Ann E. (Mockingbird53) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Dying for Chocolate (Goldy Schulz, Bk 2)
Dying for Chocolate (Goldy Schulz, Bk 2)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 411
Review Date: 7/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Diane Mott Davidson's books are a fun read, and this is no exception. And, the recipes included sound so scrumptious - I alsways say that I will try one of them, but never have.


Freedom
Freedom
Author: Jonathan Franzen
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/23/2011


I did not like this book. I listened to about half of it and stopped.


The Gunslinger  (Dark Tower, Bk 1)
The Gunslinger (Dark Tower, Bk 1)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 6/9/2012


I generally like Stephen King's books. I couldn't really stick with this one. I know many people do like this series, but I just wasn't drawn in.


How I Stayed Alive When My Brain Was Trying to Kill Me : One Person's Guide to Suicide Prevention
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book was among the many supports I have used in my fight against suicidal thoughts and depression. Thanks to Susan Rose Blauner for writing it and sharing her story. This book, along with Susan's story, gives concrete ideas for getting from one day to the next - sometimes from one minute to the next. This book may not be helpful to everyone but it was extremely helpful to me.


I Can Draw Animals
I Can Draw Animals
Author: Ray Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/6/2016


My granddaughter thought this was a wonderful book. She is 8 and loves to draw.


Jubilee
Jubilee
Author: Margaret Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/11/2012


When I was in High School, I read "Gone with the Wind" for the first time and loved it. I did not think about how the Slaves were portrayed - It was simply a love story to me. Since then, I have read it many times and each time have a new perspective. Two or three readings ago, I questioned the portrayal of slaves and slavery. "Jubilee" has given me a new perspective. It is also well written. I recommend it.


The Lilies of the Field
The Lilies of the Field
Author: William E. Barrett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/9/2012


Well, this was a good book. Good tale. One of the few times I think the movie was better than the book.


Off Season
Off Season
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 3/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was disappointed with this book. To predictable and the dialogue was silly.


Out of the Deep I Cry (Rev. Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne, Bk 3)
Review Date: 4/4/2012


This was a little slow at times and Clare wasn't as prominent as in earlier books. However, the ending was very exciting! I look forward to the next book in the series.


Perfect Match
Perfect Match
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/9/2012


A good Jodi Picoult read.


The Thin Woman ( Ellie Haskell, Bk 1)
The Thin Woman ( Ellie Haskell, Bk 1)
Author: Dorothy Cannell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 1/14/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Ellie Simons longs to be thin - and married. But with her single-minded passion for eclairs and clotted cream, her prospects on both counts seem dim. That's why the summons to attend a family reunion at the old ancestral home is about as welcome as a snake bite. How can she show up with her embarrassingly full figure in her humble unmarried state and keep her chins up? Enter Bentley T. Haskell of Eligibility Escorts, a devastatingly attractive writer of smutty novels who also cooks like a dream. With Ben posing as her besotted beau, Ellie feels brave enough to beard her batty relations in their den ...

A fun - and at times funny - and easy read. Recommended for one of those days you don't want to think too hard, yet want to enjoy the characters and a good mystery.


To Kill a Mockingbird (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
To Kill a Mockingbird (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Harper Lee, Roses Prichard (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorite books. Having it on tape to listen to in the car was wonderful. The reader reads with a soft, southern accent that I found easy to understand.


1 to 12 of 12