Linda R. (lruth) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
204 Rosewood Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 2)
204 Rosewood Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 6/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a good series for taking breaks between other series. Reading it is restful and the characters become like old friends you know. It really is like listening to some good gossip. I don't know if one book alone would be that satisfying but starting from the beginning and working your way through soothes and entertains.


311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 478
Review Date: 3/9/2010


I don't find these books to have a huge narrative momentum--they are not exactly edge-of-the-seaters. The characters seem just a bit wooden, and the dialog isn't compelling or even super realistic.

BUT. There is something so sweet, peaceful, and relaxing about reading this series. You get familiar with the characters, and there are questions left open from one book to the next that keep you interested in what might happen next time. I find I keep reading them from one book to the next, and even look forward to them, and enjoy being in the middle of one. So I guess I'll stick with the series, and recommend it to the group.


44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 501
Review Date: 6/2/2010


As you read each of these books it becomes that much more inevitable that you'll read the next one.


44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street, Bk 1)
44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street, Bk 1)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 6/15/2017


Reading the #1 Detective Agency books is a bit of a guilty pleasure for me, as I'm not sure if I ought to be reading about a Botswanian woman detective written by a male Scotsman. However, 44 Scotland Street has a lot of the same charm and feels guilt free.


50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 609
Review Date: 6/2/2010


I'm getting to be a real part of the family over there at Cedar Cover...


6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 6/9/2010


Each book you read of this series gets a little warmer, a little better, as the characters become more familiar. If you want to read to relax, this is a very nice way of doing so.


The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Penguin Classics)
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Penguin Classics)
Author: Mark Twain, Guy Cardwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Greatest American book ever. What be said beyond that?


Adventures of Tom Sawyer (Children's Classics)
Adventures of Tom Sawyer (Children's Classics)
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Everyone needs to read this at least once!


An Instance of the Fingerpost
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Author: Iain Pears
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/10/2016


Enjoying it very much!


Bad News (Dortmunder, Bk 10)
Bad News (Dortmunder, Bk 10)
Author: Donald E. Westlake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/2/2010


This book is really funny! Read it on a plane and laugh out loud the whole way. Great situations, great characters, great resolutions.


The Bad Seed
The Bad Seed
Author: William March
Book Type: Hardback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/21/2012


It's fascinating to me that, although this book was written decades ago, the observations and perceptions appear to be very current. The description of the pathologies seem eerily accurate even from the standpoint of today's knowledge.


Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Author: Jess Walter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Wow! Really good! Really interesting and readable AND good writing--a nice combo.


Brothers Keepers
Brothers Keepers
Author: Donald E. Westlake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/18/2010


A great Westlake--very funny, great dialog, hero an innocent with smarts. This is the reason I continue to read Westlake!


C is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 3)
C is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 3)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/2/2010


Kinsey Milhone is fun and entertaining. I like her voice and her style. Sticking with her!


A Coffin for Dimitrios (aka The Mask of Dimitrios) (Charles Latimer, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/22/2015


Great early noir.


Courting Trouble (Rosato and Associates, Bk 9)
Courting Trouble (Rosato and Associates, Bk 9)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 6/2/2010


I've just discovered Lisa Scottoline and she is GOOD. I feel as if she should be more famous. Her plots have some nice surprises, her initial premises are above average interesting, her characters are original, whimsical, realistic, funny. I intend to read all her books!


Daughters-in-Law
Daughters-in-Law
Author: Joanna Trollope
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I love Joanna Trollope! It's so nice to read a book that deals with relationships and situations most people don't write about, or if they do they do it in ways that are broad and stereotypical. Joanna Trollope is always nuanced, always interesting. Daughters-in-law does not disappoint.


Death of a Stranger (William Monk, Bk 13)
Death of a Stranger (William Monk, Bk 13)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/26/2015


An averagely good story in its genre. Definitely on the readable side of the scale. Necessary if you're following the adventures of Hester and Monk.


Dirty Blonde
Dirty Blonde
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 6/2/2010


Why do I like the self-destructive protagonist of this book? Don't know, but I do! Anyway, she's smart and it's fascinating to read the legal stuff. Scottoline rocks.


The Double Comfort Safari Club (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 11)
Review Date: 7/7/2016


These books are so similar from one to another in so many ways that I forget sometimes whether I've read a specific one or not. Yes at the same time, they get better, not worse, for the familiarity.


1 to 20 of 56 - Page: