Jim P. (telemanjim) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Channeling Biker Bob: Heart of a Warrior
Channeling Biker Bob: Heart of a Warrior
Author: Nik C. Colyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Cavemen get your clubs, Biker Bob wants you. Me likeum this book very much!!!


The Dark River (Fourth Realm, Bk 2)
The Dark River (Fourth Realm, Bk 2)
Author: John Twelve Hawks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Sequel to "The Traveler" --don't read this till you have read the first book as you will be totally lost. Book was not quite up to the level of the first but most sequels are not. Readers of this series should really check out John Twelve Hawks web site:http://www.randomhouse.com/features/johntwelvehawks/ as a lot of useful background information to the series is given. I now have to sit and wait for the third book, which I will eagerly read.


Heart-Shaped Box
Heart-Shaped Box
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 321
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book, combining rock in roll, muscle cars, hot women, and horror in a nice mix. Love the author's picture on the back insert with the "door"--creepy. (Could Stephen King be the ghost????)


Life's Golden Ticket: An Inspirational Novel
Life's Golden Ticket: An Inspirational Novel
Author: Brendon Burchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/28/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Book utilizes an imaginary circus as a metaphor for review of the main characters life and as a vehicle for change. All of the ride "attendents" are more like individual life coaches who each have a message for the central character. The book is meant to inspire not as a how too book which seems to be a little too abundant in recent times. Nice story, well written--inspires us to walk the tightrope and be willing to take the fall. Also pleasant is reoccurring theme of love.


Micah (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 13)
Micah (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 13)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 10/18/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I listened to this book on audioCD....good listen, well narriated. It definately opens up ones perception of what is normal sexuality. Of course all ot the Vampire Hunter series does this. My wife actually got me interested in reading this series, as I never would have found it on my own ( I am more of a blood and guts fiction or totally non-fiction kind of guy...or at least I thought I was). I recommend this entire series to all men, It could open up your relationship with your loved one...it sure has helped me.


One Yard Short: Turning Your Defeats into Victories
One Yard Short: Turning Your Defeats into Victories
Author: Les Steckel, Rob Suggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Is a great football book written by the former offensive cordinator of the Superbowl losing Titans, who coached on many other teams. However the book is more about how God has a plan for everyone and how when we accept that plan even greater things can be done. Steckel is the head of the FCA (fellowship of Christian Athletes). Steckels' autobiography is interesting in how he grows to the point where his sons state championship game (that Steckel was calling in the offensive plays for) was more important to him than any game he called in the nfl. An interesting book about what ones true priorieties are.


Staked (Void City, Bk 1)
Staked (Void City, Bk 1)
Author: J. F. Lewis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 12/7/2013


loved it


Storm Front  (Dresden Files, Bk 1)
Storm Front (Dresden Files, Bk 1)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1158
Review Date: 5/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Love the entire series....have read, re-read and listened to all of them. This is first book in a series that takes you into multiple new worlds, as you follow the development of a young wizard living in modern Chicago....running a detective agency with a twist...nuff said.


Why Men Don't Have a Clue and Women Always Need More Shoes : The Ultimate Guide to the Opposite Sex
Review Date: 2/6/2009
Helpful Score: 6


This is a hands on version of Mars and Venus. I liked it so much that I keep it in my bedroom to use a a reference book for my opposite half. It has certainly made arguments go a lot easier. And now when my wife comes home from work and starts talking for 30 minutes straight I know that she just needs to talk out an issue that is bugging her. She does not want me to tell her how to fix the problem, she just wants someone to listen to her. The age old issue of "honey which pair of shoes do you like best?" is answered (here is a hint...dont ever say the red one or the gold one--your wife has already made her decision....say oh the gold one goes really well with your bracelet and earrings, or the red ones really highlight your makeup...)

If you are a guy or girl who does not understand how the other sex thinks this is required reading, one of the best books I have ever read on the subject.


Why Men Don't Listen  Women Can't Read Maps: How We're Different and What to Do About It
Review Date: 2/6/2009


This book written in 2000 is good in its own right: issues of male/female differences with a basis in recent CT and MRI images of the the brain were groundbreaking at the time. However if you want the same book with more updated results read "Why Men Don't Have a Clue and Women Always Need More Shoes...the Ultimate Guide to the Opposite Sex" by the same writers (2004) (these titles make one wounder just what Madison Ave firm or think tank they used to come up with these catchy titles).

Anyway if you are interested in understanding how your partner thinks and why based on evolutionary theory....ie women are more talkative because as social animals living in packs this is how they successfully raised their young and survived, while men don't speak much because they needed to be very quiet while hunting savage beasts for the women to cook. All we presently are can be traced to our prehistoric roots. The book makes the case that a paradigm shift is occurring in male-female relationships and only by understanding how the opposite half works can we truly work together.

One note of caution. The issue of genetic developments explaining homosexuality, ie the x928 gene is presented. I had never heard this theory before, it seems plausible but why is there not more modern information out there on this??? My guess is this data is outdated or has been cast aside. However it is only a small part of the book which makes a lot of great suggestions in how couples can work together.


1 to 10 of 10