Amy B. (amybrantley) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
365 Ways to Cook Hamburger
365 Ways to Cook Hamburger
Author: Doyne Nickerson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/22/2008


This is one of the worst cookbooks I've ever received. 90% of the recipes call for MSG, which many people, including myself, cannot use due to allergies. It was also an overly simplistic book. Save your money/credit and do an online search for hamburger recipes.


Bryson City Tales
Bryson City Tales
Author: Walt Larimore MD
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/9/2008
Helpful Score: 3


When I read this book, I felt a close kinship to Walt Larimore. I moved to Bryson City during the Spring of 2001. It was a joy to read this book, because it was like discovering Bryson City for the first time, all over again. The descriptions he gives of the area are spot on. There is nothing like the beauty of the mountains that surround Bryson City, especially during the fall.


In This Mountain (Mitford Years, Bk 7)
In This Mountain (Mitford Years, Bk 7)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 6/16/2008


This was the best Mitford book I've read so far. I laughed, I cried, and I felt the love that the characters shared. If you've been away from Mitford for a while, it's time you paid a visit to this lovable set of characters. You'll honestly set the book down having learned something about yourself and the person you want to be. I know I did. Jan Karon's words are medicine for the soul.


Psycho
Psycho
Author: Robert Bloch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A quick read and much better than the movie. I absolutely loved this book.


The Rise and Fall of the American Teenager
Review Date: 4/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book gives the background history of where the word "teenager" came from. It discusses why and how the word teenager has corrupted our youth. This is a great read for Criminology students who plan on working with juveniles.


Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Years, Bk 8)
Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Years, Bk 8)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 6/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Another home run from Jan Karon. Shepherds Abiding made me long for the crisp, chilly air of winter and the joy that Christmas always brings. If you need a Christmas fix, but the holiday season is several months away, this is the book for you.


Skipping Christmas
Skipping Christmas
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 496
Review Date: 3/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was a wonderful book. I read it during the week of Christmas and at times thought the characters had a wonderful idea. The characters are truly tested though. Will they really be able to skip Christmas? Would you be able to? I have to admit it's fun to think about :)


These High, Green Hills (Mitford, Bk 3)
These High, Green Hills (Mitford, Bk 3)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 5/4/2007


This is the third book in The Mitford Series. In These High Green Hills we find Dooley going off to an expensive boarding school and believe it or not Father Tim takes the big plunge. If you've loved the first two Mitford books, you'll love this one too.


White Shark
White Shark
Author: Peter Benchley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great summer read. I found myself unable to put it down and actually more enjoyable than "Jaws". If you love sharks, you'll love this book.


1 to 9 of 9