Susan H. (Higfin) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 191 - Page:
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
Review Date: 3/21/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book. It took me a while to get into it, but once I did, I could not put it down. I thought it was well written, with a very very dry humor. It made me think about an entirely different perspective on life- instead of planning for adventure, to simply live and let adventure happen.


300 Incredible Things for Kids to do on the Internet
300 Incredible Things for Kids to do on the Internet
Author: Ken Lebow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/17/2011


this is not the greatest resource. a lot of the websites are no longer active, and a lot are not really geared to kids. I was pretty disappointed.


84, Charing Cross Road
84, Charing Cross Road
Author: Helene Hanff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 5/19/2012
Helpful Score: 2


What a lovely book. It is a quick read, but really captures a relationship between friends and books. I loved it.


About Alice
About Alice
Author: Calvin Trillin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 9/3/2011


This is a wonderful memoir. It made me want to follow Trillin in how wonderfully he loved his wife.


The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Review Date: 3/2/2011


This was a very entertaining and illuminating book. I have not read very many books about Native Americans in modern times, and this book really gives some insight as to what life is like on reservations. It also is a great coming of age story.


The Abundance: A Novel
The Abundance: A Novel
Author: Amit Majmudar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/5/2017


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is an easy read but there are some deep thoughts.


Accordion Crimes
Accordion Crimes
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 2/28/2010


This was such an interesting way to tell a story- through an accordion. It was a good book and a fun read, but I was left wanting for a bit more meatiness.


Adios, Happy Homeland
Adios, Happy Homeland
Author: Ana Menendez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/28/2015


It was okay.


After You
After You
Author: Julie Buxbaum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/25/2013


not the greatest book i ever read but a nice and engaging read


After You'd Gone
After You'd Gone
Author: Maggie O'Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/21/2011


This book was astounding.


Aftertaste: A Novel in Five Courses
Aftertaste: A Novel in Five Courses
Author: Meredith Mileti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/27/2014


This was a fun light read. I enjoyed it once I got past the first 65 pages.


Ali in Wonderland: And Other Tall Tales
Ali in Wonderland: And Other Tall Tales
Author: Ali Wentworth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/7/2013


This was a fun book to read, especially in the heat of summer. I have read far more humorous books though.


Amy and Isabelle
Amy and Isabelle
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/24/2012


It took me a while to get into the flow of this book about a mother and daughter, but wow. The descriptions of the town, sexuality, relationships between women and women and men are phenomenal.


An Unfinished Life (Random House Large Print)
An Unfinished Life (Random House Large Print)
Author: Mark Spragg, Mark Spragg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/7/2011


It took me a while to get into this book but wow- I am so glad that I did. It is a very well told and well crafted tale.


An Unquiet Mind
An Unquiet Mind
Author: Kay Redfield Jamison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/20/2013


This memoir is good and revealing, and I learned a lot about maniac-depressive illness. I thought it was a bit too long, and that it would have been much improved if the other side of the story had been told concurrently. Bits and pieces were missing, as though she was not ready to truly tell us everything.


Angelina's Bachelors: A Novel with Food
Angelina's Bachelors: A Novel with Food
Author: Brian O'Reilly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/28/2012


I enjoyed this book. I loved the recipes. I thought it was a bit formulaic and trite, but it is a perfect beach book.


Annabel: A Novel
Annabel: A Novel
Author: Kathleen Winter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/18/2012


Ooh. This was good. It took me a while to get started on it- the beginning is a little slow and I wondered what the point of the book was going to be- but it very lovingly told the story of a hermaphrodite born into a difficult world= and probably a place in the world where acceptance is hardest to find. I was thoroughly absorbed.


Arc of Justice : A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age
Review Date: 11/5/2012


tough reading but good.


Arcadia
Arcadia
Author: Lauren Groff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/1/2016


Loved it. Really answered the question of "what happened to the hippies" and "what was a like living on a commune in the 70's.

The perspective of Bit- a child growing up on the commune was a great approach.


Are You Somebody? : The Accidental Memoir of a Dublin Woman
Are You Somebody? : The Accidental Memoir of a Dublin Woman
Author: Nuala O'Faolain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/2/2014


I thought I would love this book, and I just could not get into it. She is an interesting woman and writes very well, but the story was endless and did not seem to have a clear point.


1 to 20 of 191 - Page: