Michele S. (queenofeverything) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 10/16/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Kept my interest til the end with Russian mob torture scenes and the wild parties of the Florida jet set.


Bad Childhood---Good Life : How to Blossom and Thrive in Spite of an Unhappy Childhood
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book to be very encouraging and positive with many strategies to get over that hump of feeling sorry for oneself and getting on with life.


Bias: A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News
Bias: A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/9/2007


Loved this book and it is chock full of juicy gossip on the Clintons.


Body & Soul
Body & Soul
Author: Frank Conroy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book really surprised me. I was expecting a summer fluff piece and instead I was drawn into the world of music. I have had 10 years of classical piano but this book showed me that to have musical genius is a world apart from the average person taking music lessons. I was enthralled as to the mindset of how geniuses feel and "see" music . I could not put this down.


Center of Everything (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/4/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great audio book, and the reader was excellent. It held my attention and was very moving. It was like being wrapped in a blanket and someone was reading to you. I was on a long road trip and never was I tempted to pop the tape and listen to something else.


Champ
Champ
Author: Woodley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/4/2008


There was a movie made of this book where Jon Voight is Billy a has been fighter pouring all his hopes into the dream of a comeback. Pouring all his love into his eight year old son and ready to take the last desperate chance to buy his kid a piece of the future. Faye Dunaway was Annie. She left Billy and the kid to find fame, money and glamour. now she can give her child everything he deserves... if he can find it in his heart to forgive her. Ricky Schroeder was T.J. his father's greatest fan. A smart, scrappy, big-hearted little boy caught in a squeeze between his Mom and Dad, he knows that no matter what happens Billy was, is and always will be "the Champ"


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1950
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 9


Wow. There are some "monster moms" in this world and this guy had a doozer of one. I had to put this book aside several times because it was so intense what this poor boy endured and it is so heartbreaking.


City of Bones
City of Bones
Author: Michael Connelly, Peter Jay Fernandez
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/20/2010


This was one of tirst Michael Connelly books that I read and he sucked me right in. I am usually the type of person that needs to read the books of a series in order but I don't feel it is necessary with this author. Each of his books tell enough about him and even though the author layers his charachter with each book I don't feel like I am missing anything skipping around. Also I have become such an addict that I will read whatever comes first from PBS/ My favorite book though is still Black Hole where he goes into Harry Bosch's experiences as a tunnel rat in Vietnam....nuther book. Anyways. I am glad this author is so prolific as it will keep me happy for at least another year or so.


The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/20/2010


Got tired of Grafton,, got bored with Cussler, Snoozed with Patterson but I have listened or read about 10 of Michael Connellyy's books and do not tire of the guy. I like the readers of the audio, and the author is not linear. I love it. Also excited that this author is so prolific. Usually this is the kiss of death as they have their formula and rake in the dough but Michael Connelly is smart and I love his style. I will be sad when I have tead all of his 30 or 40 books.


The Constant Gardener
The Constant Gardener
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/25/2008


I found the book a lot better and much more interesting than the movie. His wife was fascinating, flawed and I could see why he was so attached to her.


Cry to Heaven
Cry to Heaven
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/9/2007


Amazing book. The whole world of castrated singers and their loves and lives is brought to life.


Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 11/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Had heard about this book from many quarters and when I saw it in audio at the library-I grabbed it. I am about 3/4 through it and love it but I have a few comments or reservations. I think that if I was reading it I would be skipping pages big time. I think the whole book is a fascinating premise and very well written but it could be compacted without losing a whole lot of drama- in fact i feel it would add to the suspense. I think it is way too drawn out and wordy and although I love the charachters if I hear about Colin taking his Gobstopper out of his mouth and what the color is one more time I will throw the book into the ocean outside of my bedroom window without compunction. I love the historical references but as mentioned earlier i think it could be tightened up.


Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio CD)
Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio CD)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/7/2009


I am in the midst of listening to this in the unabridged version and I keep thinking ...when is the action going to begin. I am getting descriptions of forests, mountains, bears, whiskey, but it seems that the author is just writing to fill up the pages. Yes there are a few sex scenes but this in no way comes up to the level of the original Outlander book. I can only hope that something interesting is going to happen otherwise I am not going to get the next 20 cd's of the second half of this book. Yawn.


Everything And A Kite
Everything And A Kite
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/14/2008


This audio series was hilarious especially when he describes his marital relations.


For Matrimonial Purposes
For Matrimonial Purposes
Author: Kavita Daswani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 10/25/2008


This author is hilarious. I loved how she explained her upper class East Indian family and the resulting cultural clash she experienced in New York City. Also found her own coming to terms with her heritage to be very interesting. Now reading her second book.


The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Author: Stephen King, Anne Heche (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/16/2008


I loved this audio book as the hero is a thoroughly cool 9 year old. Also loved Anne Heche reading it. Couldn't wait to go somewhere in my car to hear the end.


God on a Harley: A Spiritual Fable (Audio Cassette Unabridged)
God on a Harley: A Spiritual Fable (Audio Cassette Unabridged)
Author: Joan Brady
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/25/2008


Got this for a roadtrip with my husband. Totally kept his attention and kept me from having to listen to 11 hours of the Pointer Sisters.


High Exposure: An Enduring Passion for Everest and Unforgiving Places
Review Date: 10/25/2008


I love books about Everest and climbing. This audio book kept my attention and had some interesting viewpoints about that fatal season. I still think that Into Thin Air is my all time favorite though.


How to Boil Water
How to Boil Water
Author: Food Network Kitchens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I originally bought this book for my kids when they went off to college. They ended up each wanting their own copy and then when I tried the recipes I ended up buying my own copy. For example the stir fried chicken recipe is the best of any Oriental stirfry I have every come across. Also a great section on setting up your first pantry. They also encourage creativity with "Make it Your Own" suggestions using alternative ingredients.


It's Your Ship: Management Techniques from the Best Damn Ship in the Navy
Review Date: 10/9/2007


This is a remarkably enjoyable read for a management book. He uses a lot of examples which are very useful. I read it in about 2 days and got a lot of great ideas. He does not seem like the "typical" military boss - very likeable and it is obvious he gets the job done in very creative ways.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: