Sharon C. (sierrastar) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 82 - Page:
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 5/30/2014


I loved this book and could not put it down and stayed awake into the early hours of the morning reading it. It was a very good read.


75 Years of All-Time Favorites: Main Dishes, Side Dishes, Breads, Desserts (Better Homes and Gardens)
Review Date: 4/27/2010


I was very impressed with the great recipes this book had to offer and it was a better book than I had originally thought


Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Author: Steven Callahan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/31/2012


I had originally gotten this book for my husband to read and I picked it up one day because it was in the car and once I started reading it I could not put it down. I had to find out how this guy survived for seventy-six days on a raft with no food or water. It is a recommended read and one I could not put down once I started reading it from the first page.


Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Author: Steven Callahan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/15/2014


I really liked this book. It has me turning page after page to see what was going to happen to this man next. I recommend it.


Afterlives of the Rich and Famous
Afterlives of the Rich and Famous
Author: Sylvia Browne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/24/2014


This was a pretty good book by Sylvia Browne and I think may have been the last book she wrote before she passed away. I have always enjoyed her books and reading about the Rich and Famous was a good read also.


Angel of Hope (Mercy Trilogy, Bk 2)
Angel of Hope (Mercy Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Lurlene McDaniel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/11/2013


I wasn't sure I would not like this author as she writes young adults but I really enjoyed this book and the companion book to it Angel of Mercy. I am sure glad I did take the chance as the story line was great and the author keeps you wanting to turn the next page and not want to put the book down.. Worth the read


Angel of Mercy
Angel of Mercy
Author: Lurlene McDaniel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/24/2013


This a a companion book to Angel of Hope. This is a very good read. It is a Christian based book. You will not be disappointed in it.


Bad Girls
Bad Girls
Author: Alex McAulay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/11/2014


The name of the game is survival. Life at Camp Archstone is Anna's worst nightmare and when a grueling hike into the forest goes horribly wrong, things go from bad to worse. This is a camp where troubled teens are sent. I thought the book was a good read and think if you want a quick read with mystery, suspense and a page turner. Pick this one up


The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World
Review Date: 1/30/2015


I liked the book but found out that it was a made up story and only then was I disappointed. I guess when you really try to hard to believe in the afterlife you will read anything. i was really surprised that someone so young could have made up such an elaborate story


The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life Beyond This World
Review Date: 6/16/2014


In 2004, Kevin Malarkey and his six year old son Alex suffered a terrible car wreck. The impact from the crash paralyzed Alex-and it seemed impossible that he would survive. But when Alex awoke from his coma two months later, he had an incredible story to share. This is a true story of an ordinary little boy's most extraordinary journey to Heaven. A very good read


The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World
Review Date: 6/24/2014


I loved this book and one I recommend it. It is a true account of a little boy who was in a horrible car wreck that left him in a coma for two months. When he awoke from his coma he had an incredible story to share. He talked about the accident and events that happened during this and at the hospital while he was unconscious. He spoke of angels who led him thru the gates of Heaven itself and much more. You will come away with new insights on miracles, life beyond this world, and the power of a father's love.


Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 11/1/2013


This is one young girls year long walk on the wild side of life. Lets you know the insides of a stripper club and what the g1rls really make


Confessions of a Video Vixen
Confessions of a Video Vixen
Author: Karrine Steffans, Karen Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/11/2014


This is the story and memoir of Karrine Steffans: a dancer, sctrss, and companion to many a celebrity.It is also the first true account of how women are treated in the music industry. By sharing her story she hopes that she can help some other young women avoid the pitfalls she encountered. It is a page turner.


Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child
Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child
Author: Cathy Glass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 6/7/2012


That poor child, what she had to endure the abuse she received. No child should ever have to be emotionally scarred


Dollhouse: A Novel
Dollhouse: A Novel
Author: Kim Kardashian, Kourtney Kardashian, Khloe Kardashian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/25/2013


This book wrote by the Kardashians reads like the family and their lives only with different names. It wasn't too hard of a read and I got into it pretty quick and finished it in a few days.


The Education of a very young Madam
The Education of a very young Madam
Author: Ma-Ling Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/11/2014


Ever wonder what the life of a call girl entails. This is about a young woman who learns the business from
Ma-Ling Lee's employee handbook in the education of how an upscale clientele.


Escape
Escape
Author: Carolyn Jessop, Laura Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 9/26/2009


This book told the story of her life in a Poligamous sect and how she fought to gain her freedom and that of her children. It is hard to beleive that this is happening now in America but there are many more of these same sects.


Family Tree
Family Tree
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 9/18/2010


This book was one I could not put down and just when you think you know how it will end, the ending really surprised me. It is worth the read


Family Tree (Random House Large Print (Cloth/Paper))
Family Tree (Random House Large Print (Cloth/Paper))
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/28/2010


This book I thought was really good especially when the real truth is finally found. It was a book I found hard to put down once I started reading it.


For the Roses
For the Roses
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 1/2/2014


This is part of the trilogy and it is was very good series. I couldn't wait to start on the next book as soon as I finished the one preceding it. It is worth the read


1 to 20 of 82 - Page: