Heather F. (AZmom875) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 552 - Page:
Review Date: 10/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a keeper, so it may never get posted on PBS, I am keeping my copy sorry. It has so many ideas to return to that, it would be a shame to pass it on and not keep it.

Worth buying.


11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 5/24/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I dont read horror, or graphic violent books, but I have read a few of Stephen King's earlier novels: Carrie, The Stand, The Green Mile, and Pet Sementary. I am not a devoted King fan. I thought he kinda became a formula horror writer. I won this book in a the WLVB in a contest here on PBS. (Thanks Richard) That is the only reason it came into my hands.

I offered this book in another swap game, and it seemed a shame to not read it before I mailed it off. I read many other posts that said despite its 850 pages, it was a fast read: 200 pages a day fast read. I tested that theory and found I read it in 3 days. So dont let the length scare you off.

I am a big fan of time travel, and butterfly effect books, and movies, so this was right up my alley. I love our main character,Jake/George. Even thought I was a not a big King fan, I caught the connection between the clown in IT and the town of Derry, Maine that our character soon finds himself in.

This book doesnt try answer some of they WHYS of time time travel, so that makes it easier to read. Some readers hated the love story. I found it to be the best part. Because when you think about it, this is a love story. Love your country, love your friend, love a woman, even love yourself. Too many choices...if you can have only one.

I loved the book. I think you will too.


150 Pounds
150 Pounds
Author: Kate Rockland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/1/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Not a single review til mine? I thought I better weigh in to help other decide if they want to read this book. Kate Rockland wrote one other book before this, so she is not the most experienced or widely read author. She does do a great job in this book as 2 women who write blogs, appear on Oprah together. One Alexi, writes Skinny Chick, and Shoshana writes Fat and Fabulous. They are at odds with each other. On this Day Alexis weighs 100 and Shoshana weighs 215. By the end of the book they both weigh 150 pounds. Mainly both of their lives change by accident, or fate maybe.

I think the main message is be happy no matter what you weigh. Eat healthy, get some exercise, listen to your body. So it was worth reading.


2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 7/1/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I think 3 stars is a good rating for a book of this genre. Dont expect nobel prize writing. My book clearly says on the front cover a sexy mystery. And it delivered.

I read book one, and really enjoyed this one also. Our main character has 3 men who want her, the police detective of course, Peter her old highschool boyfriend and, the Body mover. Now we have a dead woman who was stolen our heroines identity. and the story takes you on a wild ride from there. The murderer was a surprise. I loved it.


29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change Your Life
29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change Your Life
Author: Cami Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/29/2011
Helpful Score: 5


I read the 2 reviews here on PBS before pulling this book off my TBR shelf. I found both book reviews to be helpful and accurate. This book is about a Woman with MS who was wallowing in pain and self pity. Her friend and spiritual guide suggested she do 29 days of giving. This is the Authors experience, written about how her life changed when she started consciously giving. She does wallow at times, it is about her, I think it was supposed to be about her and her experience. It is NOT a list of 29 things that you can also do, but the 29 things she did. You can do the same journey but you will need to discover your own path. I do have to agree that this book is full of WOO woo. Cami Walker is very spiritual, in that she embraces it all from all religions. Sometimes that turned me off that she got so weird. She has alters in her house to her ancestors, she gets a massage with quail eggs, she has divination session involving rocks, shells and quills. In the end, I applauded her determination and her transparency. Did it inspire me to do a 29 gift giving? No. It did inspire me to make a few changes, in my life and reach some goals.
This book is a very fast read. I read it in two hours.


3 Men And A Body (Body Movers, Bk 3)
3 Men And A Body (Body Movers, Bk 3)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 3/27/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I read book one and two, and then mailed this book off before reading it due to a swap deadline. I just couldnt get into it to mail it off in time. So I got a copy from the library recently. I am so glad I read book 3. I did really enjoy the whole back ground story, involving the moving of the famous dead "Paris Hilton" wannabee body from Florida back to Georgia. But really when you think about it, if this girl was so rich just put the body on a charter plane. Why drive? but alas there were be no story if Charlotte and Coop didnt have to drive and pick up the body.

This installment of the story was to me refreshing, it had enough twists and turns. I few I did not expect.

I see many other readers are sick of Charlotte having 3 men on the hook, and so much drama, but really if you look at the time line this is only a matter of weeks. Charlotte isnt dragging things out with these mens, dang the woman hasnt had time to breath between all the attempts on her life in each book.

The sex in this can be mildly graphic, so it that offends you then you might want to skip that part or the book altogether. This is by no means erotica, but it does get descriptive a few times. But if you need a little jump start in your libido those chapters might get your blood moving.

I wanted to add that I gave this book 4 stars for what the book was meant to be. It in no way is some masterpiece of literature, but for being a romantic suspense comedy mystery, it was a good 4 star book.


30-Minute Rubber Stamp Workshop
30-Minute Rubber Stamp Workshop
Author: Sandra McCall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is worth buying and keeping because it has some really unique projects and ideas.


50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Wisdom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 6/9/2012
Helpful Score: 3


What all the hater?

This book was well done. I liked it right away. I think the cover makes it seem more light-hearted than suggests. It has some heavy sex scenes were words like labia and other soft porn words are used. So not so light hearted in that sense. So if those scene offend you wont want to read this.

I thought the author did a great job of introducing us to Jazz and her past, then how Nick fit into all this. This isnt dark and mysterious like darker paranormals, I like the magic and the vampires, and the other creatures. I am going to keep reading the series.


6 Killer Bodies (Body Movers, Bk 6)
6 Killer Bodies (Body Movers, Bk 6)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 4/5/2013
Helpful Score: 2


The charmed killer starts killing women in book 4 and we dont get a reveal to the identity til the end of this book. But Cooper is arrested as the killer at the very beginning, and Carlotta, and her gang band together to prove he is innocent. Many twists and turns at the end and very worth reading.

If you go to Stephanie Bond's website you can find info about a book 6 1/2 that is about 100 page and downloadable for 99 cents. It is a book about WHAT if...

Also it was mentioned that Ms. Bond was able to get control back over her books, not real sure what that was all about, but that there would be a book 7 in 2012, but that does not appear to happen, as of this date. Too bad, I wanted to see how the rest of their lives turned out.

I gave this book a 4 for what it was, a mystery comedy romance, not because it was some award winning piece of literature, but it was a great book for what it was meant to be.

Oh and yes, I could smack her the main character for all her waffling about who she wants to be with, but I do have to again add that the time line for these books takes place within weeks of each other so that isnt all that much time to decide which man, you love and can trust.


62 Projects to Make with a Dead Computer: (And Other Discarded Electronics)
Review Date: 8/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The projects in this book vary from cutesy to very technical. It is a fast read, but you would need to own a copy to really do the projects. The author points out many safety issues, explains very well where to find the parts you need in your dead electronics to make the projects. Many good visual diagrams, come with the step by step instructions. You could make jewerly or even a scribble robot. I liked that you could make a cat condo.


Abigail Adams: Girl of Colonial Days (Childhood of Famous Americans (Prebound))
Review Date: 3/7/2007


It is a hardcover book


About Face
About Face
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 3


The blog on the backcover is misleading. It sounds likes she was the victim of a hit and run and was found wandering with just a slip of paper with an address.. I think they had to do that to make the story interesting and not give away too much. It was way too slow to revealing the answers that you already knew by chapter one. It is chopping, goes back and forth. The hammock and the title have nothing to do with this book. I just can buy someone in a mental institution come out with beautiful hair and figure and skin. The whole romance is crap. But the mom has some pretty graphic sex.
Fern Michaels wrote a lot of books try something else she wrote. Besides Paula W just gave away all the forgotten memories in her review.


Accessory to Murder (Josie Marcus, Mystery Shopper, Bk 3)
Accessory to Murder (Josie Marcus, Mystery Shopper, Bk 3)
Author: Elaine Viets
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 12/10/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I have been a mystery shopper. I love this series. I love Josie Marcus. Elaine Viets writes a well edited and interesting series. You know Josie reminds me of Stephanie Plum but with better disquises.


The Acne Prescription CD : The Perricone Program for Clear and Healthy Skin at Every Age
Review Date: 6/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


The book might be a better resource than the CD, which is the version I am reviewing. The narrator droned on and on about vitamins and milligrams, and side effects, and all kinds of scientific terms. Why listen to it when that requires taking notes? Just get the book and flip through it for reference when you need to look up what you need

Now the information is worth having, the Cd isnt.

What you will learn: eat fish and vegetables and take some multivitamins, drink water, avoid sugar and bad starches, eat essential fatty oils, Dont drink coffee but drink green tea. All these things will reduce inflammation which is the cause of acne and other diseases. There, I saved you from reading the book or listening to the CD. Oh, but if you want to know what vitamins you will need the book. Heck, take them all, I gathered, until I got so bored I turned it off during disc 3. Each CD is one hour, I made it through 2.5 hours.


Addison Wesley Mathematics: Grade 5
Addison Wesley Mathematics: Grade 5
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 5/28/2007


This is actually a 5th grade math book like you use in school. great if you are homeschooling


The Adventurous Scrapbooker: Creating Wonderful Scrapbooks from Almost Anything
Review Date: 10/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book has so many great ideas. This book is a keeper, and worth buying if you are waiting forever to get your hands on a copy. It is book that wont get posted often because it will be kept to refer back to for more fun ideas.


Ahab's Wife
Ahab's Wife
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/1/2013


This is an extremely long book, but listening to it on Audio is both enjoyable and short. I am glad I chose to listen to this before I tried to read my copy. The language and voice of the reader really brings what could be a tedious story to life. The book is full of some long passages where Una expounds on life and love and happiness. Hearing it made it seem more heartfelt and less cheesey.

I am not sure if I will take to time to read the book, but I would listen to this again as it was so enjoyable to hear.


The Air Between Us
The Air Between Us
Author: Deborah Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/10/2011


There are some very accurate reviews on amazon too. This is the first fiction novel written by the author. She has written other NON fiction works.

It seems to be based on some experiences her father, a doctor, experienced, as written in her end notes. I think she tried so hard to be mystical and symbolic that she wrote in a choppy obscure way that was confusing, not poetic She often used big SAT words, which again made me think she was trying to hard to write the next great Oprah novel. I felt bogged down, and kinda trudged through the book. I felt the revelations near the end, really redeemed the book, but was annoyed that everything just turned out peachy for everyone. Overall you might not want to put this book at the top of your reading pile.


All Men Scrapbook Pages (Memory Makers)
All Men Scrapbook Pages (Memory Makers)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Worth keeping! worth buying! great ideas to return to that seem timeless.


All Our Yesterdays (All Our Yesterdays, Bk 1)
All Our Yesterdays (All Our Yesterdays, Bk 1)
Author: Cristin Terrill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/13/2015


I heard so many good things about this book, and another PBS member who was sobbing by the end. Hooked me into reading this book. I am not the least bit sorry, I was hooked into reading this. I was not sobbing or near tears though near the end. It is a good book that draws you in quickly, and keeps you running til the end.



I like time travel movies, and have only read a few time travel books. I want to point out one thing that just struck me as funny. The Guard who helps them escape has the last name of Connor. Not John Connor, but Mike. If you have any clue to why this is funny, you must also like time travel movies.

Marinda has traveled back in time again and again to stop, the evil that has occurred. She does this with Finn, over and over again. We will only read about this attempt, we wont see all the other 14 or so attempts, but they will be briefly mentioned.

If you have ever seen Donnie Darko or Butterfly effect you wont think the ending is all that unique. But it was intense, and it was fun ride to the end. Overall I liked the ending esp for the characters who survive. It seemed hopeful, that love could survive even if time alters everything.

It is a teen book, void of sex, or swear words, which was kinda of a surprise. There are only a few hot steamy kisses.


1 to 20 of 552 - Page: