Connie S. (gamaw) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 99 - Page:
Dear Abigail: The Intimate Lives and Revolutionary Ideas of Abigail Adams and Her Two Remarkable Sisters
Review Date: 8/25/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Very interesting story. It is refreshing to know that someone from that time period had the ability to speak her mind and not be stopped from doing such by her husband. The fact that Abigail's parents encouraged the girls to learn and read is wonderful.


A Death in Belmont (P.S.)
A Death in Belmont (P.S.)
Author: Sebastian Junger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/1/2014
Helpful Score: 1


My husband read this first and suggested it to me. It is amazing that Mr Junger's family had interaction with the Boston Strangler. That would really freak me out! Mr Junger is a wonderful writer- I have read his book War and seen Restrepo (my son was there with the Army and was wounded there). I will read anything that Mr Junger writes or watch anything he produces for TV.


DERAILED
DERAILED
Author: JAMES SIEGEL
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/24/2013


A very well written very engrossing novel. It kept my attention from start to finish!!! I would recommend it to anyone!!


The Dinner
The Dinner
Author: Herman Koch, Sam Garrett (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 6/6/2015


Wonderful. An honest look at a family who finally comes to terms with the way things actually are as opposed to what others see and think that they know.


The Dovekeepers
The Dovekeepers
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 4/1/2015


I started to read this book, then the mini series came on TV, so I'm learning the story that way. It's pretty good, but not what I expected.


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I am reading this book right now and it is one of the best books I have ever read. You immediately feel like you are in the middle of the story. Excellent. I cannot put it down.


A Drop of the Hard Stuff (Matthew Scudder, Bk 17)
A Drop of the Hard Stuff (Matthew Scudder, Bk 17)
Author: Lawrence Block
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/26/2014


I really liked this book. The story is good and the writing flows. A good quick read.


Drowning Ruth
Drowning Ruth
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 678
Review Date: 2/18/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I thought the story line was good, but I found some of the moving back and forth between people and time periods kind of confusing at times.


East of Eden
East of Eden
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/31/2014


I had never read anything by Steinbeck that I could recall. This book is very good. I liked it.


Eden Close
Eden Close
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 8/4/2015


Haunting, sad, yet beautiful. Beautifully written in gorgeous prose.


An Elegy for Amelia Johnson
An Elegy for Amelia Johnson
Author: Andrew Rostan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/24/2014


This is a "graphic novel". Did not know that when I ordered it. I don't do "graphic novels" otherwise known as comic books.


Escape from Sobibor
Escape from Sobibor
Author: Richard Rashke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/11/2013


A very interesting, moving book. My mother in law grew up in France during WWII and had relatives in the camps. Reading these stories really brings into focus how hard all of this was. I would recommend it to anyone.


Exact Revenge
Exact Revenge
Author: Tim Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/13/2014


I loved this book! The story moved along at a breakneck pace, and kept me reading straight through to the end. Excellent! I can't wait to read the next one from Tim Green.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2511
Review Date: 6/3/2014


Very thought provoking book. I like the way it was written, the tone and just the feel of the book.


Flags of Our Fathers (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 9/12/2014


A wonderful story, a true story of a son learning about his father and what his father did in the war after his death. A loving and tender expression of a son's love.


Gerald's Game
Gerald's Game
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 544
Review Date: 6/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I have always liked Stephen King, but have found that his stuff is either really good or really bad. There does not seem to be any in between. Gerald's Game was one of the good ones. I think it was one of his earlier books, because it shows some good imagination. I liked it.


The Golem of Hollywood (Jacob Lev, Bk 1)
The Golem of Hollywood (Jacob Lev, Bk 1)
Author: Jesse Kellerman, Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/30/2014


I love Jonathan Kellerman's novels. I love Faye Kellerman's novels. I have read one of Jesse Kellerman's novels and did not think much of it. This book I hated. I did not even finish it. The murder/ cop side of it (at least through the two chapters that I read) was okay, but the other worldly stuff made no sense to me. To me, this book could not decide what it wanted to be, and so failed to do either in my eyes. Very disappointed.


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 744
Review Date: 10/20/2014


A very engaging book that caught me right from the start and kept me reading to the end. Loved it!


Good Day in Hell (Jack Keller, Bk 2)
Good Day in Hell (Jack Keller, Bk 2)
Author: J. D. Rhoades
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/12/2015


Good story. Well written. The book keeps you reading.


Here on Earth
Here on Earth
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 415
Review Date: 2/22/2015


This book is well written and the story is good, although it is somewhat of a romance novel. Then ending is poetic justice although almost predictable. I liked it.


21 to 40 of 99 - Page: