Lauren W. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 2/6/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A short, yet deep, little book about following your dreams, a very good choice for book club discussions.


Babes in Captivity
Babes in Captivity
Author: Pamela Redmond Satran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 2/6/2006


A light and funny look at the the lives of women, interesting characters dealing with middle age issues.


The Bad Daughter : Betrayal and Confession
The Bad Daughter : Betrayal and Confession
Author: Julie Hilden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


interesting look at some difficult, and maybe taboo, choices we make.


Chicken Soup for the Kid's Soul: 101 Stories of Courage, Hope and Laughter
Review Date: 2/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


inspiring, easy to read, little stories to help kids deal with life's problems, i used it in my work with students.


The Courage to Give: Inspiring Stories of People Who Triumphed over Tragedy to Make a Difference in the World
Review Date: 2/6/2006


A very inspiring collection of stories about people who overcame great odds, it will make you think differently about how you handle challenges in your own life.


The Directory of Summer Jobs Abroad: 1999
The Directory of Summer Jobs Abroad: 1999
Author: David Woodworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/13/2006


tons of information for those looking to work or travel abroad, a great resource!!


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


interesting look into african life through the eyes of a white child looking back on her own life. i learned alot and also enjoyed the author's humor and good stroytelling skills.


Eating Chinese Food Naked
Eating Chinese Food Naked
Author: Mei Ng
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/12/2006


very interesting, great chracaters and a glimpse of the 20 something's life and struggles.


The Freedom from Depression Workbook (Minirth Meier New Life Clinic Series)
Review Date: 2/12/2006
Helpful Score: 3


very user friendly and helpful for those struggling with depression or those who work to help others.


The Good People of New York
The Good People of New York
Author: Thisbe Nissen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/12/2006


interesting look at growing up, realtionships, living in the city, etc...


Review Date: 6/17/2006


informative and interesting guide.


Happy Birthday
Happy Birthday
Author: Sue Zipkin
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 8/20/2006


cute little book with words of wisdom and inspirational quotes. would make a nice little gift!


Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress: Tales of Growing Up Groovy and Clueless
Review Date: 2/13/2006


funny, well-written, a great story!


I Raise My Eyes to Say Yes
I Raise My Eyes to Say Yes
Author: Ruth Sienkiewicz-Mercer, Steven B. Kaplan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/11/2006


very touching and well written


Jemima J
Jemima J
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1078
Review Date: 2/6/2006


great chick lit, very funny!


Kaaterskill Falls
Kaaterskill Falls
Author: Allegra Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/19/2006


a bit slow moving, but very descriptive characters and great writing.


Life's Little Instruction Book
Life's Little Instruction Book
Author: H. Jackson Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 2/12/2006


a great gift or book to share!


The Matzo Ball Heiress (Red Dress Ink)
The Matzo Ball Heiress (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Laurie Gwen Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 2/6/2006


Very cute, clever and humorous! A great book for the beach or to chat about with your best girlfriends!


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4023
Review Date: 4/2/2006


led to interesting discussions at my book club, good characters and a controversial topic.


Paper Daughter: A Memoir
Paper Daughter: A Memoir
Author: M. Elaine Mar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/11/2006


interesting memior and look at life through the eyes of a young immigrant.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: