Laura B. (Books) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
The All of It
The All of It
Author: Jeannette Haien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/27/2011


This book will draw you into its quirky story. A warm, fuzzy read.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 9/24/2005


Breaks your heart but what a great book!


ANTHEM
ANTHEM
Author: AYN RAND
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/29/2006


A short little gem by Ayn Rand. If you like her, you'll love it.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 3/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Your heart will break for the characters. I picked up lots of info on the Jewish faith. This is a good one.


The Best of Friends
The Best of Friends
Author: Joanna Trollope
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/11/2006


First one i've read from her. I got very caught up with the characters in this great story. Makes me want to read her other novels.


The Book of Famous Iowans: A Novel
The Book of Famous Iowans: A Novel
Author: Douglas Bauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/2/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Weird title - GREAT book. I loved this story of a boy and his life - it was so well written, you feel as tho you're right there, going thru every emotion of the characters. Highly recommend!


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 585
Review Date: 11/25/2005


Couldn't put this one down!


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1037
Review Date: 1/29/2011


A good read, but I just didn't think it was up to all the hype I had read about it.


Brat Farrar (aka Come and Kill Me)
Brat Farrar (aka Come and Kill Me)
Author: Josephine Tey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/20/2011


A wonderfully laid-back British mystery story by an author i'd never heard of. Recommended on the Bas Bleu web site and well-deserved. I highly recommend!


Buddenbrooks : The Decline of a Family (Vintage International)
Buddenbrooks : The Decline of a Family (Vintage International)
Author: Thomas Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/1/2012


I was SO looking forward to this book, as I love to read family sagas, but i was disappointed to find myself slogging through it and ultimately couldn't finish it. I couldn't keep an interest in the characters and found the pace of the story incredibly slow.


A Christmas Carol
A Christmas Carol
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/30/2011


After all the years of watching the move, it was wonderful to read the book. Amazing how closely the movie follows the book. Totally enjoyed it and I think you will too! This book has extras: annotations to interpret some of Dicken's words for the reader, an Appendix of his letters and a report from 1842 on child labor in England. This edition is very "keepable".


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 9/24/2005


One of my most favorite books


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/11/2006


Hands down one of my absolute favorites. This story of a boy and his family - most especially his grandpa - is unforgettable.


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/11/2006


My 2nd copy of one of my favorites! A touching story of the relationship of a boy with his family - espec. his grandpa. I recommend this book to every book lover I know.


Coldwater
Coldwater
Author: Mardi Mcconnochie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/4/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Author makes up an imaginary life of the Bronte sisters:living with their father on an island housing a prison. She spins a wonderful, dramatic story. Highly recommend!!


Complete Guide to Full-Time Rving: Life on the Open Road
Complete Guide to Full-Time Rving: Life on the Open Road
Author: Bill Moeller, Jan Moeller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


We were dreaming of full-time RVing. This book is great - covers everything and then some!


The Day of the Storm
The Day of the Storm
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 11/28/2005


Another fabulous Pilcher book. I can't get enough of her...


The Dearly Departed
The Dearly Departed
Author: Elinor Lipman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/10/2006


I just loved this book. Lipman writes SUCH a great story. You'll laugh at and love the characters.


The Dive from Clausen's Pier
The Dive from Clausen's Pier
Author: Ann Packer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 506
Review Date: 2/18/2006


One of those "can't put it down" books. LOVED it! You'll get totally caught up in the characters...


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1501
Review Date: 3/31/2006


You just can't not love this book. It's a classic...


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: