Reviews - Dawn (cabogringa)

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
All In One Piece
All In One Piece
Author: Cecelia Tishy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/17/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The main character in this mystery is a likeable woman in her forties with some psychic ability. The book isn't hocus-pocusie though. A realistic murder mystery set in Boston with interesting characters, and a cute dog. An enjoyable read all the way through."


America the Majestic Pictorial Cookbook
America the Majestic Pictorial Cookbook
Author: Jon Tarpstra
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/31/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is gorgeous! It would be really beautiful in a display easel in the kitchen or as a coffee table book. It contains information and recipes from all 50 states, as well as fantastic photographs of the finished recipes and the areas that they represent. I actually read this book cover to cover, as well as using it for the recipes."


Apart from the Crowd
Apart from the Crowd
Author: Anna McPartlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/10/2011


"I liked this book until I got near the end. Overall the story is kind of a downer, but I was OK with that. I adore all things Irish, and the characters were interesting and very well written. However, there is an incident(s) revealed near the end of the book that is so disturbing, I still cannot get it out of my mind. I'm sorry to say that I wish I had never read this book."


The Art of French Kissing
The Art of French Kissing
Author: Kristin Harmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/1/2009


"This book makes me want to book my plane ticket to Paris immediately. It's a very enjoyable book that I read quickly. The descriptions of Paris are so beautiful and detailed. The story contains a clever twist."


But Enough About Me: How the Girl Next Door Got Behind the Velvet Rope Using Shameless Flattery, Fake Laughter, and a Few Other Tricks
Review Date: 3/1/2009


"I highly recommend this book. It feels like a girlfriend telling you one interesting (and usually really funny) story after another. I also enjoyed the celebrity insights thrown in here and there."


A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 8/15/2009


"This is a fast and engaging read that I started and finished on a four hour flight. This book made me laugh out loud and cry quietly also (now that I think of it, probably not a good choice for such a public setting like a plane). It really is a very emotional and satisfying book for a dog person like myself. I loved it."


A Garden in Lucca : Finding Paradise in Tuscany
A Garden in Lucca : Finding Paradise in Tuscany
Author: Paul Gervais
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/13/2009


"This book was charming. It reminds me of a combination of "A Year in Provence" and "Under the Tuscan Sun". The author has an easy style of writing that draws you in. Although the main storyline is the evolution of the gardens that he creates around his Italian farmhouse, there are many aspects of the Italian experience included as well. The people, customs, food, and architecture are all characters in this book. As an amateur gardener myself, I loved all the discussion and details. As a reader, I really liked the overall story."


Handbags and Halos
Handbags and Halos
Author: Bernadette Strachan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/9/2009


"More substance than the typical chic lit title and cover art suggest. Great characters and story lines. I had a hard time putting this down, and I really enjoyed it."


The J.A.P. Chronicles
The J.A.P. Chronicles
Author: Isabel Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 4/17/2013


"The J.A.P. Chronicles cover art and book jackets quotes promising a fast, fun, and clever read led me to believe that this would be just that. Instead it is slow paced and bitter, and contains relatively graphic descriptions of child rape and other sexual abuses. I stopped reading this book and threw it away, an absolute first for me."


Just a Taste
Just a Taste
Author: Deirdre Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/20/2009


"This book was a fast and enjoyable read. The plot revolves around two chefs, so food and cooking play a major role also, which I loved. This book is sweet, flirty, and a little sexy."


Keeping the House
Keeping the House
Author: Ellen Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 9/9/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book has it all: history, romance, family dynamics, scenic descriptions. I loved the excerpts from the 1930's - 1950's ladies magazines and articles that started the chapters regarding the main character, Dolly. It really helped me understand the society she was living in at that time, and in turn her actions. The author includes so many little details that paint the picture of the decades she's writing about. Really well done."


Keeping the House
Keeping the House
Author: Ellen Baker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/18/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book has it all: history, romance, family dynamics, scenic descriptions. I loved the excerpts from the 1930's - 1950's ladies magazines and articles that started the chapters regarding the main character, Dolly. It really helped me understand the society she was living in at that time, and in turn her actions. The author includes so many little details that paint the picture of the decades she's writing about. Really well done."


Mad Dash
Mad Dash
Author: Patricia Gaffney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/3/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A good read. I liked the main character, a 45 year old woman questioning her marriage, because she was written like someone you would know. She had a real personality. This book was both moving and funny, which for me is always a winning combo."


Match Me If You Can
Match Me If You Can
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 5/25/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down, and was disappointed when it ended. I especially loved the Chicago setting and neighborhood details throughout the book, since it is where I live."


Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog
Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog
Author: Ted Kerasote
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/19/2009


"Emotional and educational. I couldn't put it down."


Not Married, Not Bothered: An ABC for Spinsters
Not Married, Not Bothered: An ABC for Spinsters
Author: Carol Clewlow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/16/2009


"I never really got into this book. I liked the main character, but her narratives jump around from present to past so much it's hard to follow. There are some very clever lines that made me laugh out loud , but also some parts that just drag. I actually gave up and skimmed the last third of this book because I just didn't want to devote any more time to it."


A Rather Curious Engagement (Rather, Bk 2)
A Rather Curious Engagement (Rather, Bk 2)
Author: C. A. Belmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/15/2009


"I enjoyed this book, just as I did the previous one (A Rather Lovely Inheritance). I loved the descriptions of the exotic places this adventures take them. This is a fun story that contains luxury, travel, romance, intrigue, and a little bit of crime solving."


Single Wife
Single Wife
Author: Nina Solomon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/14/2009


"I read this book in one day. It's not a gripping page turner, but I really wanted to find out what happened to the main character, Grace (and her husband, Laz). I liked Grace, she is written well, and I identified with aspects of her. Although, if she were a real person, I would want to shake her to make her come to her senses quicker. This is a modern day drama about a marriage, and about how easy it is for women to slip into being someone they never intended to be."


Stalking Susan
Stalking Susan
Author: Julie Kramer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/27/2010


"I really liked this book, and had a hard time putting it down. The author has an extensive background in TV news, and the behind the scenes stuff in the book is great. The lead character, Riley, is funny and smart. The book is fast paced and keeps you guessing until the last chapter."


Stupid and Contagious
Stupid and Contagious
Author: Caprice Crane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 6/9/2009
7 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The first few chapters were slow for me, but then I connected with the 2 main characters, and was hooked. The witty banter back and forth, especially coming from Heaven, was great. I laughed out loud many times while reading this."


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: