Margaret T. (megt) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 178 - Page:
The 100 Most Important Bible Verses (100 Most Important Bible Verses)
Review Date: 7/27/2012


This book is a great way to get a little scripture into your day. It is filled with motivational scriptures that bring understanding to everyday situations. Makes a nice gift, or small coffee table book.


The 100 Most Important Bible Verses for Women (100 Most Important Bible Verses)
Review Date: 5/3/2011


This is a wonderful collection of verses for women, each with a modern little story and thoughtful devotional. Great little pocket size book, with each verses and story only being one to two pages long. Some of the verses were familiar, but it also led me to ones I had never really come across before. My daughter and I both enjoyed it.


The Alexander Cipher
The Alexander Cipher
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/10/2013


This book was okay; I liked the main story, and the originality of the overall plot. But as another review said the back story of the characters is very blah (because of the "co-mingling" of their fates - seriously, it's like a "red-neck" family feud set in Egypt). So TRUE! Honestly, if I had anything else in audio on my iPod at the time I might not have bothered to finish this one.


Review Date: 7/10/2011


This such a great tool for learning about the American Revolution! My 3rd grader loves the Tree House books and this one goes into such interesting detail, he didn't even know how much he was learning. It was a great introduction to American History.


And the Mountains Echoed (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/22/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Sad and beautiful. Not unlike his other novels, this one skillfully reflects the fate of Afghans in the last century. But the story is about individuals and how they relate to one another. The Taliban and the Russians are mentioned but only as a part of the setting. And since the story takes place in four different countries, we see a vast array of settings that help give more richness to the story. While the narrators where very good, I felt the audio sometimes made difficult to follow and keep the character straight.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 819
Review Date: 5/30/2012


I was late to the party of reading this book, but I am so glad I did get around to it. This is and Outstanding Novel of Friendship and Its Importance to Women. It is not chic lit but it is a fast and compelling read. I almost quit when I started and the characters seemed more my mom's age than my own, but there is something for everyone in the characters of this book. And who doesnt love a book with a "book club" theme?


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 5/1/2013


Beautifully written, wonderful story, heartfelt, kept me interested. If you read and enjoyed "The Kindness of Strangers" try this book.  


Are You There God?  It's Me, Margaret
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 4/2/2011


The first time I read this I was 8, a little young, and it lead me to ask my quite shy father a question - which made him mumble - "go ask your mother". I just reread it on a whim, and I still loved it, it was very interesting to read now that I am a mother. I came away with something completely different from it this time. A timeless, great coming of age book.


Ask Again Later
Ask Again Later
Author: Jill A. Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 7/25/2016


This bore me, I read 50 pages then skipped to see how it ended.


The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb
The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/25/2013


I enjoyed this at first, but was barely able to finish it. It just seemed like a really long travel journal, and the last quarter of the book was just dreary.


Beach Blanket Bad Boys
Beach Blanket Bad Boys
Author: Jill Shalvis, Lucy Monroe, Alison Kent, Linda Lael Miller, Susanna Carr, Morgan Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 6/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Great summer time reading by the pool, six quick sexy stories, easy read - fun.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 324
Review Date: 4/10/2012
Helpful Score: 2


In the readers guide in the back of the book the author says You wont have your parents around forever, or your children but a good friend can be forever. I had forgotten how much I enjoy reading Weiner. I used to read her books many years ago but I have moved away from chic lit and hadnt read anything of her recently. But this book was very entertaining. It made me laugh and made me cry. I will share this with my best friend from childhood.


Bossypants
Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 1/25/2013


I dont usually read biographies and while I enjoy Tina Feys work, I wouldnt say I was a huge fan. But I am so glad a came across this book! It was hilarious! And as a woman around her age, so many parts rang true to me. I will share this book with my husband, daughter, book club and anyone who ask. It was just a great read. Now I am off to watch some 30 Rock on demand.


Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 5/29/2012


Another great book by Chamberlain. I believe this is my favorite of hers that I have read yet. Chamberlain is one of the best there is at writing of difficult relationships.


The Bright Forever
The Bright Forever
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 4/11/2013


As others have said, this book really hooked me and kept me reading. The tension in this novel starts on the first page and never lets up. The characters are captivating, each has his or her own perspective on life, love and the kidnapping - especially love. There is a dark side to each of their perceptions of love, how they express it and how they act it out. Simply, a good, well written story, that makes you "feel".


Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/7/2014


Good book, fun fast read, nice story with interesting characters. Dorothea Benton Frank never disappoints me.


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/29/2011


I read this for a book club, and it was a fast read and it did keep me interested. I enjoyed the information about the Mormon community, I read that the author has good friends that are Mormon, and she lived with them awhile before writing this book. The authors style is much like Jodi Picoult. I will say that a few times I found the dialog confusing, but overall, I enjoyed it because of the lessons it teaches about forgiveness and how each of us has may have to take a different path to find redemption and to be willing to forgive others.


Caleb's Crossing
Caleb's Crossing
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 5/20/2013


I love her books but did not enjoy this one, and I was unable to finish it.


The Carrie Diaries
The Carrie Diaries
Author: Candace Bushnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 9/14/2010


I did not plan to read this book. I am a big SITC fan but the reviews here were mostly bad and I didnt really want to read another Young Adult book. But when I saw it used I picked it up and I planned to just read the first and last few chapters and then post it here. Well, I read a few pages, the backed up a few more chapters, then a few more, then I went ahead and started at the beginning. It was cute enough in a YA way, I enjoyed it. I could picture Sarah Jessica Parker as this teenager so easily, (but then I remember Square Pegs - do I date myself???). Anyway maybe my expectations were low - but I enjoyed this book.


Cell  (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Cell (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Stephen King, Campbell Scott (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 7/5/2013


I used to love King's books but I hadnt read any in awhile, despite having a few on my TBR. So this summer I put a few audio on my phone and decided to tackle them that way. Cell was a disappointment. It only kept my interest marginally but I hung in there expecting a rewarding finish, I did not get my reward. ***Spoiler the ending reminded me of Thinner, but that was a much better book. I dont know if I will do King again any time soon..


1 to 20 of 178 - Page: