Ellie (EllieW) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
1906: A Novel
1906: A Novel
Author: James Dalessandro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Well written fictionalized account of the earthquake that devasted San Francisco in 1906. This actually focuses as much on the political corruption that was going on prior to, and during the earthquake, as it does on the disaster itself. very thought provoking book.


6 Sacred Stones (aka Six Sacred Stones) (Jack West Jr, Bk 2)
6 Sacred Stones (aka Six Sacred Stones) (Jack West Jr, Bk 2)
Author: Matthew Reilly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/18/2008


The epic adventure begun in The Seven Deadly Wonders continues. This is one wild ride. The cliffhanger has me itching for the next in the series already.


Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 545
Review Date: 11/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I can't convey how fun and enjoyable this book is. I'm very glad I discovered this author through PBS.


Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 5)
Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 5)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 1/19/2008


Too many implausible coincidences. Ending seemed hurried and forced to me. Did not like the way the next book in the series was set up in the ending of this one. I agree with a previous reviewer...did not believe that Kristi would be the one to foresee the future..should have been Olivia.
This book did not live up to previous books by Lisa Jackson.


The Accidental Werewolf (Accidentals, Bk 1)
The Accidental Werewolf (Accidentals, Bk 1)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 4/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I barely made it through this book. I will definitely not be continuing the series.


Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 9/23/2007


Another good Agatha Raisin adventure. This is a fun series.


The Apprentice (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 2)
The Apprentice (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 2)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 528
Review Date: 9/23/2007
Helpful Score: 6


I couldn't put this one down. I love the continuing storyline that began with The Surgeon. This is the second book, that up to this point, is a series of six. read them in order because you start to develope a relationship with these characters and you care what happens to them next.


Atlantis (Jack Howard, Bk 1)
Atlantis (Jack Howard, Bk 1)
Author: David Gibbins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 9/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I usually love this type of book. However I never could get into this one. It's one of the few that I've abandoned half way through.


Blooming Murder (Iris House B & B, Bk 1)
Blooming Murder (Iris House B & B, Bk 1)
Author: Jean Hager
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/23/2007


1st in the series and a fun read. I can't wait to read the next one.


The Children's Blizzard
The Children's Blizzard
Author: David Laskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 1/12/2010


This book both fascinated and horrified me. It's the true tale of the harrowing blizzard of January 1888, as it swept the northern plains of the US. I wanted to jump into the pages of the book and make the children that ventured out into the storm stay in what shelter they could. My heart broke for the families who lost loved ones. This book will move you.


A Crooked Little House (E.J. Pugh, Bk 5)
A Crooked Little House (E.J. Pugh, Bk 5)
Author: Susan Rogers Cooper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


E.J. is one of my favorite cozy characters. This is a fun series set in Texas. This one is a good mix of mystery and humor.


Gone (FBI Profiler, Bk 5)
Gone (FBI Profiler, Bk 5)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 496
Review Date: 9/23/2007


Lisa Gardner has quickly become one of my favorite writers. This is a great book filled with characters I've come to care about in previous books. I hope this series keeps going and going.


Grave Secret (Harper Connelly, Bk 4)
Grave Secret (Harper Connelly, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 12/5/2009


The best book in the series in my opinion. Harper is not nearly as wimpy in this one as I feel she has been in the previous three. It always drove me nuts how dependant she is on Tolliver. While I still feel a bit icky ( couldn't think of a better word ) about their relationship, I've gotten used to it. I'm not sure if this is the last in the series but it sure seems like it. Everything was wrapped up nicely in this one and the ending was a bit of a shocker to me. I literally never suspected and I usually figure things out in mysteries way before the end. Kudos to Charlaine Harris for the surprise ending. I hope I'm not giving anything away to those who have yet to read it. I'm trying to stay vague about details.

The one thing that drove me nuts was that it was set in my city, Garland Texas. It is glaringly obvious that Ms. Harris must have just picked the name from a map because all her descriptions are way off. I like when books set in certain cities give accurate details and make me feel like I know something about those cities when I'm finished reading. This gave no accurate details at all of my hometown.


Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly, Bk 2)
Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 2/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A good second book in the Harper Connelly series. I sometimes get exasperated with Harper for seeming to always need taking care, but I'm still interested in the premise of the books.
As another reviewer said, there is a complication in the plot near the end of the book that I am not liking. I hope that isn't the direction the series is going in.


Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 9/24/2007


I couldn't put this book down. Excellent read!


Isaac's Storm : A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
Isaac's Storm : A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
Author: Erik Larson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 9/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Engrossing book about nature's fury and how it devastated Galveston in 1900. I want to say I enjoyed this book but that doesn't sound right saying that about such a huge disaster. I'll say instead that I found it fascinating and horrifying.


It Had to Be You  (Grace and Favor, Bk 5)
It Had to Be You (Grace and Favor, Bk 5)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/23/2007


This is the fifth book in what has become one of my favorite series. I love the time period these are set in. You can't go wrong with this cozy series.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5707
Review Date: 10/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I've ever read. I was really hesitant to read this one, based on all the glowing reviews. I'm usually let down when expecting a book to be brilliant. Not this time. I still find myself haunted by this book. This is definitely a must read.


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 402
Review Date: 9/23/2007


This was a good book but a little disappointing. I'd heard so much about this author that I guess I expected too much. But I did enjoy it.


The Mist
The Mist
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 2/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Quick read. Good old King scare the living daylights out of you book. FUN!!!


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: