Robyn H. (byrd1956) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Capitol Game
The Capitol Game
Author: Brian Haig
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/31/2014


My husband and I read this together. I read while he does the driving. Definitely intriguing and a book with layers. It kept us guessing up until the end.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/24/2014


I truly liked The Forgotten Garden and had a hard time putting it down. That being said I often found myself looking back over past chapters to link the parts together; I felt like I was reading 3 books within one. Even with that distraction I earnestly read to find out the whole story. It is a long read, but after the first page I was hooked into the mystery of the lives of the characters.


A Friend Like Henry
A Friend Like Henry
Author: Nuala Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/17/2012


I was very glad I read this book. It is eye-opening and insightful for anyone that has interacted with someone with autism.


A Gentle Rain
A Gentle Rain
Author: Deborah Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/31/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book I had never read a book by Deborah Smith before and I liked the flow and the subject matter. It is an easy read and has a few twists that kept me wondering how things would turn out.


The Good Dream
The Good Dream
Author: Donna VanLiere
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/24/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I have read by Donna VanLiere. It takes you to a bygone time and draws you into the lives of the characters and their relationships, especially the main character Ivorie. It is touching and sad with some parts ripping your heart. Overall it is heartwarming and shows how goodness will triumph over evil.


The Hades Factor
The Hades Factor
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/26/2014


This is the second Robert Ludlum book my husband and I have read together. I read while he drives so I try to find books I think he both he and I will like. This book has suspense and espionage with twists and turns. There are times we think the wording is somewhat far-fetched but that does not bother us too much. I like the fact that I can read aloud and he gets to 'read', too. I am trying to 'wish' for more of Ludlum's books here on PBS since we both like mystery, action and intrigue.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2450
Review Date: 7/24/2014


I saw the movie quite some time ago and had it on my wish list on PBS for quite awhile. I felt so lucky to read this. It makes you laugh and cry and has a powerful message and I recommend it.


Home in Time for Christmas
Home in Time for Christmas
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 8/14/2011


Nice, feel-good Christmas book with historical references and surprise. Easy Read.


The Homing
The Homing
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 3/31/2014


If you like scary and reading things that gets your heart going. This may be for you. I could not put it down and yet I was scared to find out what was going to happen next.


The Longest Ride
The Longest Ride
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/24/2014


This is a book that tugs at your heartstrings. I kept wondering how these 'two stories' would tie together and what a pleasant surprise. As with the other Nicholas Sparks books I have read I was caught up in the lives of the characters and when I had to put the book down I could not wait to pick it back up again.


Michelangelo's Notebook (Finn Ryan, Bk 1)
Michelangelo's Notebook (Finn Ryan, Bk 1)
Author: Paul Christopher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 11/30/2012


This thriller combines my art interest and my interest in World War II. The secrets uncovered and the fast pace definitely make this a page turner.


On Death and Dying
On Death and Dying
Author: Elisabeth Kubler-Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/27/2015


Although the book On Death and Dying by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross was written some time ago and focuses on the way professionals interact with terminal patients it also gives perspectives from the patient's and love-one's view. It does not matter how long ago you lost a loved one; the grief can feel like it began yesterday even though years have passed. This book is an important read for everyone; it is in part clinical, personal, educational and enlightening. It will help you understand the grief process and guide you in your support for someone who is dying.


Robert Ludlum's the Paris Option (Covert-One, Bk 3)
Robert Ludlum's the Paris Option (Covert-One, Bk 3)
Author: Robert Ludlum, Gayle Lynds
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/26/2014


This is the first Robert Ludlum book I read. I liked the intrigue and suspenseful plot. I too late realized this was book 3 of a series and immediately began searching for the other two.


1 to 13 of 13