Nancy S. (nancys) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 61 - Page:
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 1/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


an enjoyable read about a group of friends, who have formed a book club, whose friendship endures for 30+ years. i liked how each chapter was written from the point of view of a different "angry housewife". and i liked how the bookclub book of the month tied into the plot of each chapter, even though the books themselves were barely mentioned in the novel.


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 4/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


i found the book to be a bit of a slow read. so often i just felt like screaming at teh book "get on with it". otherwise and enjoyable, insprational read. made me want to do something spontaneous and live a little!


Awake
Awake
Author: Elizabeth Graver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Not as good as "The Honey Thief", though still an excellent read. A woman is caught in a mid-life crisis - bored and confused - from spending the previous 10 years caring for her chronicall ill, terminall ill child.


Away for the Weekend Grt Getaw
Away for the Weekend Grt Getaw
Author: Crown
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 9/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


great weekend getaway ideas - all trips within 200 miles from new york city


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 882
Review Date: 12/17/2006
Helpful Score: 2


this would have been a great boy meets girl, fall in love, live happily ever after story. there were enough twists and turns along the way to keep the story interesting and too cliched. i was dissapointed with the total train wreck inserted at the end - seriously, can you actually believe that 2 sets of parents would be mortified to hear that there 30-something children were going to consummate their relationship???


The Big Bust at Tyrone's Rooming House: A Novel of Atlanta
The Big Bust at Tyrone's Rooming House: A Novel of Atlanta
Author: James Gallant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


i was a bit hesitant to read this book - knowing that the subject matter was a bit depressing. but overall i enjoyed the book - i found it very enlightening, and actually a bit funny. the author found a wonderful way to keep the story truthful, yet "light".


The Blue Bistro
The Blue Bistro
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/16/2007


wow!!! a great story. i can't remember the last time i read such an enticing, engrossing book. i went to sleep at night worrying about the characters. and i cried my eyes out for the last 50 pages.


Brownsville: Stories
Brownsville: Stories
Author: Oscar Casares
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


An excellent collection of short stories. Though they all take place around Brownsville, Texas - they could really take place anywhere. Though Casares writes about every day life, the stories are truly gripping.


Cat in the Hat Spanish
Cat in the Hat Spanish
Author: Dr. Seuss
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 10/31/2006


in english and in spanish


Children of the Revolution
Children of the Revolution
Author: Dinaw Mengestu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/5/2013


This is the same book as "The Beautiful Thing That Heaven Bears". This is the UK title.


Cop Without a Badge: The Extraordinary Undercover Life of Kevin Maher
Review Date: 6/10/2009
Helpful Score: 8


If you are looking to read this book to get some "dirt" on RHoNJ reality star Danielle - then don't waste your time. There is very little in this book about her - nothing more than has already been reported in the media. Yes - Kevin Maher was married to her - but he was also still married to his previous wife at the time.

Beyond the RHoNJ connection - it was a decent book. Kinda like a mafia bio - without the mafia links. At least as of the time the book was written, Kevin Maher was still in denial about the crimes he had committed in his life and the fact that he was truly living his life of questionable legality. He seemed to think that since he was a paid informant - that negated all the crimes he committed previously in his life.


Current Affairs
Current Affairs
Author: Barbara Raskin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/1/2006


a light hearted read taking place in washington dc during the watergate era. a who slept with who when and where.


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 4


a very enjoyable read. having spent time in africa, i appreciated her honesty - admitting that she grew up in a family that believed in white superiority. i just wished i could have gotten a bit more insight into her parents - why they chose to live in zimbabwe during the midst of a war of independence.


Don't Tell Laura
Don't Tell Laura
Author: Susan Trott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/1/2006


an improbable but amusing read spanning san francisco and london. a great beach read. i was left wondering whether i should feel sorry for the main chartacters or laugh at them! enjoyable enough that i have sought other books by susan trott to read.


The End of an Error
The End of an Error
Author: Mameve Medwed
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


a middle aged woman reminesces about her first love and her flamboyant grandmother. i enjoyed the book, however, this novel lacks the comic relief i've found in other medwed novels.


Entertaining Angels
Entertaining Angels
Author: Marita Van Der Vyver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/7/2007


chick lit meets fairy tale. griet deals with the upheavals in her life, including her divorce, by writing fairy tales. always hopin for the happy ending.


Faithful: Two Diehard Boston Red Sox Fans Chronicle the Historic 2004 Season
Review Date: 2/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


For when the SuperBowl is over. And you have a few weeks until pitchers and catchers report to camp. Relive the 2004 season. O'Nan is a very boring Dan Orsillo to King's Jerry Remy. And I must admit to skipping over a lot of O'Nan's writing. But King's insightfulness made the book worthwhile.


Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 4/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


reading this book was a lot like visiting robben island in cape town - i kinda got the feeling that i was getting the pg version of events.

part of me can understand how a 17 year old woman would have a difficult time marrying a man with 5 children. and i can also understand how she would love her 2 biological children more than her 5 step children. what i don't understand is where her level of cruelty comes from. and why the father actually condoned the behavior.

though it was a bit disturbing to read, i am very happy that i have read this book.


Feeding Christine
Feeding Christine
Author: Barbara Chepaitis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/26/2007


the story of 4 women - they are feeding their emotions as they prepare all the food for their catering company's annual christmas party.

i found the book a bit slow - imo the author could have easily told the story in 100 less pages


Five Fortunes
Five Fortunes
Author: Beth Gutcheon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


5 women meet at an arizona health spa (fat farm) and become fast friends. the novel takes them thru the next year of their lives, as they each overcome challenges in their lives - challenges that make them grow closer together.

a wonderfully inspirational story. makes me want to read more by beth gutcheon.


1 to 20 of 61 - Page: