Maureen C. (Modaba) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 76 - Page:
All Night, All Day, Angels Watching Over Me
All Night, All Day, Angels Watching Over Me
Author: Evelyn Bence (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/30/2007


Do you believe in angels? You will after you read this book! Wonderful real-life stories about visits from our spiritual friends! Written in the "positive thinking" manner of all Guideposts publications. A gem!


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 2/27/2007
Helpful Score: 4


What a gem of a story! This book made me a Lorna Landvik fan! I adored the characters! I think that all female book lovers will love this wonderful tale of a women's book club.


The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 10/12/2008


This book was inspired and based upon a sermon that was given by Rev. Jeremiah Wright, Sen Obama's longtime friend and spiritual advisor. Sen Obama dropped Rev. Wright like a hot potato as soon as he realized that the average American did not approve of Rev. Wright's message. He realized that his association with this pastor would be an impediment to his quest to become President of the United States. So now we have a best selling book that was inspired by someone with whom Sen. Obama is now disassociated. What does that tell you about this book, and more importantly, what does that tell you about Barack Obama?

In my opinion, I see a lot of audacity here, but unfortunately, very little hope.

11/06/08
I am writing this post script several months after I wrote the above original review. Although my impression and opinion about this book have not changed, now that Sen. Obama has become our President-elect, I feel compelled to urge others to read this book and make their own opinions. I still disagree with President-elect Obama's views on reclaiming the American dream. I fear that they could actually destroy the American dream. However, I believe in America. I believe in supporting the President-elect of the USA, the greatest country in the world. God bless America, and may God bless our new President-elect.

I actually hope that at some point in time, I am posting another post-script with the realization that I was wrong in my original criticism and that we do have the American dream restored for all of us. See, in the midst of "audacity", I still can't give up on "hope"!


Body Surfing
Body Surfing
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 11/24/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I LOVE this book!!! What a great story. Anita Shreve never ceases to amaze me by creating love/life stories that are so complex, yet so authentic. Sydney is a main character of such a set of circumastances! She is human, not saintly, genuine, and indeed relative to many women. The Edwards family...ahhh, many of us have met a Mrs. Edwards...Ben and Jeff are intriguing to say the least...Julie and Mr. E are endearing. It's a great tale set in the same house that was featured in The Pilot's Wife, Fortune's Rocks, and Sea Glass. Anita Shreve is remarkable in creating tales that stem from the same geographical and in this case, architectural setting, occurring in different time periods. This is why I have chosen to read so many of Ms. Shreve's works. Many express dissatisfaction with the endings of Ms. Shreve's novels. I choose to consider them to be thought provoking and signature to Ms. Shreve. This one follows suit with that!

Wow! I simply LOVED this book!


The Book Club
The Book Club
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 6/17/2011
Helpful Score: 4


What a great story of friendship! As usual, Mary Alice Monroe has written an engaging tale with well developed unforgettable characters! A nice easy read! I hated to see it end. I felt like I had become a member of "The Book Club"!


The Cape Ann
The Cape Ann
Author: Faith Sullivan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 2/25/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A very well written novel depicting life during the late 1930's - early 1940's as seen through a child's eyes. I found it hard to put this book down once I got into it. Lark is a very endearing character. She will live in my heart forever.


The Christmas Box Collection : The Christmas Box / Timepiece / The Letter
Review Date: 12/13/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I read this book during Advent. What a great collection of stories especially for the Christmas season. I loved each one of them, but especially The Letter. These stories should be read one after the other. This is a great collection that enables you to do so.

Do you believe in true love? Do you enjoy stories that "tug at your heartstrings"? If you do, this collection is for you!


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4384
Review Date: 10/4/2010


A very different kind of novel! Written in the first person by a main character with autism, Mark Haddon certainly shows his talent as a writer. However, I personally found the book to be a somewhat difficult read. It's a fast read...without a doubt, but it is so different...actually eccentric might be a good way of describing it. It's definitely worth reading just to see what you think of it. I can't say it was one of my favorite books, but I am glad that I read it.


The Day Christ Died
The Day Christ Died
Author: Jim Bishop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/16/2010


An amazing book! I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. It is the greatest story ever told, written as if Jim Bishop had been a journalist on the scene. Beautifully written. It certainly has given new life to my faith. I can't wait to read "The Day Christ was Born" by the same author.


Eden Close
Eden Close
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 5/3/2008
Helpful Score: 7


Haunting and intriguing! I enjoyed this book very much!Very well written. I requested and read this book, because I loved The Pilot's Wife, The Weight of Water, Fortune's Rocks,The Last Time They Met, and Light On Snow. I guess you can say that I am an Anita Shreve fan! She is a brilliant author. She crafts a great tale. I love her books. Maybe you will, too! Great prose. Almost lyrical in her choice of words. Brilliant example of the art of the written word.


Fortune's Rocks
Fortune's Rocks
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 5/13/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Oh...so GOOD! I couldn't put it down once I got into it. Olympia is quite the woman for the late 1800's, early 20th century! This is a great work of fiction. Very enjoyable. Quite a story!!!


Four Spirits
Four Spirits
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful historical novel! Sena Jeter Naslund does an excellent job of blendng real historical events with fictional characters. Although some events in this novel are also fictional, they are factual in depicting the horrors of the early 1960's in Alabama. For anyone who is old enough to remember the Civil Rights movement, this novel will stir memories of events you saw on the evening news. For those who are too young to have experienced that era, you will get a feel for what it was like. The author writes with great character development. The story is told through the points of view of several of the characters. It's a long book, but reads fairly quickly because of the multi-character narrative style. This is a story that will make you think. There is so much that we take for granted now concerning human rights. This book makes us realize that we have come a long way...but there still is a long road yet to travel.


Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 1/28/2011


This was a quick enjoyable read. Told in vignettes, the story traces the life and travels of a painting...a lost Vermeer. This story slightly reminded me of "Girl With a Pearl Earring", by Tracey Chevalier, but it is not really the exact same story. This is a nice book to read on a weekend. I found my copy left behind in the home we have recently moved in. Most of the books that I found that the previous owner of my home had left for us were not the quality or type of literature that I usually choose to read, but this was a nice find! If you like art or art history, I think you will enjoy this book.


Girl In The Mirror (Mira)
Girl In The Mirror (Mira)
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/26/2011


A little bit far-fetched, but a good read none the less! It was one of those books that I couldn't put down. I enjoy all of Mary Alice Monroe's books. I admire the way that she creates characters that feel very real to the reader. I believe that Girl in the Mirror is one of her earlier novels. Like I said, the story line was a little bit far fetched. The circumstances and coincidences seemed a little unlikely, but that's the joy of fiction!It was a nice easy read. All in all, a nice love story!


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1447
Review Date: 5/13/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Loved this story! A wonderful work of fiction. It actually makes you believe that this could be the real story of the "Girl With a Pearl Earring". An excellent piece of literature. Fast read.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3372
Review Date: 2/16/2007


This is an excellent piece of non-fiction that reads like a novel. As you read it, you almost can't believe that it is true. I couldn't put it down. It will make you cry, at least it did for me. You will be amazed at the resilience of the author and her family.


Good Harbor
Good Harbor
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 6/21/2009


LOVED it!!!! I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever had a best friend with whom they have been able to share their hopes, dreams, expectations, and regrets. Anita Diamant explores the gift of friendship in an honest, enlightening, and hopeful spirit. Joyce and Kathleen are 2 women with whom I would love to share a walk on the beach at Good Harbor!It's a story of love, forgiveness, loss, and the amazing resilience of the human spirit. A wonderful read for women! A wonderful read for breast cancer survivors! And a wonderful read for anyone who has ever lost someone they love. Powerful!


The Group
The Group
Author: Mary McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 6


A story of "the group" of Vassar College grads of the class of 1933, this book offers an interesting commentary of the social and sexual mores of the era in American history between the Depression and the beginning of WWII. I'm sure this book was considered to be quite risque in its day (Copyright 1954!). It took me about 100 pages to really become absorbed in the story, but once I did, I couldn't put it down. An interesting read! I understand that the movie is good, also.


The Hiding Place: The Triumphant True Story of Corrie Ten Boom
Review Date: 2/8/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Very moving! An incredible story of the power of faith and good over evil. Everyone should read this book. It is a message of peace and healing.


Islands
Islands
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 5/13/2007


Anne Rivers Siddons did it again! I love her books! This one has an unexpected twist that sneaks up on you at the end! A great vacation read!


1 to 20 of 76 - Page: