Kathryn (Kmarie) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 527 - Page:
100 Great American Novels
100 Great American Novels
Author: Morehead, Blum and others
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/28/2005


This is an old book, but it covers 100 Great American Novels with full pronouncing index, plot outlines, author biographies, critical and historical data. 1966


204 Rosewood Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 2)
204 Rosewood Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 10/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I'm sure this is in the category of âwomen's fiction,â if there is such a thing. I did not think I would like this book very much, nor the series. However, I found myself swept away by the first book in the series, 16 Lighthouse Road, and went straight to this book after finishing it! I never go from book to book in a series, but read something in between. Not this one! I was so interested and invested in the characters that I wanted to keep going. I'm not a typical romance reader, but while this series and book have romantic relationships, it doesn't feel like a âromanceâ novel. It is very well written and quite compelling! I really have enjoyed getting to know the characters!


311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 10/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I went straight from book one to book two, and then to this one, book three. I thought by now I would be burnt out on reading this series, but NO! I am just as eager to read book 4 as I was the second and third! I don't want to give away any of the plot, but it is a satisfying read that kept me wanting more. Hard to put down!


44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 11/9/2007


Excellent series, one that has kept me reading book after book. This one has a major cliffhanger which was irritating as I had hoped to read another book first before going on to the 5th. I never dreamed I'd love a book classified as "romance" but these are complex and interesting stories about a small town of friends.


Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


a fun, lighthearted read! A great cozy mystery-- not too intense, all around good fun.


Absolute Power
Absolute Power
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 6/28/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Can the President of the United States get away with murder? The fictional answer to this question has set the literary world on fire and transformed David Baldacci into a household name and overnight success. Going beyond the classic works of John Grisham and Robert Ludlum, Absolute Power combines the highest levels of political intrigue with big-money law, cutting-edge forensics, and the riveting search for a truth hidden within the power of the Oval Office.


Acceptable Risk
Acceptable Risk
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 8/16/2005
Helpful Score: 9


Prozac-like drugs are being prescribed not only for their original purposes but increasingly to alter individual personalities to currently valued norms. With dead-on accuracy and the prescience of tomorrow's headlines, Robin Cook explores the perilous intersection where fame and unfathomable lucre waylay and seduce the very best and brightest of those sworn to do no harm. When neuroscientist Edward Armstrong begins dating Kimberly Stewart, a descendant of a woman who was hanged as a witch at the time of the Salem witch trials, he takes advantage of the opportunity to delve into a pet theory: that the "devil" in Salem in 1692 had been a hallucinogenic drug inadvertently consumed with mold-tainted grain. In an attempt to prove his theory, Edward grows the mold he believes responsible from samples taken from the Stewart estate. In a brilliant designer-drug transformation, the poison becomes Ultra, the next generation of antidepressants with truly startling therapeutic capabilities. Acceptable Risk is a story of quest: a researcher's quest for the ultimate drug and a woman's quest for self-understanding. Unbeknownst to either person, the two seemingly separate quests collide with devastating consequences.


Adam Bede
Adam Bede
Author: George Eliot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/29/2005


The English Midlands at the turn of the eighteenth century is the setting for George Eliot's moving novel of three unworldly people trapped by unwise love. Adam Bede, a simple carpenter, loves too blindly; Hetty Sorrel, a coquettish beauty, loves too recklessly; and Arthur Donnithorne, a dashing squire, loves too carelessly. Betrayed by their innocence, vanity, and imprudence, their foolish hearts lead them to a tragic triangle of seduction, murder, and retribution. With emotional sincerity and intellectual integrity, George Eliot probes deeply into the psychology of commonplace people caught in the act of uncommon heroics. Alexandre Dumas called this novel "the masterpiece of the century."


The Adventures of Captain Underpants (Captain Underpants, Bk 1)
The Adventures of Captain Underpants (Captain Underpants, Bk 1)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 1/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Really funny and cute book! It is good for "chapter readers" or to be read aloud. Fun for boys or girls, though the main characters are boys.


African Diary
African Diary
Author: Wayne Dehoney
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 9/16/2005


158 pages, with photos. It was published by Broadman Press in 1966
nearly 40 years old!
PHOTOS

"If they in Africa can do so much with so little,
Why are we doing so little with so much?"

From the preface:
"Africa is not a fact. It is an experience. Africa is something you must feel. Like compassion felt for a hobbling child learning to walk. Like the awesome ecstasy of watching a rolling tide. Like the shock of seeing a giant in the doorway. For a Giant has stepped from the shadows of millenia in darkness to challenge the world. A Giant of many moods: threatening, laughing, weeping, arrogant, pleading, and especially, demanding, refusing to be ignored by the twentieth century. This is the Giant I want you to know; the Africa that facts and statistics alone cannot portray"


Against The Rules
Against The Rules
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 9/1/2005


At 17, Cathryn had fought Rule Jackson and lost. And then she fled to the anonymity of the city. Now Cat was back, sure of herself and her newfound independence, and ready to challenge Rule like never before. And she would win--because now she was his boss and she held all the cards. But Rule had raised the stakes, and if she lost again the penalty would be high. Reissue.


Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/27/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I am so enjoying this series! I'm well aware that Agatha Raisin is clearly a character that one either loves or hates, but I have found myself in the former group, and am thrilled to have a new series to enjoy! A true British cozy, I enjoyed every word of this book. It is intelligent and fun reading! Not too heavy but certainly not too fluffy. Agatha Raisin is a flawed character, and set in her ways. She is outspoken and yet tenderhearted, still longing for romance in her life. There is a hysterical scene in this one that had me laughing loudly while my husband next to me in bed was trying to sleep. It is worth the price of the book, by far! This second book was far more skillfully edited than the first, and I liked this one even better than the first, The Quiche of Death. I am so happy to have many books ahead of me in this series, as I'm quite fond of the crusty Agatha!


Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/27/2008


I am so enjoying this series! I'm well aware that Agatha Raisin is clearly a character that one either loves or hates, but I have found myself in the former group, and am thrilled to have a new series to enjoy! A true British cozy, I enjoyed every word of this book. It is intelligent and fun reading! Not too heavy but certainly not too fluffy. Agatha Raisin is a flawed character, and set in her ways. She is outspoken and yet tenderhearted, still longing for romance in her life. There is a hysterical scene in this one that had me laughing loudly while my husband next to me in bed was trying to sleep. It is worth the price of the book, by far! This second book was far more skillfully edited than the first, and I liked this one even better than the first, The Quiche of Death. I am so happy to have many books ahead of me in this series, as I'm quite fond of the crusty Agatha!


Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2) (Large Print)
Review Date: 2/27/2008


I am so enjoying this series! I'm well aware that Agatha Raisin is clearly a character that one either loves or hates, but I have found myself in the former group, and am thrilled to have a new series to enjoy! A true British cozy, I enjoyed every word of this book. It is intelligent and fun reading! Not too heavy but certainly not too fluffy. Agatha Raisin is a flawed character, and set in her ways. She is outspoken and yet tenderhearted, still longing for romance in her life. There is a hysterical scene in this one that had me laughing loudly while my husband next to me in bed was trying to sleep. It is worth the price of the book, by far! This second book was far more skillfully edited than the first, and I liked this one even better than the first, The Quiche of Death. I am so happy to have many books ahead of me in this series, as I'm quite fond of the crusty Agatha!


Alas, Babylon
Alas, Babylon
Author: Pat Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/29/2005


"Alas, Babylon." Those fateful words heralded the end. When a nuclear holocaust ravages the United States, a thousand years of civilization are stripped away overnight, and tens of millions of people are killed instantly. But for one small town in Florida, miraculously spared, the struggle is just beginning, as men and women of all backgrounds join together to confront the darkness.


Alice's Tulips
Alice's Tulips
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I was taken in by this book the moment that I opened its cover. I love this author's writing style, and loved the setting of the Civil War era, in Iowa. Funny, but I used to live near where this fictional town was located and my town was mentioned several times! Very powerful and moving book, written as letters to a sister.


All Creatures Great and Small
All Creatures Great and Small
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/12/2006
Helpful Score: 2


These are the stories that catapulted James Herriot to literary fame. When this book was first published, it was merely a simple volume of memoirs by an unknown Scottish veterinarian. But within a year, the book became recognized as a masterpiece. And in the three decades that followed, Dr. Herriot became one of the most universally loved authors of our time.

In this first volume of memoirs, then-newly-qualified vet James Herriot arrives in the small Yorkshire village of Darrowby and he has no idea what to expect. How will he get on with his new boss? With the local farmers? And what will the animals think? This program is filled with hilarious and touching tales of the unpredictable Sigfriend Farnon, Sigfreid's zany brother, Tristan, and Herriot's first encounters with a beautiful girl called Helen.

Now as then, All Creatures Great and Small is full of humor, warmth, pathos, drama, and James Herriot's love of life. His journey across the Yorkshire dales, and his encounters with humans and dogs, cows, and kittens are lovingly told by Christopher Timothy with all the fascination, affection, and joy that suffuses Dr. Herriot's work.


All the Best in Belgium and Luxembourg
Review Date: 11/19/2005


With Illustrations and Maps, this hardback edition was published in 1961, but originally in 1956


All the Best in Holland
All the Best in Holland
Author: Sydney Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 11/19/2005


1963 Hardback originally published in 1950, with Illustrations and maps.


All Things Bright and Beautiful
All Things Bright and Beautiful
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/12/2006


Two years ago when we published James Herriot's All Creatures Great and Small, we called it a "miracle between covers." In the first major review of the book, Alfred Ames said: "If there is any justice, All Creatures Great and Small will become a classic of its kind. The publishers call it a miracle--not too strong a word for a book that offers something for everyone: gusto, humor, pathos, information, romance, insight, style. It is vicarious living with one of the happiest and most admirable of people, a veterinary surgeon in the Yorkshire dales who can write superlatively well."

James, the miracle worker, has done it again. All Things Bright and Beautiful is precisely the warm and joyful sequel that readers all over America have been asking for. James is now married, and he and Helen live on the top floor of Skeldale House, while his former boss, now partner, Siegfried lives downstairs with Siegfried's brother Tristan. James continues the rich and rewarding day-to-day life of a small-town veterinarian, and we journey with him across the dales meeting a whole new cast of unforgettable characters--humans, dogs, horses, lambs, parakeets--all of them drawn with the same infinite fascination, affection, and insight that have made Herriot one of the most beloved authors of our time. This is the most loving book of the year to have--or to give.


1 to 20 of 527 - Page: