Barbara B. (babblboom) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The 5 Ws: Why? : An Omnium-Gatherum of World Wars  World Series, Oyez  Oy Vey!, Superstitions  Psychoses, How Velcro Sticks  Teflon Slips  Other of Life's Wherefores
Review Date: 7/2/2010


This is the best little book. Actually there is a whole set Each book is titled with the reporters mantra WHO WHAT WHEN WHERE WHY... I Have all 5 books . They are full of trivia interesting facts and obscure information. So if you like a quick read , or a book to keep by your bedside or bathroom(lol) this is it. each little section answers the question why. It wont take long to read and you will come away smarter.. Enjoy!!!


The Children's Blizzard
The Children's Blizzard
Author: David Laskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/25/2016


I loved this book. although it was filled with details of weather and weather predicting at the time, the story was captivating. It was sad how these children fought to stay alive. But if you like truth about our nation's history . this is a story for you . You wont forget it


Close To Shore : A True Story of Terror in An Age of Innocence
Close To Shore : A True Story of Terror in An Age of Innocence
Author: Michael Capuzzo
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/9/2015


This was an interesting book, as it provided all kinds of history about the people and the times. . A lot of details but good infpormation


Hot!: 150 Fiery and Spicy Recipes for Cooking with Chilies, Peppercorns, Mustard, Horseradish, and Ginger
Review Date: 6/14/2010


I love this book. I am reading it like a novel and have not tried any of the recipes as of yet. This book has some of the most unusual recipes with the oddest ingredients I have ever seen. It is a beautifiul book and looks good on my shelf. I will be trying some of the recipes I have selected soon. I would recommend this book to all cooks and especially mexican foos lovers. This is the real deal .


The Kids' Book of Questions
The Kids' Book of Questions
Author: Gregory Stock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/16/2010


Good fun for kids. I had an adult one that my grandchildren just loved. This one os more age appropriate for teens and kids. It can be used on long trips in the car. Kids can use it with each other . But the best is if you share it with the kidas you find you are actually TALKING and finding out what they think . This book is great , I would recommend it to families .You can even use it as a party game have fun.


Plush-o-Rama: Curious Creatures for Immature Adults
Plush-o-Rama: Curious Creatures for Immature Adults
Author: Linda Kopp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/3/2015


The little monsters are great and rally cute.. god instructions and fun to make enjoy


Quick Escapes from Chicago: 25 Weekend Trips from the Windy City (2nd ed)
Review Date: 3/30/2010


Exellent quick read with lots of information about quick trips from Chicago. I AM KEEPING IT ON HAND SO WHEN MY KIDS (OLDER) say whay can we do this weekend I am prepared. A good reference book.


Santa Speaks: The Wit and Wisdom of Santas Across the Nation
Santa Speaks: The Wit and Wisdom of Santas Across the Nation
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/27/2010


This was a beautiful little book. The pictures were beautiful and the sayings heartfelt. I am going to keep this book and put it out every Christmas for my guests and family to read.


Secret Lives of the U.S. Presidents: What Your Teachers Never Told You about the Men of the White House
Review Date: 6/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


its always fun to learn things you did not know. This book is great. it is easy to read and tells you alot about our past and current presidents. It is just fun to learn new things . it makes these people in history seem real.. There is also a book Secret Lives of First Ladies.. I read it in conjunction with the presidents. They were great


This is the Siamese Cat
This is the Siamese Cat
Author: Marge Naples
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/5/2010


this seems to be an older book .but it so much information about siamese cats that you will not need another book. It tells all about the cats personality as well as health and having kittens , It is a great book. I actually got it for my aunt but I read it first , not cover to cover , biut many chapters outof curiosity and I found it to be very interesting and informative and I dont own cats . You will like the good information in this book.


1 to 10 of 10