Cynthia L. R. (Honeygirl62) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 164 - Page:
100 Cross-Stitch Christmas Ornaments
100 Cross-Stitch Christmas Ornaments
Author: Carol Siegel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/4/2009


I have this book and I love it; it's one I'm not giving up. If you like counted cross-stitch and making your own Christmas decorations,you would like this book. I have made quite a few of the ornaments. The ones that are my favorites are the angels. I did them on the perforated paper and outlined them in gold ink. They are gorgeous.


The ADDED DIMENSION: CELEBRATING THE OPPORTUNITIES, REWARDS, AND CHALLENGES OF THE ADD EXPERIENCE
Review Date: 8/16/2009


This book is the follow-up to You Mean I'm Not Lazy, Stupid or Crazy?! It's not as good as the first book, which was excellent, but still very good. It describes actual examples of difficulties ADD people (mostly adults) have and each topic includes a "Way Around It" which is a coping technique. This book is more practical hands on advice as oppposed to just describing ADD.


Adventure Across the States: Collecting State Quarters And Other Coins (Official Whitman Guidebooks)
Review Date: 11/13/2009


92 pages. Suitable for a young person. Describes the hobby of coin collecting and basic terms. Finishes with a description of each kind of American coin, including the newer state quarters and Lewis and Clark nickels.


Airtight Case (Lindsay Chamberlain, Bk 5)
Airtight Case (Lindsay Chamberlain, Bk 5)
Author: Beverly Connor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/4/2011


I like this series of books about Lindsay Chamberlain but this one was the best so far! It would make a really good mystery movie.


Albion (NY)  (Images of America)
Albion (NY) (Images of America)
Author: Avis A. Townsend
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/18/2009


Loaded with black and white photos with captions, more pictures than text; really enjoyed the book.


All Creatures Great and Small
All Creatures Great and Small
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/16/2009


This book was wonderful. I expected it to be sweet and endearing but was surprised instead to find out what a fantastic author James Herriot was. The way he describes the people and animals and places really held my interest. The book has so many funny stories that made me burst out laughing. I give very few books a 5-star rating but this is one of them.


All Things Bright and Beautiful
All Things Bright and Beautiful
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/8/2009


This book follows All Creatures Great and Small. James Herriot has been working as a veterinarian in Darrowby for several years. Upon getting married, he became partners with his boss Siegfried. This book covers that time period up until he joins the RAF in World War II.
He describes many of his visits to the farms and his various animal patients and their owners with such affection that you can tell he truly loves it there. Even when he describes difficult people he has encountered, he tells the stories with such humor. Sometimes he reminisces back to times he was dating his wife Helen. He also describes many of the old procedures veterinarians had to use back then before the medical advances in this field.
I love the writing style of this author. He brings you into his world and you enjoy being there. Another 5-star rating.


All Things Wise and Wonderful
All Things Wise and Wonderful
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


In this book, James Herriot is in his mid-twenties, married and has a new baby boy. He writes about his experiences while in the RAF during World War II. He often compares the situations he finds himself in to memories he has working as a vetrinary surgeon before he enlisted. He has such a wonderful way of writing, the way he describes the countryside, the people there that he has grown to love, his love and soft-heartedness for animals. He has a way of poking fun at himself and making these adventures sound so funny. There are a few times when certain stories made me cry, too. I just love this author and his books and this one is another 5-star rating.


The American Grill
The American Grill
Author: David Barich, Thomas Ingalls
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/17/2009


When I requested this book, I didn't realized it was for authentic charcoal grilling. We have a gas grill so I was not able to actually use the book for grilling. However, I did read it and it has some pretty good side-dish recipes I'd like to try. The book shows photos of the completed recipes with their side dishes and also includes additional grilling tips. Cute little book.


Ancient Greece : From Prehistoric to Hellenistic Times (Yale Nota Bene)
Review Date: 3/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was the first history book on Greece that I have read and it really gave me a very broad understanding of the area from Prehistoric to Hellenistic Era, just as it says in the title. It gave a lot of information without being overwhelming. It was well written and easy to read and included a lot of great photos. I thoroughly enjoyed it.


Angels: A Piatkus Guide (Piatkus Guides)
Angels: A Piatkus Guide (Piatkus Guides)
Author: Paul Roland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/9/2009


The author of this book is a cult independent recording artist in England and he is often referred to as "England's psych-pop guru". His preoccupation with the supernatural takes an often whimsical slant in his lyrics. His distinctive style has ensured a loyal cult following in Europe if not in England. He is also considered a serious literary figure in his own right. He took a seven year break from music in 1997 to raise his two young sons and write a series of books on mysticism and true crime for major publishers. He is a qualified counsellor and teacher of mysticism and meditation. He runs workshops in facilitating contact with angels and has studied meditation, spiritual healing, Buddhism and practical magic.

In this book he claims to 'explain what angels are, their place and purpose in existence and how we can experience their love and inspiration; and to 'dispel many popular myths and misconceptions and provide original meditations, visualisation exercises, tuning-in and protection techniques to allow us to open up to angelic influences and communicate with the invisible realms.' The book is only 120 pages long but I found it a difficult read.

He gives lots of examples of historical references to angels, such as bible verses and ancient writings on the subjects, even from religions predating Christianity. I like history and liked those parts of the book. He gives exercises at the end of each chapter on how to communicate with angels. Those were weird to me but maybe it's because I'm not familiar with meditation or mysticism, etc. For the most part, I found the book confusing; it was hard to figure out what the author was really trying to say. I couldn't always tell if he was giving information to support a particular point or including it because it was interesting or because he was disagreeing with it.

I did not like the book because I did not like the author's writing style and did not feel it was well written. Even though I was unfamiliar with the subject matter, I feel a good author can engage the reader's interest and gently teach them something on the subject. I only came away confused. I would not recommend this book.


Angels Along the Way: My Life With Help from Above
Angels Along the Way: My Life With Help from Above
Author: Della Reese, Franklin Lett, Mim Eichler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/21/2009


I was amazed at the life this woman has lead. She grew up in one of the poorest neighborhoods in Chicago, surrounded by drinking, gambling, drugs and prostitution. She was raised by loving parents, her mother a devout Christian, and yet interacted daily with the people who were prostitutes, pimps and drug dealers, etc. (some of them her relatives). She is a gifted talented singer who sang in competitive Gospel choirs and traveled with professional singers on the road as a teenager. I will not tell you any more of the story because it's so interesting that you have to read it yourself. She is a very strong person who had a lot of heartache along the way but never lost her faith in God. A good autobiography and I would recommend it.


Animal-Speak Pocket Guide
Animal-Speak Pocket Guide
Author: Ted Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/6/2009


This is a cute little book; really is small enough to put in your purse or coat pocket. It has sections on Birds, Insects & Arachnids, Mammals, Reptiles and Sea Life and the spiritual message they are bringing us when our paths cross. It was fun looking up the animals when I would notice one on the way to work, etc. Kind of reminded me of my horoscope. However, it has a lot of unusual animals such as a capybara (what is that?) and orca but not some common animals such as the groundhog. Maybe not every animal is a "messenger". The novelty wore off after a few days.


Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
Review Date: 1/29/2012


I haven't thought this much about the source of my food since I read Farm Sanctuary three years ago. I learned so much about when vegetables are in season and at the peak of their flavor. You actually feel like you can do something about it by buying locally...you don't have to have your own farm or garden. You don't even have to can or freeze, although you should if you want to enjoy those local in season fruits and vegetables in the winter when nothing local is in season. The author interspersed all this information with humor and stories of her own family and friends in her year long experiment with eating locally. I highly recommend this book.


Arbors and Trellises
Arbors and Trellises
Author: Warren Schultz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/13/2009


Beautiful book, 72 pages of gorgeous color photographs showing almost every kind of arbor or trellis imaginable. Very little text in the book except for an introduction to each chapter and the captions of the photos. Gives you ideas for gardens and paths, etc. besides the arbors themselves. Inspired me for our arbor at one house, and then we did a different arbor when we moved to a new house.


Beauty Fades, Dumb Is Forever: The Making of a Happy Woman
Beauty Fades, Dumb Is Forever: The Making of a Happy Woman
Author: Judy Sheindlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/22/2016


Judge Judy gives good advice, and one would hope a judge is wise. However, I enjoyed the book more for learning about Judy Sheindlin, the person behind "Judge Judy."


Becoming German: The 1709 Palatine Migration to New York
Becoming German: The 1709 Palatine Migration to New York
Author: Philip Otterness
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/19/2011


This is an excellent book, well written and easy to read. I really felt I understood this group of people and their journey when I was through. My ancestors are part of the Palatine migration so I will not be swapping my copy, but I highly recommend it to anyone interested in this historical period and geographical area.


Belva a. Lockwood
Belva a. Lockwood
Author: Julia Hull Winner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2011


I became curious about Belva Lockwood when I found out she grew up right down the road from where I grew up (though she was born 130 years before me). This book is published by our local historical society and is comprised mostly of newspaper articles that were published about Belva Lockwood. The beginning of the book starts out very interesting as it is a brief biography of her life. The middle of the book bogs down a little with so many newspaper articles about her running for president, etc. The end of the book has some material that Belva wrote about herself and her life...that was very interesting and finished off the book really well.


Beyond Belief : The Secret Gospel of Thomas
Beyond Belief : The Secret Gospel of Thomas
Author: Elaine Pagels
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Comparison of the Gospel of Thomas that was found at Nag Hammadi to the Gospel of John, and comparison of the Gospel of John to the Gospels of Matthew, Mark and Luke. Early history of the Christian Church and key players in the formation of the New Testament.


The Bishop's Daughter (Daughters of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
The Bishop's Daughter (Daughters of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
Author: Wanda E. Brunstetter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 223
Review Date: 4/19/2009


I liked the story and was eager to see how it ended. It was interesting to see how someone who was adopted would feel at finding out for the first time. I also enjoyed reading about the Amish people. You hear how hard working and pious they are but I was surprised to learn how warm and affectionate they are.


1 to 20 of 164 - Page: