Shilo C. - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Better than Beauty: A Guide to Charm
Review Date: 10/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Not sure what I was hoping to discover from this book. One thing I did notice is that it is a reproduction of the original, that was originally published in 1938. That explains some of the phrases that are used. It gives a few tidbits for behavior and courtesies. It's an easy read, but can easily be put down.


Coffee, Tea or Me? The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses
Review Date: 6/18/2009


I read this book while flying from Texas to Seattle. It was interesting to experience current day air travel while reading about the old style of air flying when it was truly an experience. It's an easy read with small chapters. This is not the current edition, but the first and only edition, there are no updates regarding the authors, but a small preface from the editor.


Come On Down!: Behind the Big Doors at "The Price Is Right"
Come On Down!: Behind the Big Doors at "The Price Is Right"
Author: Stan Blits
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I like the Price is Right and until I read this book, I always wanted to get on the show. But it appears that just because you have free tickets, you still have to wait in line with 339 others. Who knew? This book is an interesting, behind the scene look at the longest running game show. This was written before Bob Barker retired. The author, Stan, is hilarious! I really like how funny he made the book. There are stories about contestants, the games, the Barker Beauties, and just how challenging it is to put on the show day after day.

Interesting read.


Dean and Me : (A Love Story)
Dean and Me : (A Love Story)
Author: Jerry Lewis, James Kaplan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/30/2009


Having been born in the early 70's, I completely missed the hey-day of Martin & Lewis. This book is Jerry Lewis' honest story of their 10 year working relationship and what went on afterward. Having no reason to disbelieve his tale, this was a very odd relationship and outgrew itself. I think it was very interesting and I enjoyed learning about that great comedic team.


Here's the Story: Surviving Marcia Brady and Finding My True Voice
Review Date: 3/4/2009
Helpful Score: 6


As I watched re-runs of The Brady Bunch in the late 70's, early 80's, poor Marcia was going through extreme drama. I was very surprised by the revelations in this autobiography. It is a wonder she survived all the madness in her life. This was a very interesting story and I enjoyed the book, it is well written.


High On Arrival: A Memoir
High On Arrival: A Memoir
Author: Mackenzie Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/2/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoyed this book and read it over a weekend. This book was an easy read, although the story is somewhat troubling. Phillips tells a very honest, yet clouded story of her life. She openly admits some memories are distorted by her extensive drug use. However, that doesn't take away from the experiences. When you read it, you wonder how she's even still alive.


The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death: Reflections on Revenge, Germophobia, and Laser Hair Removal
Review Date: 2/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first of Laurie Notaro's books that I have read. I was hoping I'd like it, since I'm a big fan of Jen Lancaster's style. I was not disappointed. I really liked it, and I even caught myself laughing out loud at times.

Her stories are hilarious, relate-able, and well written. She writes what we all experience, and makes it funny.


Jokes My Father Never Taught Me: Life, Love, and Loss with Richard Pryor
Review Date: 2/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book interesting. It's an easy read, with same chapters. The subject matter delves into what it was like for Rain, being bi-racial, bi-religious, and caught up in the drama of her parents. Considering one of them was Richard Pryor, you can imagine that the drama was just that...dramatic.

She survived, and has blossomed as well. I really enjoyed learning about her life and thought she told it well.


Lover of Unreason: Assia Wevill, Sylvia Plath's Rival and Ted Hughes' Doomed Love
Review Date: 4/3/2010


I really enjoyed this book more than I thought possible. I don't know much about Ted Hughes, but I had heard of him and Sylvia Plath's suicide. I think I was just more interested in hearing about the doomed love part, and this book did not disappoint.

The story tells of Assia Wevill's life from childhood and how she traversed countries and became such an exotic beauty, although her outside appearance was average. She had many experiences in life, but she was haunted till the end. Thanks to letters and interviews with family members and friends, her story lives on.

This is a very well written book, 227 pages. If you are a fan of poetry from this era, you will enjoy the book. If you enjoy a good love triangle with tortured souls, you'll enjoy it too.


Marlon Brando: Larger Than Life
Marlon Brando: Larger Than Life
Author: Nellie Bly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/16/2009


This book is interesting regarding the life of Marlon Brando, but it is poorly written. The author repeats things several times and goes back and forth. I enjoyed the subject matter, but not the writing. Plus this is an older book, so it ends before the death of his daughter, before his son is released from prison. It does give an indepth look at his early life and Hollywood life.


My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 735
Review Date: 7/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book made me laugh out loud. It's an easy read, with small chapters reflecting her adventures and conquests. I only wish it was longer, I enjoyed it that much.


Pimps, Hos, Playa Hatas, and All the Rest of My Hollywood Friends: My Life
Review Date: 7/11/2009


If you like John Leguizamo, you'll enjoy this book. It is a very interesting tale of his life and career to date, with little tidbits about Hollywood and some of his co-stars. He discusses his struggles, which all of us can relate to at some level. I really enjoyed reading it.


Sex Lives of the Kings & Queens of England
Sex Lives of the Kings & Queens of England
Author: Nigel Cawthorne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/20/2009


Reading this book, I now understand why the British monarchy of today is so screwed up with its relationships. This book is somewhat hard to follow, only because all of these people are related and there were so few original names. The title is not deceptive, it does talk about their sex lives. This was a decent book, somewhat interesting. If you are into British history, this would be a great addition to your library.


True Grace: The Life and Times of an American Princess
True Grace: The Life and Times of an American Princess
Author: Wendy Leigh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/5/2009


This book is an interesting biography. Having not grown up in the times of Grace Kelly and I was only 10 when she died, I know little about her. This book did dive into her life very well. Although many have written about the Princess of Monaco, the author claims to have dug up new information. I wish there had been more photographs in the book, but there was enough that tracked her life from Hollywood to royalty.


The Vixen Diaries
The Vixen Diaries
Author: Karrine Steffans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is actually her sequel book, I haven't read the first one. Which is not advised, since she refers to it on every freakin' page. She's a very narcissistic person, but I guess you have to be for that line of work. She drops names left and right, but is vague on other parts. Since the book was published in 2007, you can google her name and find the answers. It's a very interesting book and I would like to read the first one, now I'm just fascinated with her.


1 to 15 of 15