Marilyn M. (IndulgeYourself) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 95 - Page:
All U Can Eat
All U Can Eat
Author: Emma Holly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 6/12/2013


Too much sex and not enough a story. The sex scenes are really just porn. Don't get me wrong, I love steamy books, but this one bored me. I actually didn't even read the last 10 pages because I really didn't even care about any of the characters and how they end up.


Alone (Bobby Dodge, Bk 1)
Alone (Bobby Dodge, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 12/22/2010


This was the first book I've read by this author and I really liked it. Very exciting, kept me guessing through the whole thing. I'm anxious to read more by Lisa Gardner.


Amethyst Destiny
Amethyst Destiny
Author: Pamela Montgomerie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 12/20/2011


I really liked this book - it had a little bit of everything. Mystery, suspense, romance, humor and fantasy. I have not read a time travel book in a long time and didn't realize how much I'd missed it. The characters were very likable, faults and all. I loved the way the author mixed current day with centuries ago. I give this 4.5 stars and am anxious to read more by this author. Very believable sex scenes without being raunchy.


Another Life
Another Life
Author: Ann Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/18/2014


I thought this book was boring. The premise had so much potential but the author didn't do much with it. Light, easy read, but I couldn't wait to be done with it to move on to something more interesting.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 6/18/2009


I LOVED this book. It made me cry harder than any other book I've read in a long time. I'm really not even that big of a dog lover. But the story told through the dog's eyes, who thinks like a human, was an interesting viewpoint. It really made me think about how smart and sensitive dogs can be. There are also some very funny parts in this book that had me laughing out loud. The ending is absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend this one and give it 5 stars! This one would be worth buying to keep a copy for yourself or to share with your fellow book lovers.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 322
Review Date: 8/21/2011


I loved this book - my first by this author and I went and orderd all her other books. I loved her writing style - I could relate to the characters - they were so realistic. I was laughing, crying and everything in between while reading this. It had romance, humor, drama and mystery all in one book. I gave it 4.5 stars.


The Blessings of the Animals
The Blessings of the Animals
Author: Katrina Kittle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 1/2/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was such a heartwarming story - anyone who loves animals should read this. I love this author's writing style and character description. The story is about a woman's journey to rediscovering what she loves in life after her husband leaves her. Shows how not every marriage is meant to be and how when you finally make the painful decision to divorce it could be a great new beginning. I highly recommend this book.


The Blue Bistro
The Blue Bistro
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 6/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I have read several books by this author and really like them. I did get kind of bored with this one though. I didn't get the relationship between the main characters. It was very interesting reading about the inner workings of the restaurant business, but I was anxious to get to the end of the book so I could move onto to a different one.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 6/26/2012


I LOVED this book - it is the first one in a long time that I give 5 stars to. The characters are so endearing and I grew to care for each and every one. I cried at the end but I am so happy to find out there is now a sequel "The Life of Bright Ideas" and I get to see what else happens to these people. I can't wait to have the story continue. I really like this author and I highly recommend!


Bring Me Back
Bring Me Back
Author: B. A. Paris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/30/2018


I won a copy of this through Net Galley. This is a great psychological thriller that keeps you guessing right up until the very end. I highly recommend.


Carry Me Home
Carry Me Home
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/24/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I LOVED this book! I fell in love with Earwig and his blunt way of telling it like it is. This book had me laughing and getting choked up at times too. An easy, enjoyable read. This was my first one by this author and I just ordered two more. I recommend!


The Castaways
The Castaways
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 6/11/2011


This is a quick, light read - great for summer vacations.


Catch of the Day
Catch of the Day
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 223
Review Date: 8/29/2012


Another great read by Kristan Higgins. I would recommend reading this one first and then The Next Best Thing and then Somebody to Love. I didn't realize these were related and I read them backwards, but loved the town and characters so much I had to go back and read the others. I love this author - I giggle out loud at times and usually have some tears in more than one part of the story. Malone was a tough character to like though for me - he just didn't give Maggie much to grasp onto and I kinda resented him for that. He did come through in the long run, but did he have to be so gruff about it all? I can't wait to read the rest of this author's books and I hope she writes more about Gideon's Cove.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1627
Review Date: 1/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


OMG - this is a GREAT series. Another nail biter all the way to the last page that leaves you hanging and wanting to know more of the story. Easy read, but disturbing - not as disturbing as the Hunger Games but maybe after reading that one, I've become a bit desensitized to it? Still lots of surprises, twists and turns. There are over 600 on the wish list for this -- this one is worth buying your own copy of instead of waiting!


Charlie All Night
Charlie All Night
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 7/5/2011


Cute, fun read. I really like Crusie's books - just enough humor, sex, romance.


The Chosen One
The Chosen One
Author: Carol Lynch Williams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 6/11/2011


I really liked this book, but it was very disturbing. It's an easy read and gives great insight into what goes on in some of the cult-like organizations.


Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 12/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this story. The main characters were so likable and I was rooting for them throughout the whole book. Quick, short story - great for holiday reading. I raelly like this author - I've only read a couple of hers but this book made me want to keep reading more. I can't wait for the next in the series.


The Confession
The Confession
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 1/22/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I have not read John Grisham in a long time since his earlier hits. But the storyline on this one interested me so I gave it a shot. I'm glad I did -- this was a VERY GOOD book, very emotional. I think it accurately portrays how pathetic humankind can be in so many ways. I highly recommend!


The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
Author: Phaedra Patrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/24/2018


4.5 stars on this one. Very simple, easy to read, story. Sweet, sad at times, and fulfilling as this widower learns about his wife's life before they wed. I loved how the stories of her life that she never told him about drew him out of his grief and breathed new life into him. I loved it!


Divorced, Desperate and Dating (Divorced, Bk 2)
Divorced, Desperate and Dating (Divorced, Bk 2)
Author: Christie Craig
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 6/29/2010


I didn't realize this was a series so started with this one, which is book 2. I really enjoyed it - a little bit of mystery, lots of romance, a fair amount of humor. I really liked the main characters and I did have tears at the end. I'm not a prude by any means, but I thought the amount of sex was a bit over-done. The author was trying to build the anticipation between Sue & Jason but it seemed like it went on and on with all the kissing and nothing else happening. Then when things finally did happen in the bedroom, it seemed as though the mystery part of the story really took a back seat and all I was reading about was how many condoms they were going through, which I felt was not necessary. I love a good sex scene as much as the next person but it kind of took over the story. This reminded me a little bit of the Janet Evanovich, Stephanie Plum series. Very enjoyable - now I'm going back to read the first one.


1 to 20 of 95 - Page: