numbers with fifteen digits- something not registered by any computer- on the back cover description) since the book was originally copyrighted in 1968, this book can still give you cause to think about the possibility that the Earth was visited by beings from other civilizations in our distant past.
Chariots of the Gods is still one of my favorites, because I can fondly remember the many lively debates about the possibilty of life on other planets that it spawned among my high school classmates and myself back in the mid-'70's, especially after the movie documentary of the same name was released.


Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 12/10/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Spellbinding and reverent. A total departure from what we have come to expect frm Anne Rice. If she has decided to completely change her literary specialty, the horror's loss is religious fiction's gain! Highly recommended~


Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 2/18/2010


Beautifully written. Hard to believe this came from the same author that gave us The Vampire Chronicles and the VERY adult Slepping Beauty series (under the pseudonym of A.N. Roquelaure).


Cold Fire
Cold Fire
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 9/5/2006


One of Dean Koontz' best efforts!


The Colorado Kid
The Colorado Kid
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 4/22/2011


I am a huge fan of Stephen King's work, but quite frankly, this book left me cold. I don't mind that it's not his usual genre (I knew that going in), but a fictional crime story should have some resolution, and this one doesn't. It's like SK signed a contract to write this book and had a general idea for a story. Then, about 150 pages into it, and possibly with a deadline fast approaching, ran into a brick wall of writer's block and decided to end it right there. . Frankly, I felt a bit cheated.


Cross Fire (Alex Cross, Bk 17)
Cross Fire (Alex Cross, Bk 17)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 7/1/2011


Pretty good. Alex Cross takes on THREE psychopathic lillers (including Kyle Craig again), and this one appears to be the lead-in for an Alex Cross/ Women's Murder Club mashup.


The Dead Town (Frankenstein, Bk 5)
The Dead Town (Frankenstein, Bk 5)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 7/22/2011


Thoroughly enjoyed it. This series is on my keeper shelf!


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1727
Review Date: 9/17/2006


An excellent read. Never a dull moment. A+++!!!


Don't Blink
Don't Blink
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 2/6/2011


This book has more twists and turns than a mountain switchback road, and the book's hero is likable, too. I wouldn't be a bit surprised to see reporter Nick Daniels show up in a few more books in the not too distant future.


Eli the Good
Eli the Good
Author: Silas House
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/1/2011


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although it it was marketed for the young adult reader, I really connected with Eli, and Silas House really nailed the spirit of the era (1976). This book is a keeper.


1 to 20 of 64 - Page: