Stacie P. (froot) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 179 - Page:
100 Words for Lovers
100 Words for Lovers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/26/2011


Just a small quick refernce dictionary, but boy have I used this thing over and over again. It really comes in handy if you are trying to write a love letter.


The 13th Apostle
The 13th Apostle
Author: Richard F. Heller, Rachael F. Heller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/5/2007
Helpful Score: 7


The story takes you from present day back to the time of Jesus. You really feel like you are walking and talking with Him. And there are many surprises! The secret that He gives to the 13th Apostle is buried and discovered by a knight during the Crusades. Before being burned at the stake for heresy, the knight entrusts the secret to his brother, who is a monk. The monk hides the secret, which is discovered a thousand years later by Sabbie, a strong young woman and Gil, a smart and isolated Internet forensics specialist. Both Sabbie and Gil have been through their own personal tragedies and both have carved out safe little places of isolation in life. In pursuit of the secret, they are thrown together and forced to work as a team to locate the secret of the 13th Apostle and to save it from two opposing forces - those who want to exploit it and those who want to destroy it.

The relationship between Sabbie and Gil is absolutely wonderful. Genuine, entertaining, surprising, sexy and unpredictable. The race to find the secret before their evil pursuers discovers it, had me on the edge of my chair. The danger was palpable and heart racing. The climax was totally engrossing (I won't spoil it by telling you but, trust me, it was great). The final scene, in which the secret is revealed, was superb.


Americas Best Lost Recipes: More than 150 heirloom recipes too good to forget
Review Date: 9/8/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I have made most of the sensible recipes in this book. Some were just too unappetizing and complex for me to tackle. There are a few worthy winners: Texas Chili Dogs, German Hamburgers, Orange drop doughnuts, monkey bread, Hungarian sweet rolls, Pioneer bread, Bourbon Cake, Mincemeat cake, Joe Foggers Molasses cookies to name a few. For anyone looking for unique lost recipes, this is a good read.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 10/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is much better than the DaVinci Code. There is a lot more attention to detail and historic figures that give a much better background suspense. There is still this great sense of cover-up conspiracy from the vatican; but the plot to this book is much thicker. A great read.


Ardor : A Novel of Enchantment
Ardor : A Novel of Enchantment
Author: Lily Prior
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/29/2008


Cute little story with a very sexy ending.


Ascend
Ascend
Author: Amanda Hocking
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/8/2013


Man I love this series. This is the Third installment in the Trylle series. I was completely shocked how this turned out and I do not say that too often with books. Usually stories can be predictable, but this one took so may turns it was a delight and impossible to put down.

Wendy is faced with full filling her obligations and duty to the kingdom. Her abilities from training are growing stronger. But despite all her progress the people of her kingdom still want to send her back to her father to prevent him from killing them all. Wendy is torn with passion with Finn and now being engaged by arrangement to Tove makes things all the harder. Loki the Vittra prince steps in and shows Wendy there is more to hope for.


MUST READ! And get all three because they really are seamless.


The Baby Bump: 100s of Secrets to Surviving Those 9 Long Months
The Baby Bump: 100s of Secrets to Surviving Those 9 Long Months
Author: Carley Roney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/20/2011


Definately a great read for a mother to be. Great illustrations. What to expect is really broken down well and put into simpler terms than just the traditional What to expect when prego book. Very colorful. There are even checklists in the back that are really helpful!!


Balance Is a Crock, Sleep Is for the Weak: An Indispensable Guide to Surviving Working Motherhood
Review Date: 6/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


With a title like this I expected much more encouragement from this book. Anyone who may be new to motherhood and working full time may find this book as a warning; "Look out!" It's discouraging. More of the negative points are brought up than any exploration for organization or stress relief. It's really a focus towards new mothers that have no clue on where to pull themselves together. This would most definitely be a bad read for anyone with postpartum depression. Working and being a mom is not this bad.

The end of this miserable public rant, appears to point fingers at bad husbands who do nothing. UGH! These women should admit they are not happy people and not have published this PMS literary poo.


Bayou Dogs (The Haunting Of Derek Stone)
Bayou Dogs (The Haunting Of Derek Stone)
Author: Tony Abbott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another quick spoky read from this author. I was slightly disappointed with the ending of this boo compared to the first. I am still anxious to see how things turn up.


Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 1/21/2011


I like this story. I wanted to love it but couldn't appreciate it until I completed it's sequel. The story told from the mortal boy Ethan Wate's perspective was if only intriguing just enough to keep me reading. The writing style is obvious between the two authors. After a while, I didn't care and became vested in the two main characters lives. The love story that unfolds between these two teenagers is warming. Unfortunately there is NO CLOSURE in this book. Reader beware: to love this story you must read the second novel "Beautiful Darkness". Otherwise I am afraid you will be left annoyed and confused like I was. The first few chapters of the second book needed to be in the first.

Ethan Wate soon learns that not everything in his life is as it appears in the literal sense. Lena the new girl in the small town of Gaitin helps him in discovering the hidden world in plain sight around him.


Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 2)
Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 2)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/21/2011


Ethan Wate and Lena Duchanes are two teenagers in love but torn apart from supernatural circumstances. Their love is tested in this second book. It was gut wrenching to feel so much for the characters and then see them torn apart in this book. Most of this book was a journey of discovery more for Ethan in this book, unlike the first book where most of it appeared to pertain to Lena. I spent a lot of time counting pages til the end of chapters looking for the end. About 300 pages in, the story picked up and became meaningful. Now I love it. And I look forward to the next.


The Bedside Book of Beasts: A Wildlife Miscellany
The Bedside Book of Beasts: A Wildlife Miscellany
Author: Graeme Gibson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/25/2011


This book reads like a colletion of things from an encyclopedia. Brief stories some from great literature that never gets noticed that often. I loved the illustrations in this book. I loved the premise behind the idea for the book, but it's just something I'll look at briefly if I am stuck on inspiration or bored in the toilet.


Benny & Shrimp
Benny & Shrimp
Author: Katarina Mazetti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 1/4/2010


Shrimp = widow who visits hubby's grave almost every day. Mulls over what went wrong with her marrage. Benny = plants trees, grounds keeper (creepily stalks Shrimp). One day they look at one another and decide they are seeing each other really for the first time.....what just happened here.?.?.?.?.?... I do not think that this was a romantic affair of the heart. In fact I was creeped out by Benny and mostly frustrated with the pathetic female character Shrimp. I'm sorry I picked up this trash.


Best-Loved Christmas Recipes
Best-Loved Christmas Recipes
Author: Favorite Brand Name Recipes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Very colorful, lots of pictures, not too complicated recipes. Some are traditional while others were worthy of a try. There were a few good ideas that I have added to my own christmas traditions.


Beyond Time-Out: From Chaos to Calm
Beyond Time-Out: From Chaos to Calm
Author: Beth A. Grosshans, Janet H. Burton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/31/2009


For the new parent struggling with toddler issues that may not come as common sense for you. There were a few helpful hints in this book, but as a whole there are better suggestions out there in chat rooms or advice boards on the web. No one knows your kid like you. And as this book suggests, kissing your kid at the end of the night and walking away may not do it for you. I personally need to gate my little one in his room and hide in the basement until he passes out on the floor. The only thing this book has taught me is to curb my temper. The Chaos to Calm part of the title applied more to my nerves.


Big Bad Wolf (Others, Bk 2)
Big Bad Wolf (Others, Bk 2)
Author: Christine Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 11/15/2011


YUMMIE!!!!! Could not walk away from this one. It's all fluff, but good fluff. The story didn't suck. The characters could have used a bit more depth but I loved it anyway.

Missy is a plain jane kidnergarden teacher. Graham is a werewolf who has just marked Missy as his mate. In between them is Curtis another were lobbing and plotting against Graham for alpha position, but Missy is in his way. Great chase, if you think about it too much it becomes creepy. It's not meant to be a deep read.


Review Date: 3/8/2011


An ok read. the only story I was excited to read was the Sookie Stackhouse short which shed some light on Waldo. Good for people looking to sample other authors.


Blood Feud (Drake Chronicles, Bk 2)
Blood Feud (Drake Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Alyxandra Harvey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/24/2012


Unfortunately this was my first book for this series. The author relies heavily on your knowledge of prior stories. I did not realize that when I picked this up. It is a completely teen read. Smoochies is nice, but come on...they are vampires and a few hundred years old. They could afford a little dirty. This story was so clean I could have read it to my 5 year old.

Isabeau is a french vampire/hound, & Logan is from the Drake family. The flash backs for Isabeau were killing me, but necessary to supply the background for this story which picks up from the previous book. I wish the author could have found another way to do that. I was also more drawn to the Logan voice of this story. I can't say that this is a good book. It felt like a mess that needed more beef and polish. That aside, I loved what was happening between Logan and Isabeau and look forward to more. I will continue to read only because I am hoping they get better.


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 8/31/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Great fast paced read. McKayla Lane was just a normal girl thrown into the supernatural world after the mysterious death of her sister. In this second book, Mac's experiences have forced her to suffer her old self and push forward thinking exploring her newfound senses. I love how this book has philosophy incorporated into it. Most of these paranormal romance novels really miss some key points. This book deconstructs human behavior and positive thinking in such a great way and still keep the fictional story written well. What I loved best about this book was the clashing and tension between Mac and Jericho Barrons. Finally sex. Nail biting and exciting. I'm wishing for more.


Bloodroot
Bloodroot
Author: Amy Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 7/16/2011


Not the book for me I suppose. I hated jumping back and forth with the format of this book. What was even more difficult and annoying was reading the written language accents. I quit after 15 pages. I'm sure to someone it's a good book. But I hated it.


1 to 20 of 179 - Page: