Cindy H. (Cindy84) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 119 - Page:
The ABC's of Kissing Boys
The ABC's of Kissing Boys
Author: Tina Ferraro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/19/2009


My Thoughts: We are introduced to Parker who loves soccer and revolves her life around soccer. She is upset she doesn't make varsity so she hatches a plan to get kissed at the kissing booth by last years most hottest popular guy who is now in college. He is also her brother's best friend. Yes, they both are in on it. We are than introduced to Tristan. He is Parker's next door neighbor and is two years younger gradewise than Parker. He's been to camp and knows how to kiss so he offers his service to Parker. He starts to teach her all the different kisses. She soon realizes there might be more to him than she thought since she originally thought he wasn't cool enough to be in her crowd. FYI: Her crowd is the popular girls. Of course Tristan also uses his new found popularity to meet other girls. He figures he should get something out of his lessons. I really liked this book. I devoured it in one sitting. I loved Parker and Tristan together. I loved the way he was teaching her how to kiss and all the different techniques he knows. I loved the references in this book and I loved the feelings that slowly started to develop between them. I didn't like most of Parker's friends. In reality, they were snobs and I would have liked her to stay away from them and realize from the get go they weren't worth her time. I loved this book. If you want to know what happens to Parker, pick this book up now!

Overall: Loved it! I even love the title of this one! Its a fun quick read that will make you smile and want to learn more about Tristan's kissing techniques!


After
After
Author: Amy Efaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 12/29/2009


Taken From My Blog:

My Thoughts: I didn't know what to expect as I dove headfirst into this. The book opens up as Amy is sitting on the couch, her mom comes home, and within minutes the police are there taking Amy away. We learn that she has done the biggest trauma of her life and gave childbirth and threw the baby in the trash. I couldn't imagine what Amy was thinking, she was scared and didn't know what else to do, I think at this age, it would be a horrifying thing to go through and not being able to tell anyone you are even pregnant, would be horrible. I liked how we got to learn how Amy had to go through this circumstance. I especially liked hearing about what her stay in the juvenile center was like. I liked the details of how she had to experience everything. Towards the end, I just wanted the best for Amy. I know she made a mistake, but I didn't want to see her spend the rest of her life in prison, because she seemed like a nice girl (good grades, never got into trouble) and she was being sentenced for the biggest mistake of her life. I felt like the author did go into a lot of detail when I just wanted to know what was going to happen to Amy and I wanted to know NOW. haha. She was a scared teenage girl. I usually don't read books like this, I tend to gravitate more towards Paranormal and Romance but every once in a while its nice to get outside the comfort zone. I won't say much else or I'll give away too many spoilers. Read the book to find out what happens to Amy.

Overall: It started out good, I could have done without some of the law facts (I'm a Criminal Justice major so I know most of them anyways). But overall, it was hard reading about Amy because I felt sorry for her, and only wanted her to be safe.


All Unquiet Things
All Unquiet Things
Author: Anna Jarzab
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/13/2010


My Thoughts: We meet Neily who used to be Carly's boyfriend before she dumped him for someone else. He isn't like everyone else, he's kind of a loner and is just "there." We meet Audrey who was Carly's cousin and her dad is the one who was convicted of Carly's murder. We are introduced to Carly in memories of Neily's and Audrey's. We meet all the side characters such as the classmates and Carly's recent boyfriend. Honestly, I didn't like this one as much as I wanted too. I had high expectations. Yes, it was good, but it just wasn't what I expected. There also was not much romance in it. It is clearly a murder mystery as you can tell from the description. Its worth a read and is long and I just felt like I couldn't connect to the characters as much as I would have liked. The ending was the best part, where we found out the person who actually killed Carly. I didn't really see that coming. It was still a good book, just not up to my 5 cupcake rating. It it still worth a read, especially if your more into mystery books than anything else.

Overall: I liked it. I liked Neily a lot more than Carly and Audrey or the side characters.

Cover: Like the cover. It fits the book.


Amy & Roger's Epic Detour
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/25/2010


Taken from my blog: princessbookie.com

My Thoughts: We are introduced to Amy. Shy reluctant Amy who has been through such a tragedy. She lost her father and still had a hard time adjusting. I also lost my dad so I can relate to exactly what she was feeling. She was lonely, never really being able to talk to her mom or brother about it. Everyone kept their feelings bottled up. Like things couldn't get any worst, Amy's mom pairs her up with an old friend, Roger. They haven't seen each other in years and she barely remembers him. Her family is showing the house so Amy must go meet up with her mom in another state. Roger shows up and Amy takes off with him to embark on a road trip. Things are uncomfortable at first. I mean, think about it, spending 4 days in a car with a boy you barely know! They slowly start to talk and he tells her about his ex girlfriend who broke up with him and how he didn't even see it coming! Amy starts to open up with him. I really liked how they could stay in a motel together, sleep in the same bed, but they were so tired they barely made it to the bed before they fell asleep. I liked how they faced each other when they fell asleep. Roger was such a sweetheart and I really liked him. Amy was a nice girl who just had a case of bad luck. This story was so much fun. I loved the journal she wrote on, the notes scribbled in her handwriting, and the play-lists Roger made. Most of the book I spend wondering, when are you two going to look at one another and really see each other! They had great chemistry as friends. This was a wonderful story about finding yourself and taking the next step in curing your fears, with a little romance mixed in.

Overall: Loved It! Despite it being over 300 pages I finished it in one sitting! Great book!

Cover: I really like it. I am always drawn to covers where the guy and girl are holding hands. There is just something so sweet about it.


Audrey, Wait!
Audrey, Wait!
Author: Robin Benway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/29/2009


My Thoughts: Audrey, Wait! is an amazing book! Its one of the best books I've read this year! I just loved it from start to finish! I usually don't rate books this high because either 1. They just aren't that great. 2. Because they don't seem to compare to my obsession of how good The Twilight Saga or Harry Potter was. I do enjoy books but I don't love love love them! This one was one I actually loved. I loved Audrey, and I loved James. I even loved to hate Evan! I don't know why I waited so long to read this. It stayed on my wishlist for a while, than once I got it it went on the bookshelf until a few weeks ago. This book had it all. Humor, belonging, and a sense of excitement. Have you ever dated a boy in a band? I have and I've been there before! I totally understood Audrey!!! Go out and rend this book, like now! Are you at the bookstore yet?

Overall: GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT, thats really all there is too it!


Beautiful
Beautiful
Author: Amy Reed
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/4/2009


My Thoughts: I started reading this one and had it finished within a few days. We meet Cassie who is just trying to find her place in the world. She was always the goody good girl and never did anything wrong. That all changes though when she meets a few new friends. She starts doing drugs and having sex and just overall not caring about anything or maybe she cares too much and just lets it all go. I especially liked her friends sister which ends up surprising me what Cassie goes through with her. This book was a very raw look into a teenagers life and what it can be like. Cassie reminded me a lot of a friend I had in high school and how things could go one way for a teen or the other. Things like this really do happen though and I feel sorry for the teens who have to be confused like this and have to worry about where their next meal will come from. A devastating heart-wrenching novel of friendship and what a person will do to be liked.

Overall: Liked this one! Amy Reed knows how to tell a realistic story of what its like to be a teen in today's world and what is possible to happen to girls everyday.


Before I Fall
Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 11/20/2009


My Thoughts: I have never read a book quite like this one! We meet Samantha Kingston who is the ideal girl, popular, has the "cool" friends, the "coolest" boyfriend, the perfect life. Until one day her world all comes crashing down! She gets in a car accident, hears the screeching of the tires, and wam she is back in her bed reliving the day over and over!!! This novel reminds me a little bit of the movie Groundhog Day but also has a lot of differences. This novel is very original. I like the lessons she learns throughout reliving the day over and over again. She has a chance to have fun and not worry about what will happen tomorrow. She has choices to make. She can either do the wrong thing or correct the mistakes she made. She is given her second chance over and over again. I especially liked Kent. I didn't really like her boyfriend but Kent (her guy friend) I definitely liked. I would have liked to see Kent a little bit more, but he is in chapters throughout the book. This novel is one of a kind and you should definitely read it if you get a chance.

Overall: I really loved this one. It is truly an inspiration and interesting novel. If you had the chance, one day to relive, and do anything you wanted, change the wrongs you made, what would you do? Who would you kiss? Who would you talk too? Would you change today?


Bite Me!
Bite Me!
Author: Melissa Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


My Thoughts: Whoa. This book was amazing. I love a good vampire story and lately have been left longing for a really good one. This book was that. I loved Bite Me. It started off with AJ's mom marrying Ryan's Dad making Ryan her stepbrother. Of course AJ is totally in love with this boy so that puts a damper on things. she starts doing research on her family history and it leds to some amazing discoveries. Later in the story we find out Ryan's family history which fits really well into AJ's family. This book was a really good one and I really enjoyed reading it. It does not dissapoint at all! Its detailed and explains alot. And the characters of AJ and Ryan make the story magical!!!!

Overall: I loved this book! It was really great and I will reread it! Great Great Great novel!


Bloodline (Wings in the Night, Bk 16)
Bloodline (Wings in the Night, Bk 16)
Author: Maggie Shayne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 5/11/2009


Lilith awakens cold, naked and alone, knowing nothingnot even who she isexcept that she has to run, run for her lifebecause someone is after her.

When Ethan discovers the terrified woman hiding on his ranch, he knows immediately not only who she is, but what. He's never forgotten her, not in all the time since he escaped their joint prison, a clandestine CIA facility where humans are bred into vampires willing to kill on command. He refused to accept that fate, and since he won his freedom he's become a legend to those he left behind. With her own escape, Lilith has become a legend, too, and nowtogetherthey have no choice but to fight those who would become a legend by killing one.


Bloom
Bloom
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/29/2009


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved! So Sweet!!!, October 18, 2009


My Thoughts: This is my second Elizabeth Scott book. I will be reading more from her! I heart her! I particularly enjoyed this book and didn't want it to end. As I flipped the pages and got closer to the end, it left me sad. I enjoyed it a lot! I love that Lauren runs into Evan after so many years and they have an instant connection. Not so much as brother and sister (their parents were dating) but more like a connection into their souls. I loved watching the chemistry between them and the way their friendship blossomed. Yes, I should bring up her celibate boyfriend but I'll let you read about him, I didn't find him that fascinating to be honest. I especially liked the part where Lauren's dad did not remember Evan. I think that could really happen in real life. The more time goes on, the more we forget and forget what is really important. I loved the characters in this book, the setting, the chemistry, and especially all the relationships.

Overall: Wonderful. Love the writing style, love Lauren and Evan! Loved everything about this book!!!


The Boyfriend League
The Boyfriend League
Author: Rachel Hawthorne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book! It says its for young adults, but I am in my mid 20's and I really liked it. We've all had that boy we weren't supposed to fall for but it just happens! The one you think you'd never be good enough for! This book is a must read for anyone who enjoys romance!


Boys, Girls and Other Hazardous Materials
Boys, Girls and Other Hazardous Materials
Author: Rosalind Wiseman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/13/2010


My Thoughts: This is the first book by Rosalind Wiseman that I have read. I've heard both good and bad on this one. I really did enjoy it though. Yes, a little bit of it was predictable but I still enjoyed reading it. We meet Charlie who just transferred to a new school and does not know anyone. She makes a friend fast and on that same day also runs into her old friend Will. She has not seen him in 3 years! He moved away and now he is back at her new school. He is A LOT hotter than she remembers...more My Thoughts: This is the first book by Rosalind Wiseman that I have read. I've heard both good and bad on this one. I really did enjoy it though. Yes, a little bit of it was predictable but I still enjoyed reading it. We meet Charlie who just transferred to a new school and does not know anyone. She makes a friend fast and on that same day also runs into her old friend Will. She has not seen him in 3 years! He moved away and now he is back at her new school. He is A LOT hotter than she remembers but she starts to like another guy but also feels drawn to Will. He is a varsity player now and involved in a lot of hazing rituals. Charlie is thrown into a world of secrets and she doesn't know what to do. She doesn't want to hurt Will but she also wants to tell the truth. What happens to Charlie? What happens between Charlie and Will? Read the book to find out.

Overall: I really loved this one. Its a quick fun read and is a rather light book to read. I could relate to Charlie and Will and how they had developed feelings for each other. It was such a cute read.

Cover: Really like the cover. I really want to see their faces though. haha


Breathless
Breathless
Author: Lurlene McDaniel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/29/2009


My Thoughts: WOW! Another one of those books that leaves me at the end, with a what next? Who did it? My mouth literally dropped open. From start to finish this book was pretty awesome! I usually do not like where it switches between different people's thoughts, but this book, it actually worked!!! We meet Travis who is a diver. He is a athlete! We meet his sister, his girlfriend, and his best friend. This story is told from each of their perspectives. Do we have a choice on the way we want to die? Should it be our choice? Do we have a say in it? From start to finish, this book is amazing. Travis gets in accident and from there on we learn his story!

Overall: Great Book! One I'd recommend you read this year. Of course its also under 200 pages but definitely worth reading. I read it in one sitting which I usually can not do anymore. This book addresses a tough choice. And the last few pages will leave you with a what the heck just happened expression on your face!


Broken
Broken
Author: Megan Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 1/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Taken from my blog: www.princessbookie.com

My Thoughts: Wow, what can I say? I read a few erotica books every now and than, and don't write too many reviews on them. But this one, I just had too! We meet Sadie, who meets up with Joe every month. She met him one day on a bench and has met him there every month since for his stories. She has a husband at home who she loves but who is handicapped. We meet Joe who is a womanizer, who sleeps around with A LOT of women. You can tell from the get go that Sadie has feelings about Joe. I mean, she thinks about him A LOT. Joe tells her all his sex stories every month and Sadie goes home wishing it was her in that story. You can tell she is somewhat sexually frustrated but she never cheats on her husband with Joe physically. Of course a little part of me wanted to see Sadie end up with Joe. You can tell Joe has real feelings for her. Every month its the same thing, Joe telling Sadie stories. If you want to know what happens with Sadie, her husband, or Joe read the book to find out.

Overall: I really liked this one. Once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. It does have really graphic scenes in it but its not all about sex, some of it is romance. I liked Joe but I didn't really like his women ways. I liked Sadie a lot.You could tell how strong of a women she really is. Megan Hart knows how to write and I plan on reading more of her books!

Cover: The cover is cute. Not too graphic but just enough to make it interesting.


Charlie All Night
Charlie All Night
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 5/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first Jennifer Crusie novel! I liked it a lot. I will be trying some of her other books out. It was a fun light read!


The Comeback
The Comeback
Author: Marlene Perez
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/29/2009


My Thoughts: Sophie was.... at first I thought she seemed like a spoiled brat. She thinks she has to be popular. She really believes she has to be! I did not like her at the beginning of the book. I almost gave up because she started to annoy me, but I hate not finishing books so I read on. She wanted to be lead in the play and her life starts to crumble downwards a little at a time. I liked how she did change a little bit even though putting up pictures of Angie during fat camp was pretty mean. But I can definitely remember high school and some people are that mean. I did like that she changed a little bit but I really liked who she ended up with at the end of the book. That was my favorite part. I won't go into names so I don't spoil it for everyone else. It was a quick read for me and I'm glad I read it, just don't give up when you start. It does get better.

Overall: It was interesting to say the least. I've heard mixed reviews about this one and didn't know what to think. I'm happy the way things played out. Its also on the 4 for 3 ($8.99) deal on amazon right now!


Cracked Up to Be
Cracked Up to Be
Author: Courtney Summers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/29/2009


My Thoughts: This was a pretty quick easy read for me. I liked the character of Parker and the whole time I was wondering what exactly her secret was. Why was she acting like such a jerk to everyone even when people tried to be nice and help her out? Why did she go from being popular to this socially outcast person? It wasn't exactly what I was expecting which is good because it threw me for a loop and I don't like to know what is going to happen. I especially felt myself drawn to the character of Jake (does it help that my boyfriend's name is Jake, lol). He seemed like a really nice sweet caring guy and at first Parker was shutting his attempts at going on a date with her down, and I just wanted to them get together already. Overall, this was a good book, and worth reading. Courtney has another book coming out which is called Some Girls Are, so I will be reading that too! (reviewed by Princess Bookie)


Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, Bk 2)
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, Bk 2)
Author: Ally Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 11/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


My Thoughts: Another adventure from the Gallagher Girls! Cammie is back with her friends! I was a little bummed after the first book, when she couldn't be with Josh but now a bunch of boys are coming to the school and it will will no longer be a girl's school for the time being. Cammie meets Zach, one of the boys from the other school. She instantly tries to dislike him but theres definitely chemistry there! I instantly liked him! I love the adventures the girls go on, I loved the awkward moments when Cammie sees her ex Josh in town, I love the spy missions they need to get through. I love this whole series! I can't wait to read the third book! I really hope Zach is in the next book but I refuse to read any spoilers.

Overall: Loved Loved Loved it!


The Dark Divine
The Dark Divine
Author: Bree Despain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/18/2010


Taken from princessbookie.com


My Thoughts: So I've been preaching on twitter about finding a book thats just as good as Shiver or the Twilight Saga. I love this. I was referred The Dark Divine a few times so I finally sat down to read it. It was a longer book, almost 400 pages and I didn't put it down longer than 5 minutes at a time. I read this book in one night! We meet Grace Divine and her family. Most importantly, her brother Jude. I liked Jude, but I just didn't connect with him very much. We also meet Grace's other family members, the boy Pete who liked her, her best friend April, etc. Most importantly we meet Daniel. Daniel is the boy who grew up with Grace's family but disappeared suddenly a few years ago. He's back, but why? Daniel is irresistible and Grace feels that connection to him once again. She had a crush on him as a girl and now that he's all grown up, she still feels drawn to him. Daniel has a lot of secrets that begin to unwind throughout the story. Jude resents him, and tries to make Grace stay away from him but she doesn't understand why. She wants to know all the details about what happened and why he left. She also wants to know why Jude wants him gone so bad. Daniel's past finally starts to catch up to him and Grace realizes she must do an undesirable task to keep him. I won't say much else. You just need to read the story. I was hooked within a few pages in, especially when Daniel is teasing Grace and tells her to kiss him! I melted right there. I could feel like I was really part of the story and I wanted to be Grace so bad. I loved this book with a passion. I didn't want the story to end. There wasn't a huge cliffhanger at the end but I hear there might be a sequel. I will definitely be reading that if so.

Overall: I loved it. Sometimes I wonder, if there should be a batch of cupcake that has more than 5 cupcakes that mean the book took my breath away that it deserves more than 5 cupcakes. hehe.

Cover: Its really pretty and I love the color of her toenails!


Date Me, Baby, One More Time (Immortally Sexy, Bk 1)
Date Me, Baby, One More Time (Immortally Sexy, Bk 1)
Author: Stephanie Rowe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 4/11/2009


I read this book in a few days. It was an amazing book, very good and funny.


1 to 20 of 119 - Page: