Kristin D. (kdurham2813) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 753 - Page:
The 10 PM Question A Novel
The 10 PM Question A Novel
Author: Kate De Goldi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/24/2011


A short little read that was interesting, but just didn't hit me right. A story of a boy trying to find himself. He realizes that his family isn't perfect and how that affects who he is and will become.

I can't pinpoint where exactly I didn't fall in love with this book - but for some reason, I just didn't enjoy. To keep it short and simple, I think there is an audience for it, but maybe not an adult female, maybe this book is more for a younger male audience - so I would send this book off to that group


2 a.m. at The Cat's Pajamas
2 a.m. at The Cat's Pajamas
Author: Marie-Helene Bertino
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/19/2014


A young girl dreaming about signing, a young teacher trying to find love, and a club owner who is hoping to keep his family business open through many hurdles. All three of these characters get the chance to share their own story and this book takes place all in one day with the time ticking through the book.

Not my favorite book with a whole heck of a lot of quirky characters and not one really grabbed me in one way or another, this book just kind of fell flat for me. If you are a fan of of books filled with quirk then this one may be more up your alley than it was mine.


The 500: A Novel
The 500: A Novel
Author: Matthew Quirk
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Check out full review at Kritters Ramblings

A political thriller that will take you inside the workings of Washington, D.C., the reader questions where the truth and fiction begin and end. The book starts in the future for a chapter and the reader is taken into the past to explain the story that must take place to get the characters in that place. Mike Ford the main character has had a sketchy past, but ends up in a job where his checkered past can be put to good use.


The Absence of Mercy
The Absence of Mercy
Author: John Burley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 12/11/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

A book with a serial killer with the coroner and his family at the center, what a great change to the normal serial killer book. I loved having the main character be a different part of the investigation; it gave a different perspective on how the hunt for a serial killer can unfold.

WHAT a twist! I have to keep this review brief because I just can't reveal anything that would ruin the spoiler on this one! The killer came out of nowhere for me, but not too far that I felt annoyed. It was just out of left field that I wanted to read it again to pick up on any more clues that I think I may have missed! I absolutely adore being surprised!


An Abundance of Katherines
An Abundance of Katherines
Author: John Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 10/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


My first John Green book and what an interesting ride it was. A book full of smart humor with a male, recent high school graduate, and his best friend on a road trip to a small town in TN. He heads on this road trip to overcome his recent break up and brings along his best friend with no destination in mind.

I am usually a reader of books where women are at the center, so I enjoyed this break from my normal reading. It was refreshing to get into the mind of a younger male and go with him on this adventure after a recent break up. I absolutely adored his flashbacks to the previous Katherines who broke up with him for various reasons.

I would recommend this book to those who read YA or those who may need a break from their usual reading habits. I thoroughly enjoyed the smart humor.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Chris Pavone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/22/2014


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

What a crazy whirlwind ride that didn't stop turning until the very end! With a crazy cast of characters, I definitely had to chart this one out from an author and the things he set in motion to a publisher, editor and the subject of this book, this book had an interesting combination of thriller rolled into the book publishing world.

The publishing aspect of the book was so interesting, to see all of the hands that it takes to get a book from the author into the public's hands and then to add the anonymous author and the thriller aspect was genius. As a book blogger I have an interest in the publishing world and I always find it interesting to read books that center around the business of books.


The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook: A Tale of Sex, Money, Genius and Betrayal
Review Date: 2/26/2011


From the true story in the news to the movie - I have seen and heard everything about the history of how Facebook was started and the person Mark Zuckerberg is. The news covered everything from a very logical side where everyone's opinions were shared. The movie definitely did not side with Zuckerberg.

The book - a whole different story (pun intended). Seeing as some of the people involved decided not to partake in the interviews, I felt that this book was very one-sided. I think it should have be renamed - Eduardo's story because the author definitely interviewed him and the story was really based on him and his adventures. A co-founder of facebook and its first investor - he is also on the list of people who Mark screwed over on his way to becoming the youngest billionaire.

I would pass this book onto those who are interested in the facebook story and want to hear something different from what was told in the movie and in the news. A great read with an interesting take on the story of facebook


The Accidental Mother
The Accidental Mother
Author: Rowan Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 10/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Another book set abroad. Unfortunately, at this point I am ready for a book set stateside!!

But that aside, I wasn't a super fan of this book because I had already read a book with a very very similar plot line which I absolutely fell in love with at first sight. I may have liked this more if I hadn't read the other book previously.

I did fall in love with the two little girls in the book - they were written perfectly and I could completely imagine them.

So short and simple review - I would only pass this book along to those who like the books abroad and who are ready for a common plot line.


Across Eternity
Across Eternity
Author: Aris Whittier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


From first glance, this book reads as a love story that is at first sight, deep and life-changing, but upon further investigation the heart of this book is a matter of debate - reincarnation. First, let me express that I wasn't quite sure about this whole reincarnation thing as I was brought up that beyond your one life that you live there are two options - Heaven and Hell. Now that I studied religion in a school setting and I hold a minor in the study of religion - I respect the idea of reincarnation, but I still adhere to the one life that I live, now the after that one life I am still debating.

Now that you all know my thoughts on this aspect of the book which is the heart of it. I still enjoyed the book because I read it as a sweet love story that is so moving that I felt for these characters that they found each other and would eventually have to part from one another. Of course the language of the book, referenced that they would see each other again - take what you would like, but I was able to enjoy this book despite not completing believing in the reincarnation thought.

A love story that is endearing and makes you enjoy the thought that true love exists and can sneak up on you around any corner.


Adventures in Funeral Crashing: Funeral Crashing Series / A Kait Lenox Mystery (Volume 1)
Review Date: 1/4/2013


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

Every now and then a YA book review is sent my way and I accept because with each read, I enjoy the YA genre more and more. This is another example of a highly entertaining YA read that us adults can also enjoy. From the beginning the reader is introduced to Kait, a high schooler who has lost her mom to cancer and finds a connection with her when she crashes funerals. This may sound crazy, but when she attends a funeral she ends up in the middle of a murder mystery that makes her confront all sorts of fears.


After I Do: A Novel
After I Do: A Novel
Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/18/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Check out the full review at Kritters Rambings

My first Taylor Jenkins Reid and after hearing all the praise, I was so excited to read this one! With a premise that I may have shied away from due to the subject matter - I am not usually one for negative relationship storylines, but I had to give this author a try.

The set up for the book was fantastic. The first chapter was a present day snapshot of their marriage in the middle of a speed bump and then the author takes you back in time to when they met, through their dating courtship and into the early moments of the marriage. I loved the rewind to get the reader up to speed. Then the real drama of the story began and I loved the honesty. The characters felt like they were based off people in real life - I even laughed at some of the things they did and said because I could see myself doing those things.


After I'm Gone
After I'm Gone
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/2/2014


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

Three sisters, a wife and a mistress are left behind by a man who flees before justice can be served and he may serve time. This book takes a look at not only these five women and what they must go through when left behind, but his friends as well and how his cowardliness affects everyone.

Presented in a different way with alternating chapters - one chapter would be in the past while the next would be current as the Detective Sandy is undergoing his investigation into the cold case. It was obvious as to what time it was and who was the center of the chapter, I loved reading about Sandy's discoveries and then the story behind the piece of evidence next.


After the Fire
After the Fire
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/11/2013


Although I don't normally read books written in poetry or prose, I couldn't pass this one up being as it came from an author who I have greatly enjoyed and I love to read about authors.

For me, a reader who doesn't do poetry much, the added benefit of her telling the story behind the poem, about the time and setting with which it was written was perfect!

It was simple, small and perfect to read in one sitting. I wouldn't mind reading more of these biographies of authors that I enjoy.


After the Party: A Novel
After the Party: A Novel
Author: Lisa Jewell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What a roller coaster ride. This sequel begins many years after Ralph's Party ends. Ralph and Jem are now living together with children - not happily, but so so. The book hops between Ralph's and Jem's points of view, which I adored.

A story that was heart wrenching but honest. Being someone that is in a relationship and has been in one for awhile and although we don't have children, we are currently partners raising a pup. I could understand the rut that one may find themselves in and how people change and with them changing the relationship must change as well.

The one thing I missed from the first book was the many characters that had stories that were interlocking. I wish there was just a little more of the previous tenants on Alamanac Road. The new characters were entertaining, but I missed continuing their stories along with Jem and Ralph's.

A great story that follows the couple that you will fall in love with from Ralph's Party. I will never spoil the ending, but I believe that this book will keep you hooked until the end.


The After Wife
The After Wife
Author: Gigi Levangie Grazer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/27/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

Who would have thought that a book that centers around the first year in a widow's life would be so light and entertaining? Right in the beginning we meet a great couple - Hannah and John, but right after meeting them the reader learns that John is killed in an accident leaving Hannah to raise their daughter, Ellie. Hannah was the career woman, while John stayed home with Ellie, so this is a complete life change for Hannah, one that is going to take a lot of support from her friends.


The Agincourt Bride
The Agincourt Bride
Author: Joanna Hickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/17/2014


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

What an epic book! Starting with the narrator giving quite an intro and then the book completely jumps into the childhood of a princess who we all come to find out quickly will be influential in her country's future. France is literally balancing on her shoulders.

First, let me rave about how I loved the narrator and it was fantastic to read a book from this period from the perspective of a close maid who even spent nights in the Princess' rooms. She had a unique perspective and she was able to use the Princess' unmailed letters to fill in the story - genius. Of course there was drama, but there was also some fantastically intense scenes that just kept the book moving along and along.


Ain't She Sweet?
Ain't She Sweet?
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 9/19/2014


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

Sugar Beth grew up in a small town and when she was in her high school years she was both popular and a mean girl. She is returning but only to get some things from her inheritance and then leave, but she is confronted by people from her past and she has to choose how she is going to respond.

Sugar Beth ends up living in the guest house of her childhood home and I loved how one of the people she persecuted ended up living in her childhood home. The many times that she is hurt by the people in the past, I loved her many reactions. Eventually the story gets to the love part and I completely loved it. The relationship didn't start easy and had some speed bumps, but I loved how Colin treated her and didn't completely forgive her of her past at the beginning.


Alamo House
Alamo House
Author: Sarah Bird
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/30/2010


A slow start to a short book, but I am glad it finally picked up. I was nervous that this would be another poor review. Alas, the book picked up speed.

I am not a fan of her writing, she used some unecessary words - not obscene just too big for the cheeky chick lit plot the book had. I had a difficult time with her over using expressions and comparisons.

The characters were over the top, but definitely entertaining. It made me remember those college days being surrounded by everyone your own age and enjoying the excessive amounts of free time! I appreciated the misfits that live together and learn how to communicate to each other - the joys of living in dorms with complete strangers!!

The storyline was cute and quirky, but I am not sure I will be adding her to my favorite author list.


Alison Wonderland
Alison Wonderland
Author: Helen Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A short and simple review for a smaller book that was definitely out of my normal reading genre. I thought it would be a good one to stretch me out of my comfort zone, but I just couldn't get into it. By the end of the book, I was confused, lost and kind of ready for it to end.

If you like a little story, with some quirkiness and some magic, this one would be one you could pick up.


All Day and a Night (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 5)
All Day and a Night (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 5)
Author: Alafair Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/22/2014


Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

A thriller that had an interesting twist with a lawyer that has a connection to the case. For those who have read the previous Ellie Hatcher books, this fifth book in the series will return you to characters that are fantastically matched - what a great working pair.

The characters were the high point in the book for me. Ellie and JJ were top notch - I could imagine them completely and loved how they were the usual detectives without being too cheesy! Unfortunately, the beginning really dragged with a slow setup and it took me a little bit to get into the thick of the story, but once I was in, there was no stopping! As any who dun it the real killer is either the best or the worst part in the book, in this case I loved the outcome. I loved the choices that the author made.


1 to 20 of 753 - Page: