mimibottoms - Reviews

1 to 20 of 59 - Page:
1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1631
Review Date: 3/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I suppose this book has a lost a bit of its mystique since we are well passed the year 1984, but the themes are still chilling. Up until the very end, I found myself comparing the story with things that HAVE happened. "War is Peace" is one of the society's mantras in the book... reminds me of things that are happening today in our country. Of course, this book takes it to the extreme of a Negative Utopia. Good book. Really makes you think about what you believe and why you believe it.


8 Weeks to Optimum Health
8 Weeks to Optimum Health
Author: Andrew Weil
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I guess I'm not really into alternative medicine or methods enough to goo fullscale into the ideas presented in this book. I did learn things about my body, nuitrition, and health that I think are helpful. However, it seems like a lot of the "proof" given in the book is drawn from people's personal experiences... sorry, but that is the very essence of bad science.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 8/28/2007
Helpful Score: 7


This is a wonderfully written memoir of Frank McCourt's childhood, first in New York and then in Ireland. You see his mother (Angela), father, and siblings live a very hard and tumultuous life. Frank McCourt's writing style is very unique... very conversational. But, also very colorful... you can see what he sees and feel the emotion he feels. You will laugh out loud at times and feel like crying at others. The book ends with great hope, as he heads to New York to begin his adult life there. The next book, 'Tis, continues the story. Highly recommended.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Just as good as The DaVinci Code, I think. Same kind of idea in the plot development... mystery, searching for clues, religion, murder, etc., etc. Very entertaining. Doesn't bring up the controversial topics like the Code did, but still very engaging. I recommend it!


The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living
The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living
Author: Dalai Lama, Howard C. Cutler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 7/20/2009


This is a wonderful book... mostly because of the insights and humor of H.H. the Dalai Lama. I could have done without all the asides and rationalizations by the other author, a psychiatrist. Definitely a worthwhile book, even if you are not seaching for meaning. It will enrich your life even if you already feel content.


The Buffalo Soldier
The Buffalo Soldier
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 12/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent author. This is about a childless couple (after a tragedy) decide to become foster parents to an African American boy. The elderly couple from across the street befriends the child and introduces him to the history of the Buffalo Soldiers, who come to represent strength to the young boy. The major themes of the book are tragedy, relationships, family, and acceptance. Not as good as Midwives by the same author, but a worthwhile read.


The Bush Survival Bible: 250 Ways to Make it Through the Next Four Years Without Misunderestimating the Dangers Ahead, and Other Subliminable Stategeries
Review Date: 8/1/2007


Hilarious! Contains many of the bumbling quotes of our "beloved" Commander and Chief.


Crime and Punishment
Crime and Punishment
Author: Fyodor Dostoevsky, Constance Garnett (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 8/6/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is a true psychological tale of a man who has committed a crime and the varied ways in which he is "punished." Raskolnikov is the main character. Many times when reading this story I wonder whether he was crazy, really intelligent, or just plain egomaniacal. The story delves far into his mind leading up to, during, and after his dreaded crime. The setting is mid to late 1800s in Petersburg, Russia. I think some of the wording is odd, but this may be because of the age of the story or the translation. A very enjoyable book if you like classic literature and psychological mysteries.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4384
Review Date: 1/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a different book written from the perspective of a teenage boy who has Autism. Christopher tells of his adventures in life and in trying to solve the mystery of how a neighbor's dog was murdered. Along the way the reader gets an interesting view at what it might be like to think like a person with Autism, while Christopher goes through some ups and downs with school, parents, neighbors, and being independent. And he solves the mystery!!


The Dancing Wu Li Masters : An Overview of the New Physics
The Dancing Wu Li Masters : An Overview of the New Physics
Author: Gary Zukav
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/25/2009


This book was recommended to me after we were discussing Tolle's A New Earth. There are very interesting concepts presented in this book all relating to how the idea of "New Physics" overlap with eastern philosophies and religious beliefs such as Buddhism. A difficult and tedious read at times, however.


Darcy's Story
Darcy's Story
Author: Janet Aylmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 8/7/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I can't seem to stay away from these books that are based on and continuing the story of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen! I really like this one, however, as it is faithful to the story and the characters. It is merely a retelling of the original story except through the eyes of Mr. Darcy. It uses many, many conversations and word-for-word descriptions from the original (I'm not sure I cared for that much, but I understand the author's attempts to maintain the integrity of the story) and adds in Darcy's thoughts and feelings which are pretty much a mystery to the reader in P & P. There are added sections which of course detail where Darcy was, who he was with, and what he was thinking in the the long absences from the company of Elizabeth Bennett. In general, it isn't a creative book much, but it is enjoyable and a very quick read!


Daydreaming Unlock the Creative Power Of
Daydreaming Unlock the Creative Power Of
Author: F Diane Barth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/4/2007


This is a sort of "self-help" guide to your daydreams. They aren't just your mind's ramblings or way of wasting time. They unlock doors to your unconscious mind just as much as your dreams at night do. Daydreams can be the impedious to much creative energy and productivity in your life, if only you can learn to harness their meanings. I got this book because I found my daydreams to be troublesome and to keep me from more "important" work. This book did help me to feel less guilty about my daydreaming and to just let it come.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 11/8/2008


I like this book so much I'm going to keep it on my bookshelf rather than trade it! The title pretty much tells you about it... Just to add a little bit of my opinion; I think you get to see a woman grow from being self-centered and aimlessly searching to knowing herself well enough to just be! The idea of "this too shall pass"... it applies to both sadness and happiness. The book really isn't meant to help you or give you tips, but if you feel at all like you are searching and aimless in life, you will identify with some of her thoughts and experiences. Valuable just for that reason.


Enigma
Enigma
Author: Robert Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful, intriguing book that is based on true events from WWII. This book revolves around the true events of the German Enigma code, U-boats in the Atlantic, and the Bletchley Park cryptographers. This is, however, a fictional story with themes of romance and treason. I've heard this author compared to John LeCarre, so if you like his books, you may also enjoy this one.


For One More Day
For One More Day
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 12/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I have to say this book is just OK. I've read Tuesday with Morrie which was a very touching book, but this one just kinda falls short. For One More Day is about Chick Benetto, a middle-aged man whose had ups and downs (mostly downs) and has given up on life. He decides to try to end it all, but before he is able to do so, he gets to spend one more day with his deceased mother. He learns much about his life that he didn't know or understand until he sees it from this different perspective, his mother's. It is a nice story with a happy ending. Very quick read.


The Giver
The Giver
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


oooooooo... this one really makes you think in a similar manner as Orwell's 1984. Writing is at a lower level b/c I believe this is really a children's/young adult book, but nonetheless good for adults.


Going to Pieces without Falling Apart
Going to Pieces without Falling Apart
Author: Mark Epstein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/20/2009


"Eh." That is pretty much sums up what I think about this book. It may claim to have a "Buddhist perspective," but it felt a lot like crappy pop psychology to me... and I'm a psychologist! I canNOT recommend this book. Much better reads by Eckhart Tolle or any number of books to which H.H. the Dalai Lama has contributed.


Have Another Cookie
Have Another Cookie
Author: Charles Schulz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/27/2007


This is a collectable book put about by Hallmark around the 50th anniversary of Peanuts. It is a delightful, short book (about 30 pages) with comics centered around the loveable characters of Snoopy, Charlie Brown, and the whole Peanuts gang. As the title implies, the main theme of the book is Snoopy's love for chocolate chips cookies!! Who can blame him?!


Headlines IV : The Next Generation
Headlines IV : The Next Generation
Author: Jay Leno
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you stay up every Monday night just to hear Jay do Headlines, this book is for you. It has the crazy newspaper clippings and Jay's hilarious comments about each. Very funny!


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 982
Review Date: 8/28/2007
Helpful Score: 12


I really enjoyed this book about one family's search through libraries, medieval documents, and beautiful historic cities for the tomb of a monster... Vlad the Impaler, the real man whose crimes and blood-thirsty life inspired the folk legends and Hollywood version of Dracula. The story is told through a woman's flashbacks to her teenager years as she listened to the stories her father told her and had her own experiences in the search. I think this book is very well written with many lively descriptions of people, places, and events. And there are several twist and turns in the story to keep you turning the pages until the very last. Will they be able to find Vlad's tomb? Will Vlad's body be in his tomb or will an empty sarcophagus reveal that the legends are true and he is undead?


1 to 20 of 59 - Page: