Patti Z. (jonathansmom) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 2/28/2015


A riveting account of the events of the Revolutionary war during that year. A great "behind-the-scenes" look.


The Burning of Bridget Cleary: A True Story
The Burning of Bridget Cleary: A True Story
Author: Angela Bourke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/30/2015


The actual story of Bridget Cleary was interesting but the book also went into a lot of background information about that time period and before. Some of this helped in understanding the reasoning of the people involved but a lot of it was unnecessary. I found myself wanting to skip parts and get back to the story of Bridget.


Cash: The Autobiography
Cash: The Autobiography
Author: Johnny Cash
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 11/10/2016


A forthwright and honest review of his life. He pulled no punches about his addiction problems. An encouraging story about how love and support and faith in God can bring you out of the darkest places.


Review Date: 10/30/2013


Having grown up in Wilson, NY I found this book fascinating. It is a very personal account of thoughts and feelings during the battles. It might seem dry if you are not interested in that time period, but for anyone interested in Civil War history it is something that should be read.


Eva's Story
Eva's Story
Author: Evelyn Julia Kent, Eva Schloss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/25/2016


A heart wrenching account of one of the worst events in world history. Eva did not hold anything back about the suffering people went through. A great history lesson.


I'll Walk Alone (Audio CD) (Abridged)
I'll Walk Alone (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Mary Higgins Clark, Jan Maxwell (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/19/2016


I thought I had it figured out - I was wrong. Nice twist to the ending.


Laura Ingalls Wilder Country : The People and places in Laura Ingalls Wilder's life and books
Review Date: 3/10/2017


Excellent insight into her life


Laura : The Life of Laura Ingalls Wilder
Laura : The Life of Laura Ingalls Wilder
Author: Donald Zochert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/16/2012


This as a great book to read. The author was able to relate he actual life events of Laura to how she presented them in her books. It was hard for me to put down.


The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/21/2015


Excellent book in the style Of Ms. Alcott herself. although the book is fictionalized it adds to what is already known about her life. The reader made the book come alive.


Love, Lucy
Love, Lucy
Author: Lucille Ball
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/29/2015


Very honest and open picture of her life. Lucy shared her happiness and her pain through her words. She showed us why we love Lucy.


More Than a Skeleton
More Than a Skeleton
Author: Paul L. Maier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/25/2014


Dr. Maier has created an intriguing mystery using Biblical facts to enhance what is taking place in the novel. Having read "A Skeleton in God' Closet" previously helped me to understand the references he makes to the "earlier Case" but it is not necessary to have read the previous book. This book was one of those "I can't put it down until I'm finished" stories.


Old Town in the Green Groves
Old Town in the Green Groves
Author: Cynthia Rylant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/4/2014


Adds information to the blank pages in the Wilder story. Could have been written by Laura herself.


On the Way Home: The Diary of a Trip from South Dakota to Mansfield, Missouri, in 1894
Review Date: 10/1/2012


Since this book is a diary that was kept dudring travel it was dry at times. Not everything during travel is exciting and Laura was just keeping a record of her experiences for herself and her family. It does give a good picture of what traveling in the late nineteenth century would have been like.


The Poe Shadow (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Poe Shadow (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Matthew Pearl, Erik Singer (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/19/2017


Fascinating. Sometimes a little hard to follow. The twists and turns were riveting.


A Soldier's Promise: The Heroic True Story of an American Soldier and an Iraqi Boy
Review Date: 5/21/2017


A very heartwarming story.


Young Pioneers (Little House)
Young Pioneers (Little House)
Author: Rose Wilder Lane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/18/2012


This book was written in the same captivating way as the Laura Ingalls Wilder books. Ms. Lane's descriptive ability is able to take the reader back to the simpler time in American history.


1 to 16 of 16