Mary S. (mscottcgp) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 205 - Page:
100 Malicious Little Mysteries
Review Date: 8/30/2014


This book of mysteries is great for when you have limited time. You can pick it up and read 1 or 2 stories then leave it. I've read it for 5-10 minutes at a time. The stories can be funny or slightly scary. Some are not terribly current since they were written before 1981. Still, it can be interesting to see how people interacted in the 70's!


1001 Ways to Be Romantic
1001 Ways to Be Romantic
Author: Gregory J. P. Godek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/5/2006


This is a good book for husbands to read if their wife has accused them of being unromantic!


101 Things You Should Do Before You Retire
101 Things You Should Do Before You Retire
Author: David Bordon, Tom Winters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/7/2012


a quick read, but really makes you think about what you would like to do after retiring. Has a journal section in the back of the book "Before I retire, I'd like to....


Adventures in a TV Nation
Adventures in a TV Nation
Author: Michael Moore, Kathleen Glynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/1/2010


This is a hilarious book! Never saw the TV show,and wish now that I had. Book tells of the making of the shows and describes what segments weren't aired because of controversial nature/advertisers backed out.


Age Power
Age Power
Author: Ken Dychtwald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/5/2006


From the book jacket: "The baby-boom generation is about to transform into the largest elderly population in human history, changing how everyone lives, large and small"


All the Queen's Men
All the Queen's Men
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 10/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


"Linda Howard has seamlessly melded thrilling sensuality and heart-pounding dramatic tension. Now she brings back the elusive hero who first appeared in her acclaimed page-turner Kill and Tell- in a new blockbuster that is part suspense,part passion and pure Linda Howard."


Alone in America: The Search for Companionship
Alone in America: The Search for Companionship
Author: Louise Bernikow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/12/2007


Non-fiction book about loneliness in America. Very interesting from a psychological view.


Alone: Orphaned on the Ocean
Alone: Orphaned on the Ocean
Author: Richard Logan, Tere Duperrault Fassbender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/1/2015


A good true-crime book and a fast read. Inspiring story about an 11 year old girl adrift on a small raft for 4 days after her whole family had been killed on their sailboat in the Bahamas.


The American Plague: The Untold Story of Yellow Fever, the Epidemic that Shaped Our History
Review Date: 1/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great, very readable,book about the history of yellow fever in this country and how it shaped this country in so many ways. As you might expect,slavery played a major role in bringing yellow fever to America,but it was surprising that historians have placed the blame on yellow fever for bringing down the city of Memphis which had, in the 1870's, been one of the largest cities of the South at the time.


American Red Cross Babysitter's Training Handbook
Review Date: 3/12/2009


Clear,concise instructions for the beginning babysitter,covers everything!


Americans in London (Americans Abroad)
Americans in London (Americans Abroad)
Author: Brian N. Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/29/2010


This is an interesting non-fiction book about famous Americans and where they lived in London and vicinity. Great to take with you when you are visiting London!


Assisted Loving: True Tales of Double Dating with My Dad
Assisted Loving: True Tales of Double Dating with My Dad
Author: Bob Morris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/28/2010


This is a pretty funny book and fast read. The author has the Florida retiree culture down cold! If you've ever lived in retiree world in the Sunshine State, you know what I mean!


Baby on the Car Roof and 222 Other Urban Legends: Absolutely True Stories That Happened to a Friend of a Friend of a Friend
Review Date: 8/12/2012


A quick read-and a book you can put down and pick up to quickly read a story or two. Pretty funny!


Back Rooms: Voices from the Illegal Abortion Era
Back Rooms: Voices from the Illegal Abortion Era
Author: Ellen Messer, Kathryn May
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/22/2008


Nonfiction book about the days before Roe v Wade
Thought-provoking-do we really want to do back there??


Bad Blood: Crisis in the American Red Cross
Bad Blood: Crisis in the American Red Cross
Author: Judith Reitman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/3/2006


This was very thought-provoking and very interesting to learn about the role of the Red Cross and the AIDS epidemic. Author lays blame on Elizabeth Dole in part for this.


A Barn in New England: Making a Home on Three Acres
A Barn in New England: Making a Home on Three Acres
Author: Joseph Monninger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/22/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Very enjoyable book about author and his family renovating an old barn into their home. Funny and also poignant.


Basic Questions on Alternative Medicine: What Is Good and What Is Not? (BioBasics Series) (Bio Basics Series)
Review Date: 4/12/2010


Primer on alternative medical treatments such as acupuncture,herbals,etc


A Beautiful Place to Die (Emmanuel Cooper, Bk 1)
A Beautiful Place to Die (Emmanuel Cooper, Bk 1)
Author: Malla Nunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/31/2011


Greatly engrossing murder mystery set in 1950's South Africa.

"A terrific debut! Page-turning, clever, and multilayered in its portrayal of the people and landscape of apartheid South Africa..."


Belle Ruin (Emma Graham, Bk 3)  (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/28/2016


I really enjoyed Martha Grimes Richard Jury series so I thought I'd enjoy this. It was disappointing not to get into this as much. I had to listen to the 1st CD twice because I couldn't get head or tail of it, then supposedly it takes place in New England but sounds like the characters are from the South! Confusing.


Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Author: Aron Ralston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 7/5/2016


I'm the "reader" in the family, but when I recommend a book to my husband, he will usually read it because he trusts my judgement of what he likes. So I read this and automatically thought he'd enjoy it-which he did!
Before the book came out, we watched his story on a Tom Brokaw special and were intrigued and naturally had to get the book to get the whole story. I liked how he told his story which flips back and forth from that day's activities to how he came to be at this point in his life because, of course, everyone knows how it ends.
It is truly inspiring, but it tends to drag a little in the middle when he recounts how many mountains he'd climbed, and when,and with whom. But, all in all, a book I would recommend to those who love living the adventure through others


1 to 20 of 205 - Page: