Joyce K. (thirty1flvr) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Backyards for Kids
Backyards for Kids
Author: Ziba Kashef
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/11/2010


Gives some nice ideas and general instructions/things to think about. No detailed instructions for any of the building projects.


Clap Your Hands (Sesame Street)
Clap Your Hands (Sesame Street)
Author: Joe Ewers (Illustrator)
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/29/2009


My kids have loved this book. When they were really little they were really excited to see Elmo moving and singing to them. The Elmo is a puppet and you can move his hands and mouth. As they got a little older they still enjoyed the book. I'd say this is a great book to have for kids up to age 4 or 5 but is great at around age 2-3.


Complete Idiot's Guide to Biblical Mysteries
Complete Idiot's Guide to Biblical Mysteries
Author: Donald Ryan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/22/2010


A very interesting book. I like the balance the author struck with matters of faith and what science can (and cannot) prove. All viewpoints are represented and the reader is left to draw their own conclusions; as one must do with faith. Lots of interesting tidbits throughout the book. Interesting facts about the history of things in the Bible. I learned a lot and it left me wondering just what I believe about some of the specifics in the Bible (i.e. was "that" story a parable, the absolute truth, someone's distortion of the truth, outright made-up, or somewhere in between?).


Golden Rules: The Ten Ethical Values Parents Need to Teach Their Children
Golden Rules: The Ten Ethical Values Parents Need to Teach Their Children
Author: Wayne Dosick
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/14/2010


Should be required reading for every parent.

Each chapter ends with a story that you can read your kids to get a point across about a moral/ethical type issue.


Good Owners, Great Dogs
Good Owners, Great Dogs
Author: Brian Kilcommons, Sarah Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/10/2014


I thought the book was thorough and well organzied. Perfect for me as a soon to be new doggy owner. Haven't tried the techniques yet, but they seem good.


The Heist (Fox and O'Hare, Bk 1)
The Heist (Fox and O'Hare, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 12/16/2014


It's a cute, quick read. If you liked the Stephanie Plum series you'll probably like this. It's not quite as funny, but still entertaining. Not high literature, but who cares? If you read Janet Evanovich's earlier work (pre-Stephanie Plum), this is *much* better.


The Lion's Game (John Corey, Bk 2)
The Lion's Game (John Corey, Bk 2)
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 12/14/2010


One of my favorite books ever! Funny, tense, fast-paced thriller.


Michele Gerbrandt's Scrapbook Basics: The Complete Guide to Preserving Your Memories
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I am a very new scrapbooker. This book was helpful in getting me to think about ways to organize and to get started with some initial layouts. There are several layout ideas. It talks about some basics of scrapbooking, which is helpful for beginners. I do not think anyone that's done much scrapbooking would get much out of this book.


Mistress of My Fate (Confessions of Henrietta Lightfoot, Bk 1)
Review Date: 12/11/2014


A good read. Looking forward to book 2.


1 to 9 of 9