Sharon C. (DustyShu) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
The Association
The Association
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you're even contemplating moving into a gated community, read this book first! If you already live in one .....


The Attorney (Paul Madriani, Bk 5)
The Attorney (Paul Madriani, Bk 5)
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 7/2/2007


If you enjoy reading Steve Martini, you'll enjoy this book. Amazingly (to me, anyway), I guessed correctly who did the deed. Never did guess the "why", so do I get partial credit??


Balance of Power  (Jim Dillon, Bk 1)
Balance of Power (Jim Dillon, Bk 1)
Author: James W. Huston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 11/7/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting concept from a political standpoint, but the big question is, "Who's in charge"?


The Best Revenge (Alan Gregory, Bk 11)
The Best Revenge (Alan Gregory, Bk 11)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 6/2/2006


Excellent read for those of you who can't wait to see how it ends.


Bias: A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News
Bias: A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent read, especially if you want to know just how they do it. It's full of quotes and examples, not just opinion.


The Big Secret
The Big Secret
Author: Pete Earley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/1/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I picked this book up on the spur of the moment, despite its rather lame title. Excellent read! Never a dull moment and the pages seem to turn by themselves.


Black Creek Crossing
Black Creek Crossing
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 10/26/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent can't-put-it-down read, complete with a twist at the end.


Blood Brother: 33 Reasons My Brother Scott Peterson Is Guilty
Blood Brother: 33 Reasons My Brother Scott Peterson Is Guilty
Author: Anne Bird
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 8/18/2005
Helpful Score: 7


Quick read. Not much new here, but it did give a picture of their mother, Jackie Peterson. Not a particularaly flattering one.


Cellar of Horror
Cellar of Horror
Author: Ken Engalde
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is certainly not the best written true crime book I've ever read. Shocking? Yes. Horrible? Certainly. It starts with a lot of promise, but gets a bit lost in the middle. The author makes time jumps seemingly without relevance, rather than as an attempt to explain the circumstances.


Cold Case
Cold Case
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The end is a page turner. Couldn't put it down.


Comes the Blind Fury
Comes the Blind Fury
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/22/2005


As usual, John Saul writes page-turners.


Critical Mass
Critical Mass
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 4/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Don't miss this one!! If you enjoy Steve Martini, this is a must read. If you've never read anything by him, this will make you a fan. Couldn't put it down.


Cruel Deception
Cruel Deception
Author: Gregg Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


As long as Tanya was happy, everyone was safe. Behind the facade, Tanya was a very insecure person who needed to be the center of someone's attention. All the time. If not her husband or her family it would be someone in the medical profession. And she made sure that happened.


The Dark Tower VII : The Dark Tower
The Dark Tower VII : The Dark Tower
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 12/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great climax to the series. I do take issue with the way Stephen King chose to end it, however. Not the ending itself, which I thought was perfect, but the way he chose to do it. I guess you're going to have to read it to understand what I'm talking about.


Deep Fathom
Deep Fathom
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 9/26/2007


I've become a big Rollins fan and this one did not disappoint me. That said, I think the hatred of David for Jack was extremely overblown. Every hero needs a nemesis, but the reasoning behind this almost defies belief.


Deviant Ways
Deviant Ways
Author: Chris Mooney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


My first book by Chris Mooney and it certainly won't be my last. Page-turning thriller from beginning to end, which left me with only one question: Exactly who is the deviant?


Domain (Domain, Bk 1)
Domain (Domain, Bk 1)
Author: Steve Alten
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/26/2007


Another excellent Steve Alten book. A bit of archeology, adventure, sci-fi, politics, crime, power, spirituality. It's all there. Not the end of the world, but close. The only character I didn't care for was the heroine, who came across as a know-it-all brat. I just wanted her to go away.


Evil Eye (aka Zombie) (Special X, Bk 5)
Evil Eye (aka Zombie) (Special X, Bk 5)
Author: Michael Slade
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not a bad story, but the writing is so convoluted it boggles the mind. Constant references to previous books which aren't necessary to the story. Background history woven in during conversations. Sentences padded to excruciating length. Decent story, deplorable writing.


Excavation
Excavation
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 2/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent read. This book seemed to read much quicker than previous James Rollins' books. Page-turner from start to finish.


The Footprints of God
The Footprints of God
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 4/24/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Heart stopper from start to finish. It's a good thing it's fiction.


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: