Connie S. (gamaw) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 99 - Page:
1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 5/16/2013


I love Debbie McComber's books. They just have such a "feel good" quality to them.


The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/5/2014


This is a very uniquely written and interesting book. It is a blend of history and fiction that keeps you wondering if it is indeed real. I really enjoyed it. The story flows easily and keeps you engaged.


Acts of Faith
Acts of Faith
Author: Erich Segal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/18/2014


This was a book that I really enjoyed. While it was a bit of a love story, I thought it was also a very interesting look into both the Catholic Church as well as the Jewish faith. I thought even though the book was written some time ago, it worked into the fabric of the story the debate about priests getting married, about the struggles we all have with challenging things that we have grown up with and been taught from the very beginning. It also is a testament to redemption, to finding your way and to doing what your heart tells you.


Angela's Ashes (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Angela's Ashes (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/24/2014


This is the second time that I have "read" this book. I really liked it, which is probably why I have read it twice. It is funny, heart rending and uplifting all at once. Although the author tends to whine a bit at times, this is a wonderful book.


Being Invisible
Being Invisible
Author: Thomas Berger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/17/2014


A quick read that is funny by reminding us of all the frustrations that we all have on a daily basis.


Between Friends
Between Friends
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/22/2014


I love Debbie Macomber's books. While they can be kind of "chick" like with romance and lost love, they are also touching in that they seem to reflect real emotions that touch the heart. I have read just about everything of hers and will continue to do so.


The Birth of Venus (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Birth of Venus (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Sarah Dunant, Jenny Sterlin (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/29/2014


Very interesting story. I enjoyed the setting because I lived in Italy for three years. Good book.


Blood of the Prodigal (Amish Country, Bk 1)
Blood of the Prodigal (Amish Country, Bk 1)
Author: P. L. Gaus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 9/11/2015


I have several books in this series and I would say that this is the best one yet. It's a good story that keeps you reading to the end


Blossom Street Brides
Blossom Street Brides
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/23/2014


I love the Blossom Street series. Debbie Macomber has a way of writing that just feels good, even if the characters are going through difficult times. She writes in such a way that you feel like you are in the middle of the story, that you are part of the community. I really enjoy these books.


Bob Schieffer's America (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Bob Schieffer's America (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Bob Schieffer
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/25/2014


Fun to listen to the musings and thoughts on his life as a reporter and his honest thoughts about what has happened in history.


The Boston Girl: A Novel
The Boston Girl: A Novel
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 3/19/2015


I really like this book. It is a quick read, funny and relatively light.


Bread Machine Cookbook II (Nitty Gritty Cookbooks)
Bread Machine Cookbook II (Nitty Gritty Cookbooks)
Author: Donna Rathmell German
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/7/2016


I have this particular book and also it's companion. I have used both books a lot over the years. There are several really good recipes.


The Bricklayer
The Bricklayer
Author: Noah Boyd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/2/2015


This book was pretty boring for a murder mystery. It just seemed to drag.


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 785
Review Date: 8/9/2014


A quick read. Not bad, but I am not really much of a fan of romance type books. It was okay though.


Buried Secrets (Nick Heller, Bk 2)
Buried Secrets (Nick Heller, Bk 2)
Author: Joseph Finder
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/19/2015


This is the second Nick Heller series book that I have read and I love the series! The book keeps you reading and keeps you guessing till the end. I will certainly read more Joseph Finder!


Cast a Blue Shadow (Amish Country, Bk 4)
Cast a Blue Shadow (Amish Country, Bk 4)
Author: P. L. Gaus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/18/2015


Pretty good story. I buzzed right through it.


Clouds Without Rain (Ohio Amish Mystery, Bk 3)
Clouds Without Rain (Ohio Amish Mystery, Bk 3)
Author: P. L. Gaus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/26/2015


This book is okay. It reads okay but does not have the "homey" feel of a book by Beverly Lewis for example (whom I love).


Criminal Seduction
Criminal Seduction
Author: Darian North
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/13/2013


This book was okay, but I thought that it dragged a bit.


Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter (P.S.)
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter (P.S.)
Author: Tom Franklin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 8/24/2014


The story is pretty good, but I felt that it dragged a bit at the beginning. Once it got going though, it was good.


The Cutting Season: A Novel
The Cutting Season: A Novel
Author: Attica Locke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/3/2014


I felt like the book started in the middle. There was no preface, it just jumped into the middle of the story. That trend continued throughout the book to me- I felt lost. Did not even finish the whole thing.


1 to 20 of 99 - Page: