Amanda G. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 158 - Page:
1001 Things Everyone Should Know About American History
1001 Things Everyone Should Know About American History
Author: John A. Garraty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/5/2007
Helpful Score: 3


The book is not only educational, but fun, too. It's arranged into 8 parts dealing with politics, ideas, people, "What'ses", presidents, literature/music, military matters, and economic matters. Within each of these parts, are very short, numbered entries pertaining to the category at hand. For example, "Part II. Ideas" is further broken down into sections: "Notable Quotations", "Misquotations: Things That Were NOT Said", "Comments about Women by Men", etc. For example: Misquotation Number 352 "'Why don't you speak for yourself, John?' There is no record that Myles Standish asked John Alden to propose to Priscilla Mullens or any other female Pilgrim in his behalf, and since John and Priscilla may have been married as early as 1621, the story told by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow in 'The Courtship of Miles Standish' is no doubt an example of poetic license."


5 Weeks Win Bridge
5 Weeks Win Bridge
Author: Alfred sheinwold
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/8/2006


What you will learn in 35 days with this practical home-study course: 1) How to value your hand; 2) The versatile one-bid; 3) How to handle your notrumps; 4) Responding to the opening bid; 5) Rebids--where judgment begins; etc.


The Abs Diet: The Six-Week Plan to Flatten Your Stomach and Keep You Lean for Life
Review Date: 10/8/2006


Excellent introduction to recent research into healthy eating and weight management. Particularly geared toward men. Recipes included.


Absolution by Murder (Sister Fidelma, Bk 1)
Absolution by Murder (Sister Fidelma, Bk 1)
Author: Peter Tremayne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 4/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This murder mystery is set against the background of a meeting of church theologians to discuss the differences between the Irish church and the Roman church. Eventually, the Irish view was labelled as the Pelagian heresy, and the Roman view--Augustinianism--prevailed.


The Adventures of Ulysses (Library of Myths and Legends Series)
Review Date: 9/14/2006


Illustrated retelling of The Odyssey.


The Andromeda Strain
The Andromeda Strain
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 1/1/2007


Exciting!


Another Fine Myth (Myth, Bk 1)
Another Fine Myth (Myth, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Asprin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 11/13/2006


Fun. Light reading.


Anyway: The Paradoxical Commandments: Finding Personal Meaning in a Crazy World
Review Date: 11/3/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Ten principles for life and a short essay on each. For example: "What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight. Build anyway." "People really need help but may attack you if you do help them. Help people anyway."

I really enjoyed these. Definitely worth a read. The book can be devoured in one short sitting, but I recoommend spreading it out so that the ideas can be digested a little more slowly.


Around the Campfire: Devotionals for the Sportsman
Around the Campfire: Devotionals for the Sportsman
Author: Thomas Naumann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/28/2007


Brief devotions based on a Scripture verse, an experience of the author's involving hunting, fishing, or creation, and a very short thought tying them together. I enjoyed reading it.


Artists in Crime (Roderick Alleyn, Bk 6)
Artists in Crime (Roderick Alleyn, Bk 6)
Author: Ngaio Marsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/28/2007


Alleyne becomes acquainted with Troy in this book. One of my favorites.


Before You Shoot: A Guide to Low Budget Film Production
Review Date: 3/8/2007


"This is a book about decision-making and organization in film-making. It covers the tasks that are usually thought of as belonging to the producer, the production manager, their assistants, and the assistant directors. This book will also be very useful for directors. My purpose in writing this book is to help you save time, money, and aggravation when you make your next film."

"Helen Garvey is a film producer, writer, and editor.... This book came out of a series of classes that Helen has given over the last several years."


The Beginner's Devotional
The Beginner's Devotional
Author: Stephen T. Barclift, Jerry Werner (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/25/2006


52 fun-to-do weekly units. Each unit can be broken down in to daily sections: a story one day, review questions another day, etc. Each unit contains a memory verse and activities, too. This can be used by an individual child or by a young reader.

From back of book: "For children: 'READ TO ME'--ages 3 and up; 'I CAN READ'--ages 6 to 10"


The Best of H. P. Lovecraft: Bloodcurdling Tales of Horror and the Macabre
Review Date: 8/8/2006


Short stories. I didn't finish the book because it was too macabre for me, but Lovecraft is considered a master of the horror genre.


Betsy and Tacy Go Over the Big Hill (Betsy-Tacy, Bk 3)
Betsy and Tacy Go Over the Big Hill (Betsy-Tacy, Bk 3)
Author: Lois Lenski (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/13/2006


Back of book suggests ages 7 to 10.


Better Spelling in 30 Minutes a Day (Better English Series)
Review Date: 8/21/2006


For high school through adult. Could be used by an advanced middle schooler. Book is arranged as programmed instruction, so the student skips instruction that he already knows. Lots of self-checking exercises! No bells and whistles, though.


Beyond Belief to Convictions
Beyond Belief to Convictions
Author: Josh D. McDowell, Bob Hostetler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/1/2006


From back of book: "While we need to fear what our kids could be tempted to do," Josh McDowell explains, "we need to be more concerned with what our kids are led to believe." In Beyond Belief to Convictions Josh documents that the majority of our kids who have distorted beliefs about God, truth, and the Bible are: 225% more likely to be angry with life, 300% more likely to use illegal drugs, 600% more likely to attempt suicide.

In this comprehensive volume Josh offers the tools to correct our young people's distorted beliefs and lead them to deepened convictions about God and his Word. In classic McDowell fashion, he provides families and the church with a "relational apologetic"--rock-solid reasons to believe and a biblical blueprint for living out those beliefs in relationship with others.

Beyond Belief to Convictions gives us a clear plan for grounding our youth in a solid relationship with Christ and for unlocking the answers to the fundamental questions of life itself: Who am I? Why am I here? Where am I going? When our kids embrace the Person of Truth, they will be fortified spiritually, morally, and emotionally to stand strong in the face of today's culture.


The Bible Detective: Mixed-Up Stories To Test Your Bible Knowledge
The Bible Detective: Mixed-Up Stories To Test Your Bible Knowledge
Author: Carol Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/16/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This book contains many stories retold from the Bible of about 2 pages in length. "While each one contains a good dose of biblical truth, ... each story also includes a measure of fiction that will test your wits. It's up to you to find the errors. ... For each story, the Scripture passage is listed so you can check the facts yourself." (from the Introduction) Fun and challenging. Some of the "fiction" is easy to miss if you read the story too quickly. Test yourself!


The Bichon Frise : An Owner's Guide to a Happy Healthy Pet
Review Date: 8/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is an excellent introduction to the bichon frise. Contains, among other things, information on the ancestry, character traits, and grooming of the bichon frise.


Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes
Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I liked it, but I have two other slow cooker recipe books that are my favorites. And shelf space and credits now drive my keeper decisions! :)


Bloodstream
Bloodstream
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 8/14/2006


I quite enjoyed this book. There was a twist in the solution that I didn't foresee.


1 to 20 of 158 - Page: