P.J. C. (mizPJ) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 170 - Page:
All Passion Spent
All Passion Spent
Author: Vita Sackville West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/5/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I was surprised at how readable this book was, how universal some of the sentiments expressed are in today's world. I would not have appreciated this book 20 or 30 years ago - just didn't have the life experience required.


All the Flowers Are Dying (Matthew Scudder, Bk 16)
All the Flowers Are Dying (Matthew Scudder, Bk 16)
Author: Lawrence Block
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 6/24/2006


I got literally almost half way through this book (page 154 of 354) and decided that, no matter how wonderful a writer Larry Block is, and he IS a great writer, I just didn't want to read any more about all the bad things that happened, and were going to happen. So I put it down, and am making it available to someone who will enjoy it for the wonderful book it may well be.


Alpha City 2050
Alpha City 2050
Author: James Gillam
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/19/2005


Young Adult adventure Sci-Fi, geared towards males more than females. see my review on www.reviewingtheevidence.com (when it's posted)


The Alpine Escape (Emma Lord, Bk 5)
The Alpine Escape (Emma Lord, Bk 5)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 3/2/2006


I found this a little slow going; took a while to get into it. It's a historical mystery, although the main characters are living in the present. Lots of geneology; lots of names to keep track of, which isn't easy. Not the best book in the series.


The Alpine Fury (Emma Lord, Bk 6)
The Alpine Fury (Emma Lord, Bk 6)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/15/2006


Continues in fine form the tradition begun woth the first 5 books in the "Alpine" series. Always a pleasure to read these.


Alpine Hero (Emma Lord Bk. 8)
Alpine Hero (Emma Lord Bk. 8)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 5/9/2006


Daheim just keeps putting out one good book after another in this series.


The Alpine Icon (Emma Lord, Bk 9)
The Alpine Icon (Emma Lord, Bk 9)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/15/2006


Another fine entry in the series.


Alpine Journey  (Emma Lord, Bk 10)
Alpine Journey (Emma Lord, Bk 10)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 5/12/2006


As always, a good read.


The Alpine Kindred (Emma Lord, Bk 11)
The Alpine Kindred (Emma Lord, Bk 11)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 6/15/2006


Up to her usual high standards.


The Alpine Legacy (Emma Lord Bk. 12)
The Alpine Legacy (Emma Lord Bk. 12)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


NOT her best book. An egregious error, and a plot resolution that came out of left field with no adequate prep for the reader. Don't start the series with this one.


Amorelle
Amorelle
Author: Grace Livingston Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/7/2016


This is a typical GLH book - sure to satisfy those who share the same values as GLH. I enjoyed it, as I enjoy almost all of her books.


The Anatomy of Hope: How People Prevail in The Face of Illness
Review Date: 5/4/2007


Insightful, inspiring, not at all boring or heavy


Baby Shark's Beaumont Blues
Baby Shark's Beaumont Blues
Author: Robert Fate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/20/2010


Fate has done another wonderful job. This series is seriously under-rated. The characters are vivid, the setting an asset to the rest of the book, the plotting believable. If you like gutsy female protagonists who don't take crap from anyone, here's another series for you. If Charlaine Harris's Shakespeare series is one of your faves - read this. If Virgnia Lanier's Bloodhound series made you want more - here it is.


Bag Limit
Bag Limit
Author: Steven F. Havill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/4/2006


Up to Havill's usual high standards.


Bark M For Murder
Bark M For Murder
Author: J. A. Jance, Virginia Lanier, Chassie West, Lee Charles Kelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/27/2006


check out www.reviewingtheevidence.com to see if my review has been posted there. Good book for checking out new authors.


Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Night Wolf
Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Night Wolf
Author: Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Thoroughly enjoyed it. Wish there were more available in this series by this author in audiobook form. Passing it on to the nieces. Would be a good listen/read for boys, particularly those that enjoy adventure and the like.


Behind the Scenes, Or, Thirty Years a Slave, and Four Years in the White House (Schomburg Library of Nineteenth-Century Black Women Writers)
Review Date: 5/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting look at history from an angle not expected.


Review Date: 10/3/2006


Alas, I'm a total omnivore and this wasn't what I wanted.


The Big Gamble (Kevin Kerney, Bk 7)
The Big Gamble (Kevin Kerney, Bk 7)
Author: Michael McGarrity
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 10/7/2005


haven't read it


The Black Opal
The Black Opal
Author: Victoria Holt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/10/2005


Typical Victoria Holt bodice-ropper, although actually no bodices are ripped. Quality romance in a historical setting; strong female characters - even the bad ones.


1 to 20 of 170 - Page: