Elizabeth H. (willowandholly) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
As Young As We Feel (Four Lindas, Bk 1)
As Young As We Feel (Four Lindas, Bk 1)
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/24/2014


It is a little slow and predictable but is easy to read and if you are of a certain age you certainly can identify with the characters.


The Baker's Apprentice (Bread Alone, Bk 2)
The Baker's Apprentice (Bread Alone, Bk 2)
Author: Judith R. Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 5/18/2014


Easy, fun read. Nice sequel, but ending just petered out with some things unresolved. Feels like it was being set up for another sequel.


The Baker's Daughter
The Baker's Daughter
Author: Sarah McCoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/22/2016


.


Between Sisters
Between Sisters
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 5/30/2011


This is a good book about the bond betweeen two sisters and their fight to restore the closeness the had a children. Explicit sex scenes did not add value but seemed to lend a bit of trashiness to an otherwise okay book.


Chasing Fireflies: A Novel of Discovery
Chasing Fireflies: A Novel of Discovery
Author: Charles Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/22/2014


Wow, loved this story. Compelling characters, wonderful story line, couldn't put it down.


Chasing Mona Lisa
Chasing Mona Lisa
Author: Tricia Goyer, Mike Yorkey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/12/2014


Historical fiction - I really enjoyed it.


Chopstick (Friends for a Season, Bk 2)
Chopstick (Friends for a Season, Bk 2)
Author: Sandra Byrd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/26/2011


This is a sweet story about true friendship, competition, helping others, and trying to do your best. It touches on young adult issues such as family difficulties, kids who are popular and kids who feel left out, and of course guys. You will enjoy reading this one!


City of Dreams (Peter Fallon, Bk 4)
City of Dreams (Peter Fallon, Bk 4)
Author: William Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/7/2011


I am a huge William Martin fan, I always look forward to his books. His way of jumping from the past to the present is always interesting to me.


Concierge Confidential: The Secrets of Serving Champagne Bitches and Caviar Queens
Review Date: 12/23/2012


Fazio goes from an agent's assistant in Hollywood to a cruise ship singer to a hotel concierge.

The people and stories are somewhat interesting- the Russian with a suitcase full of cash, fulfilling wishes on Whoopi's show, a chocolate bath. He touched on the down sides - the crazies and how to handle.

Amusing in parts and a fast "airplane read" but disjointed.


The Dead Don't Dance
The Dead Don't Dance
Author: Charles Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/4/2015


delightful story. I'll be looking for more by this author.


The Dressmaker
The Dressmaker
Author: Kate Alcott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 9/20/2014


interesting perspective with some characters taken right out of the history books.


Fair Game: My Life as a Spy, My Betrayal by the White House
Review Date: 12/23/2012


I'm not one to stop reading a book - I usually slog through just to be sure I didn't miss the good parts. However, I just couldn't do it with this one.

I really wanted to like it - but I couldn't get past the blacked out text. I would flip to the back of the book where there were notes for each chapter of the book, but it was just too disjointed for me. Maybe I'll try again if and when the uncensored version is releases.


Firefly Beach
Firefly Beach
Author: Meira Pentermann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/31/2016


.


Full Disclosure
Full Disclosure
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/19/2014


I loved the characters and family connections. Unexpected tie in to her O'Malley series as well


Full of Grace
Full of Grace
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 1/3/2016


.


Gold
Gold
Author: Chris Cleave
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/4/2016


.


Gold
Gold
Author: Chris Cleave
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/31/2016


.


Halfway to Forever (Forever Faithful, Bk 3)
Halfway to Forever (Forever Faithful, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 4/8/2012


Sweet story with a roller coaster ride of emotions.


Handle with Care
Handle with Care
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 421
Review Date: 12/28/2011


Great story with a provocative storyline. As usual, Picoult throws a tough topic in your face, makes you see it from all sides and examine your own beliefs and opinions on the subject.

Sometimes it hard to think about her topics, but it's presented with believable characters that make you understand that it could happen in your own back yard.


Hannah's Dream
Hannah's Dream
Author: Diane Hammond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 1/4/2015


delightful story. I'll be looking for more books by this author.


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: