Kathy J. (KathyJ) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 61 - Page:
Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 4/6/2007


I always enjoy these books as a light read. The recipes sound so good! This one has strawberry pie and enchilada pie. I intend to try both!


Durgin-Park Cookbook : Classic Yankee Cooking in the Shadow of Faneuil Hall (Roadfood Cookbook)
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very interesting cookbook, not only does it give 150 or so
recipes, but it also gives you an inside look at the restaurant
itself. Throughout the book are interspersed short little articles.
Some about the history of the restaurant 4 owners-3 families since
1827. Some about it's historical location - "stands in the shadow of
the Faneuil Hall" where Samuel Adams and other Boston patriots met
and "fanned the flames of revolution". It's also close to the
Freedom Trail a historic walking tour of sixteen sites that tell
how the United States began. Other articles describe the portion
size (large!) and why your waitress may be a bit curt. One thing
they have that you don't usually see on-site of a restaurant is an in-
house laundry for their tablecloths. The restaurant descriptions make
you want to go to Boston just to experience Durgin-Park.

Everything served at the restaurant is made from scratch daily. The
current chef (as of 2002), Tommy Ryan, still buys "swinging beef" and
cuts his own steaks and chops. They also grind their own hamburger.
The strawberries are always fresh no matter the cost, even in the
middle of winter for their Strawberry Shortcake Pudding.

This cookbook is filled with the traditional East Coast Yankee fare
including Boston Brown Bread, Rice Pudding, Indian Pudding, Coffee
Jell-O (conceived by a previous frugal owner), Boston Cream Pie,
Yankee Pot Roast, Lobster Newburg, and Macaroni and Cheese.

Each recipe gives the number of servings. Prior to each recipe is a
short paragraph about the dish, some I have to wonder if the
restaurant actually serves as they give three recipes for Baked Bean
Soup. I found the recipes overall to be easy to follow at least
they sound like they would be. One obvious mistake I found was in the
Fish Cake recipe among other ingredients, it calls for 2 pounds of
fresh cod and 2 pounds of fresh Pollock, but yet they say the recipe
only makes 2-3 oz fish cakes.


Fairways: Inspiration for the Golf Enthusiast
Fairways: Inspiration for the Golf Enthusiast
Author: Ken Abraham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/8/2007


easy-to-read devotions highlight 60 intriguing similarities between the grand old sport and your daily walk with God.


Farm Journal's Cream of the Crop Cookbook
Farm Journal's Cream of the Crop Cookbook
Author: Karen Freiberg, RD M.J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The managing editor of Farm Journal magazine, Karen Freiberg, and
registered dietition, M.J. Smith, took 300 classic recipes and
skimmed the fat off them, included exchange counts, and also gave
each recipe a nutritional analysis for both ways - fat and low-fat.
Now, normally once a book says no fat or low fat I stop right there.
But in this one, they have kept the original recipe and then given
you ideas on how to make it lower fat. NICE! Thank you for keeping
the original recipe!!!

They also make it easy to read by listing only one recipe per page.
Contents include your normal chapter titles: Appetizers, Snacks and
Beverages; Breads; Desserts; Eggs, Cheese and Legumes; Fish and
Shellfish; Pasta, Rice and Grains; Poultry; Preserved Foods; Red
Meat; Salads; Soups, Stews and Sandwiches; and Vegetables.


Fresh & Fast : Inspired Cooking for Every Season and Every Day
Fresh & Fast : Inspired Cooking for Every Season and Every Day
Author: Marie Simmons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/31/2011


I really like this cookbook. I've made three recipes so far (Famous Lemon and Basil Chicken, Rice with Broccoli and Parmesan, and Warm Green Beans and Red Potatoes with Basil Vinaigrette) Only one change and that would be less vinegar in the basil vinaigrette - probably more of a personal taste issue. I have at least 40 more recipes marked to try.
Recipes are easy to read with most printed on the same page or on the next facing page. Though not organized by season, fresh ingredients are promoted. Table of Contents: Appetizers, Soups, Sandwiches, Pasta, Poultry and Other Meats, Seafood, Grains and Beans, Salads, Vegetables, and Desserts. Desserts are all fruit-based, though there is one chocolate pudding.
At first glance, recipes may seem simple and ordinary, but they have a bit of a twist to them. They are simple. The three I've made would serve family or company. All were well-liked by my family.


The Frugal Gourmet Cooks Three Ancient Cuisines
The Frugal Gourmet Cooks Three Ancient Cuisines
Author: Jeff Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/22/2007


over 400 recipes from China, Greece, and Rome - the cultures that most influenced Western cooking.


Healthy Meals for Less: Great-Tasting Simple Recipes Under $1 a Serving
Review Date: 3/25/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Previously published in 2002 as "Miserly Meals". The recipes were purported to be under 75 cents per serving.

Few changes as far as recipes go.
Healthy Meals has two added recipes (Tortilla Soup and Lemon Artichoke Chicken) and is missing six recipes published in Miserly Meals (Banana Smoothie, Egg Pizza, Mock Pizza, French Bread, Layered Cookie Mix, and Lemon Cheesecake). I could've missed some.

Recipes look very doable and tasty. I plan on incorporating some into my menus.


The Heavens Before
The Heavens Before
Author: Kacy Barnett-Gramckow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/19/2007


very interesting account of the world before the flood came.


Here and Now
Here and Now
Author: Constance O'Day-Flannery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/3/2007


really enjoyed this book. first time I've read this author-apparently she's "the queen of time-travel".


The Hilton Bedside Book Vol. 7
The Hilton Bedside Book Vol. 7
Author: Hilton Hotels
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/8/2007


wide diversity of reading pleasure. You can play the role of detective on several vital cases, and test your own ideas on human physiology against the findings of experts Montagu and Darling. There's the vicarious thrill of helping a tenderfood fisherman try to land his first giant gamefish. And a nostalgic 1920's visit to America's most human humorist, Robert Benchley. You'll hear the wild cry of a prehistoric sea-monster, and the not so different sound of a steam locomotive in the reminiscences of a country boy's love affair with trains.


Kids Cook!: Fabulous Food for the Whole Family (Williamson Kids Can! Series)
Review Date: 4/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


written by a teenage brother and sister
recipes are very easy for kids to follow. over 150 recipes.


Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Author: Anthony Bourdain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/20/2007


very brutally honest look at life in restaurant kitchens. at least, in the author's life - which was quite sad, actually. I ended up feeling sorry for him. hopefully, he has learned a few things. namely, that sex, drugs and bad behavior doesn't make one happy. it was very enlightening, though, at the behind the scenes life. if this is how most kitchens are run, I would never make it in one. I would be in constant tears at the criticism.


Knitting
Knitting
Author: Anne Bartlett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


very "Real" book. grabs you when you don't realize it. can easily relate to the characters.


Life Goes On (Harmony, Bk 5)
Life Goes On (Harmony, Bk 5)
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


5th book in the Harmony series
I think I laughed the most with this one.
although it does make small town life appealing, even if everyone knows everyone and everything.


The Lonesome Gods
The Lonesome Gods
Author: Louis L'Amour
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/13/2007


excellent read-always love L'Amour. have probably read this at least three times!


Mable Hoffman's Complete Crockery Cookery
Mable Hoffman's Complete Crockery Cookery
Author: Mable Hoffman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/15/2008


I love using my slow cooker and coming home from work to a hot meal.
I know I'll be getting a lot of use out of this cookbook.
The queen of crockpots puts two of her best loved classic cookbooks,
Mable Hoffman's Crockery Cookery and Healthy Crockery Cookery,
together in one book.
Recipes are easy to read with the number of servings given for each
one. Some also include the nutritional analysis - I'm assuming these
are the recipes from Healthy Crockery Cookery.
Most recipes include a hint with it from as simple as "quick and
easy to put together" to suggestions of what to serve it over or
accompaniments.
Some recipes that I marked to try: Sorrento Potato & Cheese Packets,
Indonesian Pork, Moroccan-Style Pot Roast with Couscous, Minestrone
Soup, Cashew Chicken.and Golden Delicious Apples and Yam Scallop.


Mangoes and Quince : A Novel
Mangoes and Quince : A Novel
Author: Carol Field
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/24/2009


If there had been more of the cooking and the restaurant, I would have liked this book better. The first half I could've done without. The only thing worthwhile from that section is understanding a bit of the relationship between the father and daughter. Else it goes into detail of the deviant sexual practices of the father and his collection of statues that he left behind. Why that's even part of the book, I really have no idea.
It does have recipes in the back of the book that sound very good.


Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 609
Review Date: 3/26/2007


strange book....not sure I liked it.


Miserly Meals: Healthy, Tasty Recipes Under 75 Cents Per Serving
Miserly Meals: Healthy, Tasty Recipes Under 75 Cents Per Serving
Author: Jonni McCoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/25/2013


Re-published in 2009 as "Healthy Meals for Less". The recipes are now purported to be under $1.00 cents per serving.

Few changes as far as recipes go.
Healthy Meals has two added recipes (Tortilla Soup and Lemon Artichoke Chicken) and is missing six recipes published in Miserly Meals (Banana Smoothie, Egg Pizza, Mock Pizza, French Bread, Layered Cookie Mix, and Lemon Cheesecake). I could've missed some.


Must Love Dogs
Must Love Dogs
Author: Claire Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it! funny.


21 to 40 of 61 - Page: