Reviews - Cheryl E. (Cheryl74)

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
The Blue Enchantress (Charles Towne Belles, Bk 2)
The Blue Enchantress (Charles Towne Belles, Bk 2)
Author: Marylu Tyndall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"I won this in the Goodreads.com first reads giveaway.

This book was just ok for me. It took until about halfway through before it started getting even a little bit interesting. There were too many "miracles", which made it unbelievable."


The Book of Luke
The Book of Luke
Author: Jenny O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"My 13 year old daughter wanted to read this book so I read it to make sure it was ok for her. She won't be allowed to read it at this time because although I really like the story, there are too many four letter words and sexual references. I might let her read it in a few years."


Book of Virtues for Young People
Book of Virtues for Young People
Author: William J. Bennett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"I borrowed this book from the library with the intention of having "family reading time". I read the stories myself and kept a list of the stories that I thought my 13 year old daughter would be most interested in. Dang teenagers... she didn't want anything to do with it! As for myself, there were some stories I really liked and others, not so much."


Boy Meets Boy
Boy Meets Boy
Author: David Levithan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 8/24/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My daughter wants to read this book so I read it first to make sure it was ok. Even though I don't really like it, I think it's ok for her to read if she wants. There are no sex scenes, only kissing."


Brain Games for Babies, Toddlers & Twos: 140 Fun Ways to Boost Development
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"A bit redundant, but this book contains some great ideas."


The Brutal Telling (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 5)
The Brutal Telling (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 5)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"I am loving this series! I can't wait until #6 comes out in September!"


Chasing Charity (Texas Fortunes, Bk 2)
Chasing Charity (Texas Fortunes, Bk 2)
Author: Marcia Gruver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"I liked this book much better than book 1 of the series. This one held my attention from beginning to end. I was glad that Bertha was back for the second book, but disappointed that so much time had elapsed. The only things that I didn't like about the book was that I find it hard to believe a girl can stuff pillows in her bed, sneak out and be gone for about 24 hours without anyone realizing it. Although the girl (Emmy) had been staying in her room quite a bit, due to shame, guilt, etc., it seems unlikely to me that her mother wouldn't become suspicious after checking on her a couple of times & finding the lump in the bed exactly as it was before. Even if her mother was too stupid to realize that Emmy wasn't really in the bed, wouldn't she worry that she was ill, or committed suicide under the covers? If my daughter stayed in her bed for that long without turning over or moving at all, it would scare the living daylights out of me! Also, even though I like happy endings, in this book, any dilemma that comes their way is almost instantly solved with a prayer. In real life, bad things happen no matter how much you pray or how faithful you are.

By the way, I don't like the guy on the cover. I'm hoping he isn't supposed to be Buddy. He looks more like what I imagine the conniving, weaseling Daniel to look like. LOL The guy on the cover of the third book is a hottie!"


The Cruelest Month (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 3)
The Cruelest Month (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 3)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"I am really liking this series. I love how it keeps you guessing right up to the end."


Diamond Duo (Texas Fortunes, Bk 1)
Diamond Duo (Texas Fortunes, Bk 1)
Author: Marcia Gruver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"My husband won Emmy's Equal (book 3 of this series) so I got book 1 & 2 from the library. This book was a little slow & wordy in some areas. I considered quitting it, but I forced myself to continue. I'm trying to decide if I really want to read books 2 & 3. I probaby will."


Editha's Burglar: a Story for Children
Editha's Burglar: a Story for Children
Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"This is a sweet story about a very unselfish little girl who does all that she can to prevent a burglar from inconveniencing her parents."


Emmy's Equal (Texas Fortunes, Bk 3)
Emmy's Equal (Texas Fortunes, Bk 3)
Author: Marcia Gruver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/24/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My husband won this book in the first reads giveaway. I checked out the other two books in this series from the library. Out of the three books, I think I like this one the best. There was plenty of suspense and I couldn't put the book down. I'm surprised that I am actually disapointed that the story is over. I wonder if there will be a fourth book?"


Free Falling [Damaged Heroes, Book 2] (BookStrand Publishing)
Free Falling [Damaged Heroes, Book 2] (BookStrand Publishing)
Author: Sandy James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"My daughter won this book in the first reads giveaway.

This book was so much better than I thought it would be. I had to read a few chapters before I got completely hooked, but then as I finished each chapter, I just got sucked in more and more. By the time I was down to the last few chapters, I just couldn't put it down even though it was getting pretty late. I would now like to read the other three books in the series. If anyone would like to trade one of the others for this one, just send me a message.

FYI- this book may not be suitable for teens

another FYI- It is not necessary to read the first book in the series to understand and enjoy this one."


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 917
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"This was an interesting book. I didn't like the ending but I just recently discovered that this is book #1 of a trilogy. Perhaps I should read the others."


Hearts Upon a Fragile Bough
Hearts Upon a Fragile Bough
Author: Vera Jane Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/24/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"**spoiler alert**

My husband won this book in the first reads giveaway. This was a really good book and I was hardly able to put it down. I wish there had been more about Hannah, but by the time I got toward the end of the book, I thought I understood why her part in the book was so short. I was thinking about how bad I felt for Hannah's crappy life when it dawned on me that her short part in the book really helped to signify how her life was mercilessly cut short even before she took her own life.

If you are easily offended, this might not be the best choice for you, and it is definitely not appropriate for teens.

I can't wait for the sequel, which is scheduled for publication in the Spring of 2010."


The Horse and His Boy (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 3)
The Horse and His Boy (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 3)
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"I have read about half of this book and I'm SO confused! I LOVED "The Magician's Nephew" and "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe", but this book doesn't even seem like it should be part of the same series!

I just finished and although it did get a little better toward the end, I still didn't like this book."


How To Give Your Baby Encyclopedic Knowledge: More Gentle Revolution (Gentle Revolution (Gentle Revolution Press))
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"Every parent should read all of Doman's books. Even if you don't agree with 100% with his methods, you will learn how important it is to take advantage of the child's early years when their mind is like a sponge."


How To Multiply Your Baby's Intelligence (Gentle Revolution)
How To Multiply Your Baby's Intelligence (Gentle Revolution)
Author: Glenn Doman, Janet Doman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"Every parent should read all of Doman's books. Even if you don't agree with 100% with his methods, you will learn how important it is to take advantage of the child's early years when their mind is like a sponge."


How To Teach Your Baby Math: The Gentle Revolution
How To Teach Your Baby Math: The Gentle Revolution
Author: Glenn Doman, Janet Doman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"Every parent should read all of Doman's books. Even if you don't agree with 100% with his methods, you will learn how important it is to take advantage of the child's early years when their mind is like a sponge."


How to Teach your Baby to Read, 40th Anniversary Edition (How to Teach Your Baby to Read (Paperback))
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"Every parent should read all of Doman's books. Even if you don't agree with 100% with his methods, you will learn how important it is to take advantage of the child's early years when their mind is like a sponge."


L Is for Lollygag: Quirky Words for a Clever Tongue
L Is for Lollygag: Quirky Words for a Clever Tongue
Author: Chronicle Books Staff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"It was fun to learn new words & review words that you don't hear very often."


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: