Reviews - Judith H. (crazybooklady)

1 to 20 of 86 - Page:
Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2)
Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2)
Author: Peggy Parish, Fritz Siebel (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/27/2008


"It is fun to see what Amelia gets into when she starts a new job with the Rogers family. She reads their note and follows the directions. She does what the note says, but the words have different meanings.

Amelia Bedelia books were my favorite as a child and now my children love them too. It is nice to get to enjoy them now as an adult.

AR 2.5"


Bad Blood (Alex Cooper, Bk 9)
Bad Blood (Alex Cooper, Bk 9)
Author: Linda Fairstein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 11/3/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Linda Fairstein's novel Bad Blood takes you into the underground world of New York City. There is a whole world of men called Sandhogs who have built the subway system, water systems, and anything under the ground in New York. They have their own justice system. After an underground explosion kills the brother of the defendant in a murder case Alex is prosecuting, Alex and Mike enter the very private vengeful world of underground New York.

This is the 9th of the series. It can be read alone, but the story will make more sense if you have read her other books."


Bark, George!
Bark, George!
Author: Jules Feiffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2007


"Bark! George is a book about a dog who can't find his bark. His mother tries to get George to bark, but he makes other animals' sounds. Finally, she takes him to the vet to see what is wrong with him. It is a 1.3 AR book."


The Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree
The Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree
Author: Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 2/27/2008


"The Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree is a story of three adventurous bears going into a tree. It takes you through the tree as the bears met many obstacles to get back out the other side. This book helps with memory because it repeats what they do in order a number of times.

AR 1.1"


Bet Your Bottom Dollar (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 1)
Bet Your Bottom Dollar (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Gillespie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 11/3/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Bet Your Bottom Dollar : A Bottom Dollar Girls Novel is the first in the Bottom Dollar Girls' series. The story takes place in a small South Carolina town that is having an unwelcome growth spurt. The Bottom Dollar Emporium is being threatened by a large chain store. The girls have to work together to save their store. It is a funny book with a little romance."


Betty Sweet Tells All
Betty Sweet Tells All
Author: Judith Minthorn Stacy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/29/2008


"Betty Sweet Tells All is the second book about the Sweet family. The first was about Betty's daughter leaving her controlling husband and teenage twin daughters. This book is mostly from Betty's point of view. It is how things change for her when her daughter decides to get a life.

I actually liked this book better than the first one."


Beverly Hills Dead (Rick Barron, Bk 2)
Beverly Hills Dead (Rick Barron, Bk 2)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 4/2/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Stuart Woods' fans get to go back to 1940s Hollywood with Rick Barron in Beverly Hills Dead. This time he has to deal with a blacklisted writer, a dead actress, and a rising star.

I have read all of Wood's books. I enjoyed this one, but I really want to go back and read the ones about Hollywood again. It is nice to see them as young stars just starting out."


Biggest Ever Book of Questions  Answers
Review Date: 11/8/2007


"Biggest Ever Book of Questions and Answers is a great book for kids who want answers about science topics. It has colorful pictures to get the kid's attention, but it has answers that will make them read it over and over again."


Chicka Chicka Boom Boom
Chicka Chicka Boom Boom
Author: John Archambault, Bill Martin Jr, Lois Ehlert (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 11/5/2007


"Chicka Chicka Boom Boom is a cute story for kids learning their ABCs. It is about the whole alphabet trying to climb to the top of a coconut tree. My kids love getting to yell out BOOM BOOM each time we get to that part. Older kids like it because it is a little silly to imagine ABCs getting into trouble."


Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 5/17/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Chiefs is the first in Stuart Woods' long list of books. It is about police chiefs from a small in Georgia over a few decades as they look for a serial killer. It introduces characters who will appear in other books by Woods. It is my favorite of his books because it gives a history to his stories."


A Children's Book About "Being A Bad Sport"
A Children's Book About "Being A Bad Sport"
Author: Joy Berry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/11/2007


"Being a Bad Sport by Joy Berry is an easy book to understand for younger readers. It has great pictures which show how others feel when winning and losing games. It teaches children how to act and be a fun person to play with. It also teaches a child how to respond when they are being treated badly by someone who isn't a good sport."


A Christmas Caroline
A Christmas Caroline
Author: Kyle Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/26/2008


"A Christmas Caroline is the modern version of A Christmas Carol. Caroline is a snobby self- centered New Yorker. She hates Christmas, bad fashion, and everyone else in the world. I actually didn't like the story to start with because she is such a bad person, but I am glad I finished it."


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 485
Review Date: 11/2/2007
8 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I watched the movie version of The Cinder House Rules a few years ago when it first came out. The story was really good. I decided to read the book. I love the book for the extra details that Irving gives. He weaves a story that is long and full of rich characters. While the movie was good, there were extra characters who made the book a real joy to read. It explained the story more completely. Reality is not always pretty and Irving has no problem showing it."


The Class Menagerie (Jane Jeffry, Bk 4)
The Class Menagerie (Jane Jeffry, Bk 4)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 4/30/2008


"The Class Menagerie is the fourth in the Jane Jeffry series. This book is about her neighbor Shelly's class reunion.

I really enjoyed this book. I didn't figure out who did it which makes this book a great read for me."


Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 8)
Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 8)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 11/4/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Cross Bones by Kathy Reichs has Temperance Brennan investing a murder in Montreal that leads her to Israel. She helps an archeologist dig up bones that people are willing to kill to hide. There is a question of the origin of the bones and whether they are from Jesus and his family. This is not my favorite by Reichs, but I did like the story with the historical tie ins."


Death Dance (Alex Cooper, Bk 8)
Death Dance (Alex Cooper, Bk 8)
Author: Linda Fairstein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 5/21/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Death Dance is Linda Fairstein's eighth Alex Cooper novel. The backdrop of this novel is the Broadway stage's dancers and actors. When a ballet dancer is killed, it is hard for Alex and her partners to tell who is a killer and who is just acting.

A great book to add to the series."


Dollar Daze: The Bottom Dollar Girls in Love (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 3)
Review Date: 11/3/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Dollar Daze: The Bottom Dollar Girls in Love is the third in the series by Karin Gillespie. A few of the Bottom Dollar girls claim to be done with love. Then men come into their lives causing hearts to flutter and friends to fight. Are there enough single men in their small town for the girls to find love and keep their friendship? This is another funny book with lots of Southern charm."


A Dollar Short : The Bottom Dollar Girls Go Hollywood (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 2)
Review Date: 11/2/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Karin Gillespie's Bottom Dollar girls seem to have a lot of problems to be small town girls. A Dollar Short : The Bottom Dollar Girls Go Hollywood is about Chiffon and her husband who have tickets to go to California. Chiffon doesn't get to go, so she is shocked to learn that her husband has left her for a movie star. Chiffon's sister Chenille recently fired from her teaching job comes to help Chiffon with her children. Between the press and the crazy movie star, Chiffon has had enough.

The Bottom Dollar girls are local for me, so I enjoy reading about them. But I think they would appeal to other people who aren't from the area."


Don't Forget to Come Back!
Don't Forget to Come Back!
Author: Robie H. Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/4/2007


"Don't Forget to Come Back by Robie H. Harris is a fun book about a little girl who tries to talk her parents into staying home. Under the threat of running away and natural disasters, the parents still leave. She reminds them to come back.

This is listed as a baby-preschool book. I bought it for a preschooler with an above average reading level(high 1st grade, into 2nd grade). I don't think many preschooler will be able to read this by themselves. I read this to a group of 2nd graders recently. They loved it."


Dry Ice (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 15)
Dry Ice (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 15)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 1/17/2008


"Dry Ice is the 15th in Stephen White's Dr. Alan Gregory series. In this novel, Alan is battling his own demons about his past. Michael McClelland from his 1st novel is back and seems to know Alan's secrets. Kirsten Lord from White's novel The Program (9th in the series) is working with his lawyer to help find the link between Alan and the series of events that seem to be framing him for murder. Alan seems to be a long for the ride trying to keep his marriage together while staying ahead of the police and the evil McClelland."


1 to 20 of 86 - Page: