Michelle C. (Shellaree) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 271 - Page:
Better Homes and Gardens Italian Cook Book
Better Homes and Gardens Italian Cook Book
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/28/2008


Good basic recipes that are easy to prepare. Not all are pasta dishes as they are taken from different areas of the country.


Better Homes and Gardens Oriental Cook Book
Better Homes and Gardens Oriental Cook Book
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/28/2008


Good basic recipes that introduce you to the Asian style of cooking. Tasty and easy to prepare


Beyond Betrayal
Beyond Betrayal
Author: Christine Michels
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 2/22/2010


A typical romance book where everything comes out right in the end


The Big Kitty (Sunny & Shadow, Bk 1)
The Big Kitty (Sunny & Shadow, Bk 1)
Author: Claire Donally
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 7/7/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Book 1 in a series. I really, really wanted to like this book. I love cats and I love cozy mysteries. But this was just not quite for me. The cat character was written so we "know" his thoughts. I didn't really care for the way that was written as I would have preferred name for his people instead of "Old One", old "Old One", etc.
The main character wasn't too bad, but it was somewhat hard to connect with her for some reason.
Toward the end, there was a bit of lightness which I wish had been through out all the books as that is one of things I really like about cozy mysteries.
I probably won't read the rest of the series as there are others I like much more even though this wasn't too bad.


Bloody Bonsai (Jim Dandy, Bk 1)
Bloody Bonsai (Jim Dandy, Bk 1)
Author: Peter Abresch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


#1 in a series - Elderhostel. I somewhat enjoyed the book. They mystery part was good. I wasn't too thrilled with all the references to his erectile dysfunction due to his age. But then, it is written by a guy, so I guess I can't expect something too different. But overall, it wasn't a bad book to read.


The Bonus Years Diet: 7 Miracle Foods That Can Add Years to Your Life
Review Date: 2/20/2012


A way to add years to your life by eating the foods that are good for you


The Book of Air and Shadows
The Book of Air and Shadows
Author: Michael Gruber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 12/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This could have been a really good thriller to read, but because it was written in 1st person by 2 of the characters. It made it a bit hard to follow as I had to remember which one was speaking. Since both of the men (even though they were different ages)acted somewhat the same, I found it harder to tell the difference when they were "speaking". So it always took me a bit of time to figure out who was talking at the beginning of the chapter. Good ending, but not the greatest way of telling the story.


The Book of Cacti and Other Succulents
Review Date: 9/2/2008


An illustrated book about growing cacti and succulents. There are some black & white photos also. Although an older book, the information is still valid.


Book of Card Games
Book of Card Games
Author: Peter Arnold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/28/2008


A book with over 150 separate card games, such as; Bridge, Pinochle, Piquet, Skat, Ombre and Gin Rummy.


Bookmarked For Death (Booktown, Bk 2)
Bookmarked For Death (Booktown, Bk 2)
Author: Lorna Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 3/30/2011


Book #2 in the series. I have enjoyed this series and I even got a good soup recipe from the book. The characters are enjoyable and fun to read about. I would love to visit a place like this that had the variety of stores that they do in the town.


Bookplate Special (Booktown, Bk 3)
Bookplate Special (Booktown, Bk 3)
Author: Lorna Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 6/22/2011


Book #3 in the Booktown Mystery series. I have enjoyed this series of books so far. The characters are fun and entertaining. And not everyone is perfect or all bad, so that is nice too. And you get a few recipes at the end of the book also as a bonus


A Bride in the Bargain
A Bride in the Bargain
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 7/29/2010


An interesting story about brides being "bought" and sent to the West coast. And it is partly based on true incidents.


A Bride Most Begrudging
A Bride Most Begrudging
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This isn't my favorite of Deeanne Gist's books but not because of her writing. I am irritated at her "hero" and his mind set. But I figure if an author can get me emotional about a book (doesn't matter what type of emotion) then she has captured my interest.
If the male character had been a bit different I would have enjoyed it more. But I will continue to read her books as I have very much enjoyed all the rest of them


Bright Captivity
Bright Captivity
Author: Eugenia Price
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 2/19/2008


Book 1 of the Georgia trilogy.
Interesting book of the very old South and the people that lived there. These are real people in history, but the author has fictionalized thoughts, feelings and words, but has made them very alive.


Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee
Author: Dee Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/18/2008


The true story of Native Americans and their struggles as the West expanded.


Bushwhacked Groom
Bushwhacked Groom
Author: Eugenia Riley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/22/2010


A fun time travel romance book.


CARRIE'S JOURNEY
CARRIE'S JOURNEY
Author: Bette Jennings
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book is book #2 of a series. The first book is Carrie's Farm.
This takes place in Oak Valley, OR. Carrie is trying to figure out if she will ever find anyone to love again. And there are many secrets to also figure out.


Carrot Cake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 10)
Carrot Cake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 10)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 11/12/2008


Book 10 in the Hannah Swensen's mysteries. I love this series. The characters are entertaining and amusing. The recipes are good also and so fun to try. Now if only Hannah would make up her mind which boyfriend she really wants!


Cat Crimes
Cat Crimes
Author: Martin H Greenberg (Editor), Ed Gorman (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/30/2007


Fun book if you like cats and short stories. Some are a bit different, but at least they aren't all the same type.


The Cat's Fancy (Protectors, Bk 0.5) (Time of Your Life)
The Cat's Fancy (Protectors, Bk 0.5) (Time of Your Life)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 2/22/2010


A fun read, especially if you are a cat lover and a lover of romance books


21 to 40 of 271 - Page: