Becky (2manyb00ks) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 204 - Page:
All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 7)
All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 7)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 5/22/2013


A little more low key than previous books, but still a great read!


Allrecipes Cookbook 2003
Allrecipes Cookbook 2003
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/28/2011


I know, allrecipes.com gives away all their recipes for free. However, this book is great because it has recipes that I never would have thought to look up. My favorite is the super thick french toast. We make it all the time. I don't know if I'd buy all the Allrecipe cookbooks, but I think a few are great to have on your shelf!


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 4/10/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Alice Sebold has a talent to draw in, yet thoroughly disgust her readers. Her stories are like a car crash that you just can't seem to pull your eyes away from. I managed to get through The Lovely Bones. However, this book just got too graphic for me and after the first few chapters I gave up, not wanting to retain the mental images she was creating for me. The preview for this book tried to make this about a mother/daughter relationship... obviously a very dysfunctional one! I think I am done with Alice Sebold novels.


Awakened (House of Night, Bk 8)
Awakened (House of Night, Bk 8)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 8/22/2012


Nothing new here. Very disappointed in the way the House of Night series has turned out. I am done with this lengthy, overly drawn out series. Onto better books.


The Awakening (Vampire Diaries, Bk 1)
The Awakening (Vampire Diaries, Bk 1)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 1/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I admittedly only read the first 2 chapters of this book. I started watching the series on TV before I found out about the books. Let's just say the TV series is VERY loosely based on the books. After a few chapters of the details not matching up I gave up and lost interest.

If you haven't started the TV series, try the books first. I think I ruined any chance I had of enjoying this series. (Wish I could write a review without giving this one a star rating.)


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 485
Review Date: 3/30/2011


I haven't read too many by this author. I enjoyed this book. Great story line and a quick read. Really kept me on the edge of me seat the entire time. Was a little more violent and language-ridden that I prefer.


Beat the Reaper (Peter Brown, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 8/18/2011


This is an offensive book which was not finished due to the exceptional amount of BAD language.


A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Finch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 1/2/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Great read! Clean, profanity-free writing. A simple who-done-it kind of novel. I really enjoyed this authors simple style and likable characters. Looking forward to checking out more in this series.


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 7/26/2013


I am not much for thrillers, but this looked good. I really enjoyed the story line. Loved the way this story was told as a diary. Great surprise ending. Suspense at every turn. Kept me on my toes without being gory.


Before Sunrise
Before Sunrise
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 6/3/2011


I think this was the least romantic romance novel I have ever read. This is the first book I have read by Diana Palmer. The plot was great and the characters were likeable, but this was more like a novel with a little romance in it. So... a 5-star plot, but a 2-star ROMANCE novel. I like Tami Hoag better. :o)


Best Recipes from the Backs of Boxes, Bottles, Cans, and Jars
Best Recipes from the Backs of Boxes, Bottles, Cans, and Jars
Author: Ceil Dyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 3/28/2011
Helpful Score: 2


There are other versions of this book that might be better. This has no pictures and the recipes are all quite old. Some of the ingredients are not even available for purchase anymore. Many of the recipes are dated, some going back to early 1900's. Overall, the entire book contained maybe 5 recipes that I am willing to try (2 that I have actually made so far). If you are looking to purchase this book, you might want to try purchasing Ceil Dyer's latest version of it in hopes of finding some newer recipes.


Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 915
Review Date: 6/25/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book much better than book one (Marked). Liking this series much more than I thought I would. It's the type that stays with you even when you are not reading, making you want to get back to your book! Just started book 3 (Chosen).


Better Homes and Gardens New Baby Book : The Complete Guide to Pregnancy, Childbirth, and Baby Care Revised
Review Date: 2/28/2011


This book really wasn't much help after my first child. It was poorly organized.


Between Shades of Gray
Between Shades of Gray
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Don't let the title fool you!! This book begins in Lithuania in the 1940's and chronicles Stalins reign of terror during the 1940's and 1950's. This was an amazing book. This author did a wonderful job of writing history in a likable, readable fashion. I had no idea all the horrible things that happened during Stalin's reign. I knew Stalin was similar the Hitler in many ways, but I never knew the terror that some many people went through under his reign. This book was a real eye-opener. I feel like I learned something new, but I also really enjoyed reading this book. The Author's Note and interview in the back were also very interesting. Great read!


Beyond the Sacred Page (Book of Books, Bk 2)
Beyond the Sacred Page (Book of Books, Bk 2)
Author: Jack Cavanaugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is such a great book! I read it as part of a book club selection and really didn't think I'd enjoy it, but it was great and totally worth reading!


Birthmarked (Birthmarked, Bk 1)
Birthmarked (Birthmarked, Bk 1)
Author: Caragh M. O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/7/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book. Got sucked in really quickly and enjoyed the entire book. Has a "Hunger Games"/"Uglies" feel to it. I enjoy books that deal with the dystopian/utopian societies. This book did not disappoint. Looking forward to the next book!


Blood and Chocolate
Blood and Chocolate
Author: Annette Curtis Klause
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 3/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I've read quite a few vampire novels. I picked up this book wanting some kind of introduction to werewolf stories, however, I was not impressed. The was a lot more blood than chocolate... in fact, I can only recall chocolate being mentioned once so the title doesn't really make a lot of sense. The plot and writing style were very juvenile and un-researched. I realize this was a Young Adult/Teen book, but the whole thing was more pretend than realistic/believable.

The "b" word was used often, but usually in context as the word was meant to be used (although not always). The "f" word appeared a couple times as well, which surprised and disappointed me since this book was advertised for teens.

The story had a happy ending, but the book was kind of all over the place throughout and I have to say by the time I reached the last page, I still didn't feel like I was really involved in the book. It was a quick read (only 264 pgs), but I don't see myself reading any more of Miss Klause's books.


Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, Bk 4)
Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, Bk 4)
Author: Richelle Mead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 8/26/2011


Well written. I love how this author is able to write a closing/ending to each book, but still leave the plot open for the next one. I don't feel like I am left hanging after each book in the series. This series has grown on me and I am enjoying it. Be ready for some gore and violence in this one as Rose leaves for Russia to hunt Strigoi!! Pretty intense in spots!

As stated in my previous reviews of the first 3 books, this (in my opinion) should not be a YA series.

On a side note, I think I only caught 1 grammatical error so either this author changed editors or the ones she had got better! :o)


Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods, Bk 1)
Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods, Bk 1)
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 2/27/2011


Great Series. Looking forward to reading the other books in the series.


Blue Diary
Blue Diary
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 2/27/2011


This book makes you wonder how well you really know a person. Great read. Love Alice Hoffman, she never writes a disappointing book!


1 to 20 of 204 - Page: