Rosanna B. - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Battlestar Galactica 06 (Battlestar Galactica)
Battlestar Galactica 06 (Battlestar Galactica)
Author: Glen A. Larson, Nicholas Yermakov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/2/2007


This is the from the original TV series (starring Lorne Greene, Richard Hatch and Dirk Bennedict).


Battlestar Galactica (Bk 1)
Battlestar Galactica (Bk 1)
Author: Glen A. Larson, Robert Thurston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/2/2007


This is the first book from the original TV series (starring Lorne Greene, Richard Hatch and Dirk Bennedict).


Before the last storyteller is gone--
Before the last storyteller is gone--
Author: Jerry Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/8/2010


From back cover:
Tales from a mountain mining town in the Cascades, Roslyn, Washington c. 1900-1940

Jerry Morris, Roslyn, Washington's barber, was born and raised in this fascinating and diverse coal mining town. Its inhabitants' colorful memories motivated him to save many of the stories that friends and family had told him at home and in his shop. Jerry has an ear for tall stories and folklore, just like the barber he plays in the television series "Northern Exposure," which is also filmed in Roslyn -- often in Jerry's barbershop. In this book, Jerry has faithfully recorded the tales residents tell about their unique town...before the last storyteller is gone.


Breaking the Code: A Play
Breaking the Code: A Play
Author: Hugh Whitemore, Andrew Hodges
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/2/2007


From the jacket: This engrossing biographical drama tells the story of Alan Turing, the British mathmatician who won praise from Winston Churchill for cracking the German code called Enigma during World War II. Despite all he had done for his country, Mr. Turing's life ends tragically when he admints his homosexuality to the police while reporting a routine burglary and they are duty-bound to prosecute him. A heartbreaking account of an honorable character led to his doom by a bigoted era.

My copy includes photos of the original cast, lead by Derek Jacobi.


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/10/2007


Abridged audiobook on 2 cassettes (180 minutes). Beautifully read by actor Richard Thomas ("The Waltons").


Don't Eat This Book
Don't Eat This Book
Author: Morgan Spurlock
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Listening to this book has almost broken me of my fast-food habit, especially at the subject chain where I had been pulling up to the drive-through window 3 to 5 times a week. This book also has me reading labels more often at the grocery store, and only skimming the center aisles of processed stuff. I walked into the discount bread store the other day, read a few labels, and three minutes later walked out without buying a thing! Thank you, Morgan Spurlock!


How to Mobilize Church Volunteers
How to Mobilize Church Volunteers
Author: Marlene Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/4/2008


This book is a standard "how to" reference for volunteer coordinators. While written with an emphasis on church settings, its basic lessons can be applied to projects in many other types of organizations and settings.


Kipling: A Selection of His Stories and Poems, Vol 1
Review Date: 8/19/2011


Library of Congress card Number 56-6647.


The Laramie Project
The Laramie Project
Author: Moises Kaufman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/16/2017


Theatre project based on interviews in a small town where a young gay man was brutally murdered.


The Lord of the Rings: Part 1, The Fellowship of the Ring (NPR Playhouse Dramatization)
Review Date: 8/11/2011


The Original American Production. Fully Dramatized. 3 1/2 hours on 3 compact discs.

Cast: Ray Reinhardt, James Arrington, Pat Franklyn, Mac McCaddon, Lou Bliss, Bernard Mayes, Gail Chugg, Tom Luce, Bob Lewis, John Vickery, Erik Bauersfeld, Carl Hague


Maugham's Choice Of Kipling's Best
Maugham's Choice Of Kipling's Best
Author: Rudyard Kipling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/19/2011


Contents: Introductory essay by W. Somerset Maugham (28 pages); The Finest Story In the World, The Man Who Was, The Tomb of His Ancestors, At the End of the Passage, Wireless, On Greenhow Hill, Love-w-women, The Brushwood Boy, The Man Who Would be King, William the Conqueror, They, Tods' Amendment, Mowgli's Brothers, The Miracle or Purun Bhagat, Without Benefit of Clergy, The Village That Voted The Earth Was Flat.


Me And My Girl - A Musical Comedy
Me And My Girl - A Musical Comedy
Author: L. Arthur Rose, Douglas Furber, Noel Gay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/2/2007


This is the 1954 acting edition of the original 1937 musical, upon which the later London and NY musical was based.


A Murder in Virginia: Southern Justice on Trial
A Murder in Virginia: Southern Justice on Trial
Author: Suzanne Lebsock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/11/2011


This is a great read. Non-fiction history is my favorite leisure reading topic, but I tend to read the introductions and particular chapters, and then flip through the rest. That was not the case with Suzanne Lebsock's "A Murder in Virginia: Southern Justice on Trial." She sets the scene, puts the reader in the midst of the action with attention to the prevailing attitudes of the time (not judging the past by present, as some "historians" do), helps the reader keep the many characters straight, and then writes the narrative as a mystery novel.

A particularly moving part that stayed with me (and I later reread and found just as effective), describes the unlikely coalition of white neighbors who created a diversion and helped the accused escape (in custody) from a large crowd gathered -- some with ropes -- at the scene on the evening of the murder.


The Resume Catalog: 200 Damn Good Examples
The Resume Catalog: 200 Damn Good Examples
Author: Yana Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/16/2007


Full title is "The Resume Catalog: 200 Damn Good Examples"


The Short Novels of John Steinbeck
The Short Novels of John Steinbeck
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/5/2011


This collection contains: Tortilla Flat, The Red Pony, Of Mice and Men, The Moon is Down, Cannery Row and The Pearl. Introduction by Joseph Henry Jackson.


1 to 15 of 15