Lynn A. (mystbnards) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Algebra One Half: An Incremental Development
Algebra One Half: An Incremental Development
Author: John H. Saxon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/25/2006


For those of us who need a math/algebra refresher - this is an outstanding book. The repetition method that Saxon uses is a wonderful tool for grasping the math concepts. Excellent book!


The Annotated Alice: The Definitive Edition
The Annotated Alice: The Definitive Edition
Author: Lewis Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2006


A must-have for all lovers and students of Alice.


The Anti-Coloring Book of Masterpieces
The Anti-Coloring Book of Masterpieces
Author: Susan Striker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Interesting concept.


Armadillo Rodeo
Armadillo Rodeo
Author: Jan Brett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Delightful illustrations, fun story! You can't go wrong w/anything by Jan Brett. One of my daughter's fav authors/illustrators. If you're a fan, too - check out her website! Great book, great author/illustrator!


Ben & Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book
Ben & Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book
Author: Nancy Stevens, Jerry Greenfield, Ben Cohen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/25/2006


Great resource for those of us w/ice cream makers. Scrummy recipes and fun tales about the biz.


The Birchbark House
The Birchbark House
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Good book for 3rd-4th graders. Interesting picture into the life of this particular Native American tribe. Sort of the Native American version of "Little House on the Prairie."


Buffalo Woman
Buffalo Woman
Author: Paul Goble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/25/2006


A touching story, beautifully illustrated by the talented Paul Goble. This is a wonderful addition to Native American studies.


Caps for Sale: A Tale of a Peddler, Some Monkeys and Their Monkey Business
Review Date: 5/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A classic children's story. Takes readers back to a slower-paced time. Excellent book for the emergent reader.


The Cookie Sutra: An Ancient Treatise: that Love Shall Never Grow Stale. Nor Crumble
Review Date: 5/24/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Super fun, but quite naughty book! This is NOT for children! Sexual positions demonstrated by two very willing partners - a gingerbread man and a gingerbread woman. Fun novelty that you will read, laugh at, and then pass on to others. Some of the facial expressions on the cookies are priceless! Fun book.


Cursive Teacher's Guide
Cursive Teacher's Guide
Author: Jan Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The teacher's guide for the Handwriting w/o Tears series. I'm not overly impressed w/this method. I had much better luck w/Write Now!


Don't Know Much About History: Everything You Need to Know About American History but Never Learned
Review Date: 5/25/2006


Not terribly impressed. "Lies My Teacher Told Me" and Howard Zinn's "People's History" are MUCH better IMO.

NB: My copy w/this ISBN came from another member and has a diff cover. It is not brand new - but very readable.


Dragon's Gate (Golden Mountain Chronicles, 1867)
Dragon's Gate (Golden Mountain Chronicles, 1867)
Author: Laurence Yep
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/25/2006


Although the topic is interesting - the use of Asian workers to build railroads in the US - the book is very slow and the characters lack depth. Also, the writing is not terribly exciting.


Flat Stanley (40th Anniversary Edition)
Flat Stanley (40th Anniversary Edition)
Author: Jeff Brown, Scott Nash (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/25/2006


One of my daughter's fav books and characters. She carries her Stanley around w/her all the time! Fun book for the kids.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2853
Review Date: 6/22/2006


Great character development and fun story. A good beach book.


Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 7/2/2006


A quick, easy and fun read! I wish Jen would stray from the overweight woman who wants to fit in - but this was a fun, summer read w/a twist o' an ending. Forgettable but loads of fun while you're with it! I couldn't put it down.


Grandfather Tales
Grandfather Tales
Author: Richard Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/25/2006


Another outstanding collection of tales from Richard Chase. This is a must-have for anyone who studies or enjoys folk tales. Please note though - this is NOT a children's book. Most tales are fairly graphic and told in true tale form.


The Guide to Owning a Leopard Gecko
The Guide to Owning a Leopard Gecko
Author: Ray Hunziker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/29/2006


An excellent guide for geckos. Def convinced me that we're going w/a pet hamster instead! ;)


Help Your Child Learn to Read (Usborne Parents' Guide)
Help Your Child Learn to Read (Usborne Parents' Guide)
Author: Betty Root
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/25/2006


Excellent resource for both teachers and parents.


How to Cook Everything: Simple Recipes for Great Food
How to Cook Everything: Simple Recipes for Great Food
Author: Mark Bittman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If there were more stars available - this book would get every single one! This is the ONLY cookbook you need. Worth its weight in gold - and considering it's one HEAVY book - that says a lot! AWESOME cookbook and resource.


I Am One of You Forever
I Am One of You Forever
Author: Fred Chappell
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Another Fred Chappell masterpiece. The writing flows off of the page, the stories bring tears to the eyes. In all - a book to be read and then read again. Wonderful, beautiful, poignant, unforgettable. If you love to read beyond the printed page - this is a book to grab and hold on to.

BTW - am not sure who listed this book as a age 4-8 book - but it is NOT a children's book. In fact, I would recommend it for HS and above.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: