Greg M. (greg942) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
1901
1901
Author: Robert Conroy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Very good book. You definitely get the feeling that this could have happened. It comes to a logical conclusion yet you are still left wondering, "What would happen next". I do wish this was the first in a series. I would love to read more.


The Age of Miracles
The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 5/13/2015


Very interesting story and well told. The why of the disaster is never known and that doesn't seem out of the realm of possibility. There is no suspense and no surprise in the ending because of the way the story is told. That doesn't take away from the story. Another reviewer said that Julia seem more 14 turning 15 than 11 turning 12 and I have to agree with that. Julia was simply too grown for her age. Overlook that and it is a very good story.


Amerika: The Triumph of the American Spirit
Amerika: The Triumph of the American Spirit
Author: Brauna E. Pouns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/16/2011


Interesting story. The concept of the Soviet Union taking control of the U.S. makes for a good story. The occupation did seem to be softer than I expected but then this story is told ten years into the occupation. People do adapt. The initial take over really isn't all that important to the story but it seemed very unlikely to happen in the way described. One of the things that both the US and Soviet Union did was try to make sure that the leaders never lost communications with the various military units around the globe. There were always boomers at sea that would have fired their missiles in the event communications could not be restored in a short amount of time. They would not have just surfaced and surrendered because they lost contact. I think there would have been gulags and wholesale immigration of Soviets into the U.S. It was an interesting story but seemed very unrealistic.


Arc Light
Arc Light
Author: Eric L. Harry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/22/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A really good story. I enjoyed the mix of military, political, and civilian stories and points of view. The characters seemed real and their reactions seemed authentic. It was a long book but I would enjoy a follow up story about the rebuilding.


As Wind In Dry Grass
As Wind In Dry Grass
Author: H. Grant Llewellyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/30/2014


Grim. The author has an odd notion of who is always bad, who is always good and who is variable. The main character continuously claims that he, "just wants to be left alone" and then turns around and inserts himself in the world around him. Then he acts surprised to the point of murderous rage when he is noticed by the people he forced to notice him. The main character also seems to have a level of fitness and skill quite above that of a retired teamster in his 50's who lives on meat and whiskey.


Beautiful Life?: The CSI Behind the Casey Anthony Trial & My Observations from Courtroom Seat #1
Review Date: 3/3/2012


I was interested in this book for a couple of reasons. One being that while I was aware of the case I did not follow it closely and the other being that I work as a Crime Scene Investigator and know Dr. Vass.
There was nothing new or ground breaking in the book. That is not a criticism. The book was not written to be. It was a collection of interview and news report parts. Having worked in the field for years I was not surprised at the way the jury was manipulated but I was surprised by their failure to see through it. Sophistry is a defense art evidently. If you followed the case closely and kept up with all the news reports there would be little point in reading this book. If you know little to nothing about it this book would be a good place to start.


Berserk
Berserk
Author: Tim Lebbon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 3/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Good story with some unexpected twists. It does drag a bit in a few spots but not enough to take from the story. The events in the story take place in a very short time but there are flashbacks to times prior to the story. I would love to find one of those flashbacks expanded into another book.


Blood Crazy
Blood Crazy
Author: Simon Clark
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 9/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Creepy story. Very good. I thought the zombie story had been done to death but this is a new one. It's hard to feel a lot of sympathy for the hero for a long time. He knows what needs to be done but avoids it causing death and mayhem but then he finally starts coming around. I would have enjoyed a couple more chapters at the end to tell more about the world after.


Book of the Eskimos
Book of the Eskimos
Author: Peter Freuchen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/27/2010


Without a doubt written in another time but a great book. It surely is different than the smiling Eskimos standing outside an igloo that we learned about in the fourth grade. This book should be required reading for anyone who believes that native peoples two centuries ago were tree hugging paleohippies.


The Brief History of the Dead
The Brief History of the Dead
Author: Kevin Brockmeier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 5/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Very interesting and hard to describe. Almost kind of a Riverworld idea but different. I do wish there had been more to the story. It seems that there was a lot of potential for more there. Definitely worth the read and I would suggest it to anyone.


By Force of Arms (Revolution at Sea Trilogy/James L. Nelson, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/27/2008


This was an alright book but not great. I don't really know what kept me from liking it better. It seemed authentic and accurate but it sort of drug along and seemed two dimensional. I hope that it picks up from this point on.


By Virtue of Love
By Virtue of Love
Author: Eric Dodd
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/23/2008


Erotica pure and simple. The story is designed to support a series of sexual encounters. Not hardcore filth but explicit.


Children of Hope (Seafort Saga, Bk 7)
Children of Hope (Seafort Saga, Bk 7)
Author: David Feintuch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/24/2009


Wonderful story. Not just this book but the whole series. Though I found this story to be less about Nick and more about the son of Dereck Carr. Not that it is a bad thing. I could see this story going on for a long time after this even though it has a logical and fitting end to it. It was good to see that Seafort finally became normal at the end and not keep flying off the handle at the least provocation. I think that had to do with him dealing with his children and adopted children, especially young Randy. Some of the stories do drag along the way at times but all in all I would recommend reading the series through from beginning to end.


A Damned Fine War
A Damned Fine War
Author: William Yenne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/27/2010


This book started out with a good idea and then seemed to drag it to death. The heroes were overly heroic while the villains were idiotically evil. Also there were so many inaccuracies in the descriptions of equipment that I became irritated. Keys in a jeep? 20mm BAR? M14s used in Europe in 1946? Yenne could have used a proof reader. The battle descriptions were rare and became shorter and shorter while the personal stories became longer and longer. I also wondered why the Germans didn't figure in the battle with the Soviets more. Likely that was accurate but I still wondered why. It was an okay story but not a keeper.


The Dark Design (Riverworld Saga, Book 3)
The Dark Design (Riverworld Saga, Book 3)
Author: Philip Jose Farmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/23/2009


I may be the only person to ever not like this book. It is about people who are on a strange world where life and the river goes on forever and that is how the story seems to me...going on forever. I can read a cereal box but just couldn't stay interested.


Dauntless (Lost Fleet, Bk 1)
Dauntless (Lost Fleet, Bk 1)
Author: Jack Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 8/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't expect a lot from this book and boy was I wrong. What a great story! Good writing. Good story. And I know there is a twist coming and while I might suspect what it is there is every chance that I am about to be surprised again. If you like sailing stories, science fiction, navy stories, or just plain adventure then read this.


THE DAY THE SUN FELL
THE DAY THE SUN FELL
Author: Robert L. Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/31/2012


It was an okay story but tended towards unbelievable most of the time. There was a German Priest who was at Hiroshima when it was bombed and he wrote of his experiences. He certainly did not move about with the ease that the characters in this novel did and he wore a military uniform for just that purpose.


Dirty Little Secrets of World War II : Military Information No One Told You About the Greatest, Most Terrible War in History
Review Date: 7/24/2013


I'm not sure why the book is titled the way it is. Lots of the information is not secrete and almost none of it could be considered, "dirty". The book is set up as a list of subjects with an in-depth explanation attached. If you like history,especially military history, you will enjoy the book. If you find history to be a dry recitation of facts and dates you would only find this book useful as a reference.


Disguised: A Wartime Memoir
Disguised: A Wartime Memoir
Author: Rita De Clercq Zubli
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/9/2010


Interesting book. Very strange tale. I have no doubt of the nature of the the treatment that the Imperial Japanese Military inflicted on occupied islands. This is the first time I have ever heard them described as generous, polite, and honorable. I wonder if this is told through the eyes of a child or a collaborator. I would really like to read the story as told by someone else who was in the camps at the time.


The Dragon's Nine Sons
The Dragon's Nine Sons
Author: Chris Roberson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/26/2010


A kind of Dirty Dozen story told with a Turtledove twist. I really liked this book. The action sounded real and the story line was interesting. The only thing that bothered me was that the author himself tossed out some plot spoilers along the way. Nothing major but I think the story could have done without them. This is one in a series of stories written about this time line and I believe the rest would be as good and I intend to find out.


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: