A. G. (Aubs) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 5/7/2006


I didn't get it. I was expecting it to be as funny as he is on NPR and it just wasn't.


The Brothers Bulger : How They Terrorized and Corrupted Boston for a Quarter Century
Review Date: 4/17/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The book starts off a little slow, but it picks up quickly. I found the connections between law enforcement, politicians, the Winter Hill gang and La Cosa Nostra absolutely facinating. It's amazing how intertwined everything was and the control that the local mob had on the community, as well as the power obtained by Billy Bulger.


Crossing Over
Crossing Over
Author: John Edward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/14/2006


I enjoyed this book. It's basically a biography about John Edward and how he got to his TV show on Sci Fi.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 5/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


It was very difficult for me to get into this book. I enjoy History on great events, however I just found myself bored and uninterested. I guess I had too high of hopes for the book and it just didn't hold up.


The Drowning Room
The Drowning Room
Author: Michael Pye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/11/2007


I thought this book was horrible. 1/2 way through I kept asking myself where the book was going. I found it confusing and not interesting at all.


Hard Times
Hard Times
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/15/2006


Another book I read in college. Made me want to do my Masters work on the corelations between History and Literature.


Haweswater
Haweswater
Author: Sarah Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/26/2006


I found the book rather boring. Hall's writing style is sometimes poetic and sometimes that writing becomes forced. The best parts were where Hall had to do some historical research of the book. I felt that she wrote those passages best.


The Island of Dr. Moreau (Dover Thrift Editions)
The Island of Dr. Moreau (Dover Thrift Editions)
Author: H. G. Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/15/2006


Not one of my favorites. Actually made me NOT want to see the movie.


Lost
Lost
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 7/10/2006


I was LOST reading this book. Not one of his best works. Just as good as 'Mirror Mirror', which was horrible.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 895
Review Date: 5/3/2006


Beautifully written. I couldn't put the book down.


The Mezzanine
The Mezzanine
Author: Nicholson Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/19/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The book starts off very quirky and funny. By the end of the book I was ready for it to be over with and started skimming. The footnotes on the pages are also fun at first, but become more of a hassle when they run onto more than one page and you have to come back to read the information.


The Pleasure of My Company
The Pleasure of My Company
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 5/23/2006
Helpful Score: 3


It is difficult for me to explain why I liked this book. There was just something very innocent about it, which I found refreshing.


Secrecy and Power: The Life of J. Edgar Hoover
Secrecy and Power: The Life of J. Edgar Hoover
Author: Richard Gid Powers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/15/2006


I read this in college and it was one of the many books I enjoyed.


Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas
Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 692
Review Date: 4/14/2006


"Katie Wilkinson has finally found the perfect man-but one day he suddenly disappears, leaving behind only a diary written by a new mother names Suzanne for her baby Nicholas. In it she intimately reveals the romance between herself and the child's father, her hopes for their marriage, and her unparalleled joy in motherhood. As Katie reads on, she realizes that the man she loves is Suzanne's husband. Now, filled with terror and hope, Katie must struggle to understand what has happened-and find out if her new love has a prayer of surviving." - From inside cover of the book


Tears of the Giraffe (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 2)
Tears of the Giraffe (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 2)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 609
Review Date: 7/10/2006


Another entertaining book by Smith. This is the second book in the series and like the first is a quick read. This book focuses on the search for a missing American son, lost over 10 years ago.


Your Baby's First Year: Week By Week (Your Pregnancy Series), Second Edition
Review Date: 10/29/2007


I have to admit that I just don't care for this book. I like the 'What to Expect...First Year' better. I didn't read any pregnancy books and was recommend both (bought both) this and the 'What to Expect..' book once I had the baby. It's just a little too plain for me.


1 to 16 of 16