Kelly E. (rainfall) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Becoming the Enchanter : A Journey to the Heart of the Celtic Mysteries
Review Date: 4/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fascinating book about the author's personal (and magical) journey to unlock the mysteries of the ancient traditions of the British Isles. Lyn and a small group of like-minded friends go on a magical quest to solve the riddle of the House of Arianrhod. They visit ancient holy places and do mystical re-enactments. They stream in and out of consciousness along the way and take part in many magical encounters.

The author's writing was wonderful and full of detail. Not one boring or slow part - it's one wild ride! :)

Anyone interested in Celtic traditions should read this one.


The Book Thief (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Book Thief (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Markus Zusak, Allan Corduner (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/11/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book! I started out with the audio book version from my library and really enjoyed the narration. I must say, having Death as the narrator in this story was brilliant. This is one of very few books I've rated 5 stars and one I'll recommend to everyone. I couldn't finish the audio book before it was due back to the library, so I checked out the print version to finish and am so glad I did because the pictures and sketches in there were really great to see. It's hard to recommend one over the other (audio/print) because I loved them both.


By the Light of the Moon
By the Light of the Moon
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 4/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this Koontz book very much! A page turner for sure. I really enjoyed the characters in this book and stayed up late finishing it.


Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1263
Review Date: 5/21/2010


I loved this trilogy! In fact, it's staying on my keeper shelf for future reads. :) This is the first book of the series and probably my favorite one (although they were all yummy good). I loved the setting and found myself wishing I lived on Three Sisters Island, too. I devoured this book in a day and ran straight to the next one (Heaven and Earth). Great trilogy!!


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2045
Review Date: 4/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book! I waited forever to try this series out after my sisters and friends raved about it, and am really glad I gave it a chance. I have the entire set on its way to me and I can't wait to read them. A very fun read! You'll want access to the 2nd book as soon as you finish this one, so be warned. :)


Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1108
Review Date: 5/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this trilogy! In fact, it's staying on my keeper shelf for future reads. :) This is the third book of the series about Mia (the Fire witch). I was both happy and sad after reading it - happy because it was such a great ending to the trilogy, but sad that it was over! I definitely recommend this trilogy!


Five Fortunes
Five Fortunes
Author: Beth Gutcheon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Five womens lives meet when they all enroll in a one-week long fat camp spa resort. They become friends during their stay at the spa and their lives continue to cross one another after theyve all gone home. I really enjoyed getting to know each one of the women and read about their stories. I thought the author did a great job in keeping them all connected throughout the book. A good feel-good friendship book, I really enjoyed it.


Heaven and Earth (Three Sisters Island, Bk 2)
Heaven and Earth (Three Sisters Island, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1152
Review Date: 5/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this trilogy! In fact, it's staying on my keeper shelf for future reads. :) This is the second book of the series about Ripley (the Earth witch). I loved the setting on the island and all of the great characters. I also love that there was quite a bit of magic in this trilogy, and had me running to the next one in the series (Face the Fire). Great trilogy!!


One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2241
Review Date: 6/20/2010


Stephanie is laid off and broke, so she goes to her cousin Vinnie for work as a bounty hunter. She takes on a big case thats way over her head and lands herself in the middle of real trouble. She asks Vinnies skilled bounty hunter, Ranger, for help to catch Joe Morelli and land herself a $10K reward for the bond. I enjoyed this book very much. It was cute and funny and had loads of entertainment and action. Each chapter was like another adventure.


Push
Push
Author: Sapphire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 4/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


WOW. This was a fast read, but not a "light" read by any means. Definitely a book that will remain with me for a long, long time. Great book!


Shoot the Moon
Shoot the Moon
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 4/23/2010
Helpful Score: 11


I picked this up at a garage sale on a whim. The back description looked interesting, so I thought I'd give it a try. I'm really glad I did, because this was a really good read! I enjoyed the characters and the small town setting and especially liked the mystery that kept me guessing until the very end (and I was wrong!). I'm looking forward to more books by this author!


Tick Tock
Tick Tock
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 4/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Ugh, I couldn't stand this book. I really had to choke it down. It was so WTH crazy I felt dumb reading it. A little voodoo doll running around and trying to kill the characters - really? I'm sorry, but I couldn't get into this book but I made myself finish it anyway. If this is the first Koontz book you pick up, please don't think this is his norm.


Wiccan Beliefs  Practices
Wiccan Beliefs Practices
Author: Gary Cantrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/19/2010


Eh, this book was ok. The author wrote this book to serve the Solitary witch or smaller Covens. It talks about the definitions and ethics of Wicca, the protection of the Wiccan religion, and developing your own rituals.

I found it annoying that the author kept reiterating the fact that not all Traditions are the same, this was just his beliefs and ways, everything was spelled out in alphabetical order rather than by importance, etc. He had this blurb before talking about anything and I found it frustrating.


Year of Wonders
Year of Wonders
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 883
Review Date: 4/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This one had me hooked from page 1 and I couldn't put it down until I finished it - one of the best books I've read to date! This is about a small village in England that is hit by the Plague, told through the eyes of a servant woman. It was neat to read about how the roles of the village people had to adapt as more and more of their neighbors died. The writing was wonderful and painted a very vivid picture of the village and how they lived back then.


1 to 14 of 14