Kay A. (katiebear) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
Bet Your Bottom Dollar (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 1)
Bet Your Bottom Dollar (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Gillespie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/4/2012


Being a Southerner, I totally enjoyed the characters in this book because I've met people like them all my life. This is a fun, fast, and funny story with a lot more depth than I expected. I love it when books make me laugh out loud and this one did it time and again. I highly recommend it.


A Bicycle Built for Murder (Manor House, Bk 1)
A Bicycle Built for Murder (Manor House, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/6/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Do yourself a favor and read this entire series non-stop one book after another. The stories link together well and almost read as chapters instead of books. Once you start, it will be impossible to stop. I love the characters and their humanity and the interaction between them. The mysteries are almost secondary because the people are so interesting and entertaining. I was sorry to see this series end. But fortunately, there are other series by this same lady. Thank goodness or I'd be going into withdrawal.


The Cater Street Hangman (Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, Bk 1)
The Cater Street Hangman (Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/11/2014


If you are thinking about reading this series, please take my advise and do it! I have been reading these one after another and each one is better than the previous! I've been wondering where Anne Perry has been and why I am only now finding her wonderful books! If you like historical mysteries with intelligent characters and page-turning suspense, you will love this series. I am very happy that there are so many of them. I am set up for good reading for weeks on end.


Come a Little Closer (Tucker Family, Bk 3)
Come a Little Closer (Tucker Family, Bk 3)
Author: Dorothy Garlock
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/22/2012


This book is a nice romance set in the days following the end of WWII written in Dorothy Garlock's traditional style. For Garlock fans, it is another enjoyable read. She is very good at what she does.


Dead Over Heels (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 5)
Dead Over Heels (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 5)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 258
Review Date: 2/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really love how Charlaine Harris has developed her characters so well in this series. I finish each book ready to pick up the next! I highly recommend this series for anyone who loves mysteries, but read them in order.


A Dollar Short: The Bottom Dollar Girls Go Hollywood (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 2)
Review Date: 3/11/2012


Another Southern escapade with the Bottom Dollas Girls that keeps the reader turning pages till the very end. It's great fun to read and I highly recommend it to all who love a lighthearted enjoyable book.


A Duty to the Dead (Bess Crawford, Bk 1)
A Duty to the Dead (Bess Crawford, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 6/16/2014


This is a great start to a great series. I've read them all now and really enjoyed them. The setting is WWI, one of my favorite eras to read about, and this series shares a lot of history of that time. The mother and son writing team does a very good job of weaving the characters into the history and horror of war. I highly recommend this series.


A Fool and His Honey (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 6)
A Fool and His Honey (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 6)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 2/28/2012


As I've said in reviews of previous books in this series, they just keep getting better. This one is the best so far, and I can't wait to get into the next one. I highly recommend this entire series to anyone who enjoys a good mystery that's impossible to put down!


Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat, Bk 4)
Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat, Bk 4)
Author: Richard Castle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/17/2013


Frozen Heat is the best yet of the Nikki Heat series. However they are all good. If you like the TV series "Castle," then you are sure to love these books, so I suggest that you read 'em all! You won't be disappointed.


Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 788
Review Date: 2/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting premise kept me reading this book and sparked enough interest to make me want to read the rest in this series.


Ham Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 7)
Ham Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 7)
Author: Carolyn Haines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This series just gets better and better! I love all the characters and how they relate to each other and especially how they grow and develop and evolve. I finish one book and immediately pick up the next because there is great continunity in this series. Do read them in order and have them all on hand because you won't want to wait for the next one to arrive!


The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 665
Review Date: 2/18/2012


This is a story that needed to be told. John Grisham was the right man to tell it. I admire him for all the in-depth research he did and for his keen insight as to what it all really meant. He has done us all a service in telling us how the 'justice' system sometimes really works.

Please don't judge this book by just its story, or how it was written. The vital message to take away is that these horrors happened to these people and likely to many more who don't have John Grisham to write their stories.

It is sometimes not a comfortable read, but its message needs to be known to us all.


Julius House (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 4)
Julius House (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 2/26/2012


This series seems to get better with each book. Charlaine Harris's characters are well defined and seem to stay true to their natures throughout. I'll be reading them all.


Last Scene Alive (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 7)
Last Scene Alive (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 7)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 2/29/2012


Another good story about the life and times of a cool character, though this one didn't grab me quite as much as the one just before it in the series. I'm sad to see that there's only one book left for me to read in Aurora's saga. I wish this series had many more because they are hard to put down. I recommend them all.


Love in a Nutshell (Culhane Family, Bk 1)
Love in a Nutshell (Culhane Family, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich, Dorien Kelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 9/6/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This is a cute, little fluffy chick lit mystery that can be read in one sitting. Even though it is pieced together using the usual pattern for this type of story, it is enjoyable to read and the characters are somewhat believable.


Lying with the Enemy
Lying with the Enemy
Author: Tim Binding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/1/2017


I didn't enjoy reading this book. It was a confusing read, in that it was hard to follow the characters's moves and motivations. The murder mystery was secondary to everything else and didn't play a major role in the story at all. When it was finally solved, it was a big let down. Anyway, I can't recommend this one.


Mum's the Word (Flower Shop, Bk 1)
Mum's the Word (Flower Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 325
Review Date: 9/5/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Don't be mislead by the cutesy cover designs, because the story between the covers is not cutesy. It is a well written, well developed mystery that keeps a reader involved and turning pages like mad. Parts are laugh-out-loud funny and parts cause breath-holding suspense. I'm glad there are a number of books in this series, because I couldn't bear to stop at just one!


Nightmare in Shining Armor (Den of Antiquity, Bk 8)
Nightmare in Shining Armor (Den of Antiquity, Bk 8)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/27/2012


I gave this book 3 stars just because it was OK. I've read other Den of Antiquity books and they were mildly entertaining, but I notice a pattern of unnecessary information being repeated. I also get irritated when the main character acts childish at the worst times for her to do so. Having said that, I have to say that it's an ok mystery and a quick read.


Scrapbook of Secrets (Cumberland Creek, Bk 1)
Scrapbook of Secrets (Cumberland Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Mollie Cox Bryan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/9/2012


This book is a good start for a new mystery series. There's murder and scrapbooking in a small Southern town. What's not to like?


Shakespeare's Landlord (Lily Bard, Bk 1)
Shakespeare's Landlord (Lily Bard, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 470
Review Date: 2/20/2012


This promises to be a good series, although it is written in a different tone from Charlaine Harris's other works. That is a good thing, however. I would hate for them to all sound the same. I like it well enough to order the next installment.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: