Kay K. (quaker) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 124 - Page:
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Home Schooling (Absolute Beginner's Guide)
Review Date: 2/12/2009


I homeschool my son, I found this book to be very informative, when I first started I
had no idea what to do or think... I hope this will help someone else as much as it did me!!!


Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 483
Review Date: 8/9/2010


I cryed like a baby!!!! and though i know I had to know what happened to Ash, I will never read the first part of the book again!!! but the second half I loved and will re-read many times, once I get a paperback copy that is, the Hardcover was just too much for me to handle and hope to find someone who wants it, though I can't afford to pay the postage so it wont be something I will send out!!!

If you are Dark-Hunter lover you must read this one!!!!


The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 7/26/2009


I know this book is fiction, but there is also a lot of history too... I found myself looking up things on the computer and everything I looked up was dead on... wow, I wish my history teachers had of been that cleaver, I may of learned more!!! As you may of guessed, I loved the book and can't wait to read the next.... It actually took me a while to read this book, not because I thought badly of any part of it, but because I found myself needing to read every word, and as I said, looked stuff up.... Great book, give it a try!!!!


Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 3/2/2012


This was 100% fluff...I think I got a couple cavities just in the first 100 pages...sooooo not my cup of tea!!!!


Be Mine Tonight (Brotherhood of Blood, Bk 1)
Be Mine Tonight (Brotherhood of Blood, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 3/11/2011


I found it to be slow and then didn't even finish... from the reviews maybe I should of, I wish it had of started stronger!


Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 668
Review Date: 5/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I love this one.... the first person was great, which surprises me, Elena was fun, though I got so mad about the way she treated Clay, but then realized at the end why, the light went on for me when it did for her!!! LOL am looking forward to the next one, Stolen.. Kelley Armstrong has a new fan!


Blue Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 1)
Blue Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 4/27/2010


For me the book was ok... the whole Whites not wanting to mengle with the Indians thing really got on my nerves, honestly!!!! but other then that it was ok!


The Bottoms
The Bottoms
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/19/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was a great book, much like "To Kill a Mockingbird" which I adore... I am so glad I was able to get a copy and read it, I have already passed it on to my mom!!!!


Breath of Scandal
Breath of Scandal
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 4/9/2011


Well, I love Sandra Brown, I had read all of her books,but this one, for some reason I missed, well, after ordering it and wasting a credit, I couldn't even finish it, I've read other reveiws and I see I am the only one, but honestly, I am glad she got better... I am sure some day I WILL finish it, but right now, I can't even pick it up anymore!


Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 4/1/2010


I am a bit confused as to why this is not just a Romance, I had to buy it new and was in formed it was "Erotica"... OK??? truethfully I loved the story and can't wait to read the rest, but not because it was steamy... for me, I'll get that from the Dark Hunter series, Now, those are steamy, which can be found in any bookstore in the romance section, OYE!!!

I'd recommend this book.....


Caleb (Shadow Wranglers, Bk 1)
Caleb (Shadow Wranglers, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 8/15/2010


I loved this book, and can't wait to get my hands on "Jared" though I wish it would be about Jace instead... maybe later. I have to agree with one other review that it was hard to fallow at times, I felt like I was involved in a different book but other then those few moments, I just loved it and will keep it for future reading!


Call of the Highland Moon (MacInnes Werewolves, Bk 1)
Call of the Highland Moon (MacInnes Werewolves, Bk 1)
Author: Kendra Leigh Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 8/19/2010


I enjoyed this book so much!!! I had bought it a long time ago and just forgot about it, and just ran across it again... wow, its a keeper, hope I can get the other 2 in the series soon

side note.... the binding on this book is the best I've ever seen, it was so easy to hold and read, makes me wonder why they are not all like that!!!!


Cane River
Cane River
Author: Lalita Tademy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 10/22/2009


I thought this was a wonderful book, for me it was writen well and was very easy to read, I had no idea that it was one of Oprah's book club picks... but if her picks are this good, I need to pay better attention!!!


Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1)
Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1)
Author: Jefferson Bass
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 11/10/2009


I can't seem to find anything I disliked about this book, I loved Bill and Art, I hope that they are together on the next case... Bill is so real to me that I feel like I could reach out and hug him, wish I could!!!


A Certain Wolfish Charm (Westfield Wolves, Bk 1)
A Certain Wolfish Charm (Westfield Wolves, Bk 1)
Author: Lydia Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 2/21/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Though it wasn't the worst book I've read, it sure wasn't the best either!!! the romance was just so so, it didn't make me think about Lily and Simon when I wasn't reading it, Simon was some what boring and I was never convensed he actually loved Lily, I mean LOVED her like a good wolf should!!! and again, I prefer the wares/shifters to like their beasts!!! so, if I come across the others at a yard sale or book sale, I'd get it, but I won't waste another credit!!!


Cherokee Rose (A Place to Call Home)
Cherokee Rose (A Place to Call Home)
Author: Al Lacy, JoAnna Lacy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/29/2009


The best part of this book was the history, it is right on! I am Cherokee and have been tought from the real thing, its very true to the facts. However, the rest of it, the "story" part was so not what I like at all, I only finished it because of the history, I will post it and not get any more from this author!


Chill Factor
Chill Factor
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 573
Review Date: 10/12/2009


This was my first Sandra Brown thriller/mystery, I've read and love her romaces, but wow, where have I been??? this was so good for me, I was done with it before I was ready to be!!!


The Cowboy and the Cossack
The Cowboy and the Cossack
Author: Clair Huffaker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/5/2009


I will read just about anything, but usually will pass up the western section... but this is my second favorite books of all time, the first being "To Kill a Mockingbird" by Harper Lee!!! this book will make you belly laugh out loud, I read it first when I was in high school, a while back, then lost my copy and have been searching for another copy for years, finally found one here on PBS and re-read it... was just as thrilled as I was the first time!!!

IF you can find a copy, I suggest that you read it!!!


Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 857
Review Date: 4/30/2010


I Loved this book... I just read some of the other reviews and how they thought that Anna was too weinie.. well yeah!!! geez think about what she went through, and I bet ya'll could just come out like nothing ever happened..RIGHT!!!! It's a keeper for me!!!!


Cry Wolf  (Doucet, Bk 3)
Cry Wolf (Doucet, Bk 3)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 10/25/2010


It's Tami Hoag...HOWEVER, Jacks moods gave me whiplash!!!! other then that, I really loved it


1 to 20 of 124 - Page: